Reviews - Y Castell Hotel


Y Castell, 33 Castle Square,, Caernarfon, LL55 2NN

Price From 146 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (9)

67% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Susan Johnson

  • July 2015

Y castell hotel, Caernarvon

Had a fantastic stay, staff very friendly, room very clean, would definitely recommend this & it is smack bang in the centre , will go back again

  • David S

  • June 2015

Clean, reasonably-priced, great location

  • peter w

  • June 2015

Hard to get to

The man that checked us in was very nice and helpful.

We should have asked for a different room as the windows were covered with bird droppings which had a bad smell coming thru the window. We were very tired so we just slept and left the next morning We might have stayed another night but parking was difficult as the hotel is on the square. Good position for walking around though.

  • Simon C

  • May 2015

Caernarfon Accommodation

Perfect location, great welcome and comfortable well-appointed bedroom with a view over the river - would have been even better if breakfast was provided (but plenty of choice available within 5 minutes walk)

  • Karen S

  • March 2015

A Warm Welsh Croeso

Ideally situated to explore the town, staff could not have been friendlier or more accommodating.

Car parking was a breeze and with the hotel voucher free too, just a couple of minutes walk from the hotel.. Lovely atmosphere, offered choice of rooms upon arrival and advised re noise (which to be fair we knew about before arrival) The noise did not bother us in the slightest, though it could be an issue for some. Would definitely return and plan to try out the restaurant next time too. Loved the fireplace in the room, the wind made it sound like a dragon breathing down the chimney.

  • C Shaw

  • March 2015

Y Castell Hotel

The room was great and good value for money, staff were very helpful, will go back again.

The Pub is open late though so don't expect absolute silence but we were on top floor so noise wasn't a problem.

  • Robert Southworth

  • December 2014

Great friendly place

This place is a great hotel.

Staff constantly went above board. For those who sleep lightly it is worth nothing you are staying above a busy pub. They make it clear in their literature that there is some noise, especially at weekends. This didn't bother us and we had a great time there.

  • Felicity A

  • August 2014

Worst attempted nights sleep ever

Bar downstairs was so loud (until 3am) it was impossible to sleep.

Windows were very poor at keeping noise out. Noise outside started again at 6.10, dragging metal tables and chairs out, bin men, seagulls, and market stalls setting up. Really terrible experience.

  • graeme w

  • May 2014

Nice room, good location, terrible service, loud noises

Nice simple room, spacious.

Bathroom was very small with temperamental shower. The bar is very, very noisy and open until 2am, then customers congregate in the street. No chance of sleep before 2:30am. Very bright street lights in front of the windows with only very thin, cheap curtains which don't stop the light. No service whatsoever. Very disappointed. We were only warned of the loud 2am bar when we arrived.