No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Kirkgate House

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
17 Kirkgate , Knaresborough, HG5 8AD
Built in the 17th century, Kirkgate House provides guests with a warm Yorkshire welcome. The newly refurbished accommodation retains its quaint and quintessential character while providing clean, comfortable rooms all with generous sized en suite shower rooms. Start your day off with breakfast in the light and pretty dining room, and choose from a traditional English cooked meal, or we are happy to offer vegetarian or vegan options with no compromise on tasty interesting food.

Kirkgate House is only 150 yards from the Market Square and Castle. Fine restaurants and traditional Yorkshire pubs are just a short stroll away. You can park overnight throughout Knaresborough for free between 6pm and 8am. The long stay car parking cost £1.60 daily. The railway station is only a 3 minute walk from the cottage and Harrogate with it's conference centre is an 8 minute train ride with Leeds and York readily accessible.

Daily housekeeping is included in the rate and the owners, Karen and Robert, live on the premises and are available every day to offer help and assistance. We look forward to providing you with a comfortable night's sleep and a great breakfast when you next stay in Knaresborough.
Picture of Kirkgate House, Knaresborough at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 39 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent B and B
Could not fault accommodation in any way

Reviewed by
Norma A

From DURHAM, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Stay
Karen the owner was extremely pleasant and helpful. Room was good and breakfast excellent.
Never heard of Knaresborough, but what a lovely old town with a delightful walk from the accommodation down to and along the river and back up via the railway station. Beautiful viaduct over the river.

Reviewed by
Derrick M

From Great Yarmouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely host, excellent location

Reviewed by
k rigby

From neston, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room, comfy bed, nice friendly hosts. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
D Winn

From Baldock, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good stopover in Knaresborough

Reviewed by
Ian P

From Littlehampton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely individual bed and breakfast
Immaculate warm and welcoming

Reviewed by
alison J

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accommodation, would definitely stay again

Reviewed by
S Harrison

From Ilkley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay
We were made very welcome and the room was delightful and extremely clean. The breakfast was delicious and Karen gave us lots of local knowledge to help us decide where to go. I will definitely be returning an excellent B and B.

Reviewed by
Claire P

From Lowdham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful B&B with extremely welcoming hosts
My stay at Kirkgate House was a truly wonderful experience. Not only was it a two minute walk from the station, I was greeted with a very friendly welcome, and quite a luxurious stay! The place itself is a beautiful old (possibly listed) building, but has been modernised very well without losing its charm. The hosts were extremely welcoming and put me at ease straight away, but also left me to myself (my favourite combination!). The room was immaculately clean, with exceptional attention to detail (lovely soap, bone china cup, Clipper tea).I had a lovely bay window in my room which looked out over a side street, I felt like I was on holiday in Italy! The bed and linen was very comfortable, I had a lovely night's sleep.
I cannot fault this B&B, it was a wonderful experience and I would highly recommend anybody going to Knaresborough to stay here!

Reviewed by
hannah megee

From Dartmouth, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful place to stay
The people were friendly; the room was beautiful, clean and comfortable; the breakfast choice was good and the full breakfast was delicious and generous - I couldn't finish it!
I stayed for business, but would equally stay for pleasure. Either way I would stay again. Excellent value for money.

Reviewed by
Donna L

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next