No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Low Gingerfield Farm B&B

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Aske, Richmond, DL10 5EY
Low Gingerfield Farm B&B is set in a superb location with stunning views of the Yorkshire Countryside.

Bridleways and the Coast to Coast are close by making this an ideal choice for walkers. We are also just a short drive from the historical market town of Richmond.

Accommodation comprises of two spacious en-suite bedrooms, with TV, Tea & Coffee making facilities and wi-fi. We do not have a card reader for payments sorry. Laterooms do not take payments on my behalf.
Picture of Low Gingerfield Farm B&B, Richmond at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 11 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely location
Loved the setting of the b and b, on a small farm, very scenic but with easy access to richmond .
The hosts were very friendly and welcoming, the tea and cakes on arrival were a welcome touch.
Our bedroom, blossom, was lovely, very spacious and well equipped with bottles of water, sweets, chocolate bars, tea, coffee, etc.
Only downside was the hosts were having birthday dinner for a family member that evening, so we didn't feel we could be downstairs and so chose to be in our room out of their way,, and although they weren't raucous by any means, we could inevitably hear voices and them departing at 10.30 pm. I realise to some people this wouldn't bother them,but it did take an edge off an otherwise perfectly pleasant stay, as I deliberatey chose a 2 bedroom b and b over a hotel as I was specifically seeking peace and quiet.
I'm sure we were just unlucky with the timing, and this probably won't occur with anyone else's stay.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry you were disturbed by my family. I wish you had mentioned it before you left and I could have apologised personally and offered compensation.

Reviewed by
D Spann

From Tarporley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcoming
I chose this B&B from the pet friendly accommodation list and they were brilliant. I arrived with two heavy crates with a cat in each. Gillian was determined to help carry. The bedroom was comfortable, clean and beatifully decorated. The view out of the bedroom window was stunning. I would have no hesitation recommending it to friends.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for choosing to stay with us it was a delight having you and your beautiful pets.

Reviewed by
Barbara Anne M

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great escape
Nice warm country setting

ManagementResponse

Hello Luka, Thank you for your review, I am sorry that your recent over night stay with me was not a more pleasant one. Kind regards, Gill

Reviewed by
Luka E

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One to remember
The house which the B&B occupies is a lovely old farmhouse which has been tastefully modernised and provides excellent accommodation.
The location is ideal for those wanting access to the Yorkshire Dales, nearby towns and beyond, with the B&B situated in a rural position, enjoying beautiful views.
Our stay was relaxed and we were made to feel very welcome by the helpful and friendly owner, who was more than accommodating.
Overall a great place to stay and one we would definitely recommend.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your kind words. Regards Gill

Reviewed by
Richard C

From Bingley, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous stay, what could be better than tea & cake on arrival???
Jill couldn't have been a more welcoming host. Lovely room, fantastic views & a really relaxing atmosphere. Would definately stay there again

Reviewed by
Stephen E

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay - will definitely be returning! :-)
We loved our stay at Low Gingerfield Farm. Gill, the owner, couldn't have done more for us. We had a lovely warm welcome with tea and cakes in the sitting room after being shown to our room. We stayed in 'Blossom' - it is a huge room, with a large double bed - so comfortable - which is very modern in decoration. There were added homely touches, such as a plant, and little ornaments and such. Gill brought us fresh milk for our tea and also provided chocolate bars for refreshment :-) the room also had a dressing room which led onto a large bathroom with a double shower. Breakfast was plentiful and Gill asked about what we would like the night before. The whole stay was very unique. The Farm itself is located a little outside Richmond - this wasn't a problem for us. We walked into Richmond, which took about 20 minutes at a very lazy pace, although most of the way there wasn't a footpath so not ideal for walking at night. We got a taxi back which cost £5. We had asked Gill for recommendations on where to eat, which she gave and didn't disappoint - we ate at a lovely italian called La Piazza. It was in a prime location for exploring the Yorshire Dales. Absolutely gorgeous! Although the house was rather old, all the rooms were decorated modernly, and was very homely. All in all, a lovely stay :-)

Reviewed by
Emma S

From Malton, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect getaway, so relaxing, peaceful and friendly!
We stayed at this B&B with our 8 month old baby for one night. We loved it! On arrival we were warmly welcomed with a pot of tea and home made cake!! We stayed in the Willow room and found it so cosy and snug. It was perfectly clean and decorated traditionally to a high standard. The bathroom was traditional in style with a shower. The bed was very comfortable. The farm house is so gorgeous, peaceful with amazing views of the rolling hills. If you're into animals the farm has horses, sheep, chickens (with chicks!), a cat and a dog, all so cute and friendly! The host Gill really makes the place, she Is so warm and friendly and keen to make sure you have everything you need. It's just like staying with an old friend! As we were with our baby, Gill suggested we might like to pick up a local take away and sit in the lounge with the real log fire for our evening meal, a great idea we would never have thought of or thought would be an option when staying in most B and B's. But it felt like nothing could be too much trouble. There was Italian, Chinese and Indian all available within a short drive. She was also helpful in suggesting local pubs we might have liked to try for an evening meal. We decided that staying in was a perfect idea as our baby lay asleep in bed while we sat downstairs within ear shot eating pizza and drinking wine in front of the fire, just what we needed! Much less stressful than attempting to eat out. I suppose we were lucky there was no one staying in the other room so we had the spacious lounge to ourselves. As there is only two rooms available for B & B there is a real intimate feel without it feeling intrusive, a real home from home feel but feeling very pampered. Breakfast was gorgeous, made freshly by Gill using fresh eggs from the chickens! There was such a range of cereals, fruits, yoghurts and then a full cooked breakfast. We spent the day exploring the local shops in Richmond town centre and drinking cups of tea and eating cake then the next day walking in the hills in nearby Reeth, amazing scenery! I would strongly recommend this B & B to anyone, particularly for a romantic escape for couples with young babies in need of a treat and we will definitely be returning! A real gem!!

Reviewed by
Helen H

From England
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful hotel in a stunning setting
This hotel was a a delightful surprise. I booked it at the last minute to attend a friend´s wedding. A little outside of Richmond, you can reach it in 10 minutes from the centre. It has incredible views across the Yorkshire countryside, and the hotel itself is furnished with a level of care and attention that one rarely gets in hotels today. The owner and her daughter were extremely friendly, asking me when I would like breakfast, offering me a ride into Richmond as I was a little late to meet friends, helping me find a bank and suggesting walks across the idyllic countryside. I couldn´t recommend this hotel enough - perfect for couples looking for a break from the rat race, and, as I understand, shortly to be available for wedding parties as well. A real treat!
Just one thing - take cash as they don´t yet have a card machine!!

Reviewed by
Amy F

From Berlin, Germany
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very enjoyable stay
Lovely room and an excellent hostess.

Reviewed by
Andrew B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Room with a View
A very warm welcome with tea and cake when we arrived. Our room was spacious and pretty with a lovely view across to the North Yorkshire Moors, breakfast was delicious. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
M Lee

From Eastleigh, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next