No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Stamford Street Apartments

3Self Classified Campus Ratings explained
127 Stamford Street , London, SE1 9NQ
Close to London’s South Bank Arts Centre and the West End, Stamford Street Apartments is a modern residence behind a period facade, five minutes’ walk from Waterloo Station offering ensuite single rooms for budget travellers.

All rooms include breakfast, have ensuite shower rooms and are arranged around shared kitchens offering self catering facilities for up to 8 guests. Kitchens are equipped with microwaves, toasters, kettles and ovens but crockery, pans and cutlery are not provided.

Stamford Street Apartments is a student hall of residence for most of the year and let out to the general public for the summer months offering basic but great value accommodation in a very central London location with a wide array of restaurants and bars in the close vicinity.

Picture of Stamford Street Apartments, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 69 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
71% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic accommodation, great breakfast - just what I needed!
Basic accommodation, but you get an en-suit shower & loo, desk, armchair, fridge (!), bed, towels and linen and a great breakfast to set you up for the day.
There's no air-con, so it was a bit warm recently, but at least the windows open (I've been in some hotels where they don't - for safety reasons!) and no TV in your room, but you can watch it in the communal kitchen where you can cook an evening meal if you feel inclined.
Location is great - only 5 minutes walk from Waterloo Station and about 15 minutes from St Paul's and all the big shows that are on.
All in all, perfect if all you want is somewhere to sleep without any frills.

Reviewed by
S Stapleton

From Wincanton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Let down by quality control and lack of customer focus
Good points:
• Good price for a single ensuite room in London during summer school holidays
• Hot breakfast included
• good desk for working / typing
• Wifi included
• Friendly staff when booking over the phone.
• Good central location
Bad points
• Noisy courtyard. Large group of approx 30 American sounding guests gathered in the main courtyard from 5.45am to 6.30am 23/07/14, several of them speaking quite loudly. Guest information clearly asks for people to be quiet and not congregate in this area until 8am. Must have been apparent to the nearby security staff but no action taken.
• Very confusion arrangements for breakfast across the road. Nothing printed on the menu or given to tell you what you are entitled to. Eventually by asking found out it was "5 items" but then found out that while a banana or sausage was one item, a hash brown was only a third of an item. As a UK resident and English speaker I found it confusing; must have been very hard for others to understand.
• No voucher given for breakfast - so at the checkout I had to work my way through 11 pages of printout to find my name to sign against. After going through the list once and the queue of people behind me, I just signed randomly in the margin - non-one noticed making a mockery of the system.
• Room very hot
• Sink in shower room coming away form the wall
• Seat for desk chair not fixed and fall off when sitting down. Thankfully no injury.
• Lack of smiles or visitor welcome from security staff at first reception desk you come to.
Simply giving a breakfast voucher say what you are entitled to would have been so much easier and cause fewer delays for all.
So all told, with just a bit or care as to quality and making it easy for guest to understand how this less than conventional accommodation worked would have made the experience so much better.

Reviewed by
Stephen J

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not suitable for when it is roasting out side
It may be cheap on pocket... it ain't on your well being.
Room cleanliness is so so..as every room fitted with a heater .. they must fit or provide small fan for the summer season.

Reviewed by
Satya J

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap, quite Cheerful and Incredibly Handy!
I needed low price accommodation in the Southwark area following a family wedding in the area. The Stamford Street apartments were very convenient for the locality, just a short cab ride from Waterloo. Lifts made it relatively easy for my elderly mother to get to her room, and Breakfast on Sunday Morning exceeded expectations with Full English or Continental, plus freshly ground coffee served in the Student Refectory in Kings College Block over the road from the Apartments. Great Value!

Reviewed by
Steve Williams

From Maldon, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing that breakfast only served from 07.30 as I had to leave before then

Reviewed by
Nigel C

From Romsey, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Functional
Suited a purpose. Short notice affordable bed for the night.

Reviewed by
D Anderson

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Valué for money
Excellent location to visit, great quality of wifi
The bedroom is bardic but clean and quiet

Reviewed by
Valeria L

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Adequate place to stop- could be fun if you are in a big group
The only problem with this place is that the office doesn't open till 2pm so you can't book in till then. There was a build up of people hanging around at that time. Once you have got you key you can come and go at all hours. The room I stopped in was like a cabin size, only suitable for one person but it had its own toilet and shower unlike other student places I have stopped in. There are 5/6 rooms separate on a short corridor which share a kitchen. It could be quite fun if there were a group of you. People sat outside in the courtyard also. It is near bus routes into Central London and I came back on a night bus. It is also very near to Waterloo Station and the tube. There is a 3D cinema even nearer. When I was there there were multiple food stalls nearby in the daytime selling a variety of cuisines.

Reviewed by
M Kent

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good place to stay.

Reviewed by
Rodrigo S

From Argentina
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for central London
Clean, secure, central, and good value.
Excellent for single travellers looking for budget accommodation close to all the sights.
Fine for all ages, although other guests mostly under 30's

Reviewed by
DAVID J

From England
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next