No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Shoyswell Cottage

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Sheepstreet Lane , Etchingham, TN19 7AZ
Situated in an area of outstanding natural beauty about 12 miles from Royal Tunbridge Wells, this stylish B&B offers luxurious accommodation, intimate surroundings and free Wi-Fi and parking.

Privately run, the property has undergone an extensive renovation and has been transformed into a unique boutique-style Bed and Breakfast with luxurious facilities, a beautiful garden and a thoroughly warm welcome. The inherent calm and tranquillity of the surrounding area is ideal for relaxation and reflection whilst the building’s cosy charms and romantic spirit help to cultivate an atmosphere far removed from the hustle and bustle of everyday life.

The property offers 4 en-suite Deluxe Double rooms each of which are wonderfully individual with their own unique features and charm. Despite their differences, all rooms are spacious, exquisitely comfortable and decorated to a very high standard. They all come fully-equipped with a wide range of modern conveniences and creature comforts, including King-size beds, luxurious bed-linen, fluffy towels, complimentary toiletries, free Wi-Fi access, HD flat-screen TV/DVD player and tea and coffee making facilities.

Each morning guests can look forward to a hearty full-cooked breakfast made from the finest locally sourced produce and ingredients. The breakfast room itself is bright and airy and benefits from some beautiful views of the gardens and pond.

The Property is located 2 miles from the village of Ticehurst and just over 12 miles from Royal Tunbridge Wells. Tunbridge rail station offers regular services to London and there is even a local station at Etchingham, less than 2 miles away. For those flying in, it is just over an hour’s drive from Gatwick Airport.

Nestled in an area of outstanding natural beauty, Shoyswell Cottage is an ideal place from which to explore the many local attractions. The East Sussex countryside is a scenic blend of fertile fields and dense woodland and provides plenty of opportunities for a wide range of outdoor pursuits including walking, rambling, cycling, horse-riding, fishing, canoeing and much more besides. There is also an abundance of nearby National Trust properties, including the fairytale beauty of Bodiam Castle, the picturesque gardens at Sissinghurst Castle and Chartwell, the family home of Sir Winston Churchill. Furthermore, the coastal town of Hastings is just half an hour’s drive away and it’s only a little further to the historic town of Rye.
Picture of Shoyswell Cottage, Etchingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 12 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful country retreat.
Everything about Shoyswell Cottage was of a superb standard. The lake, wildlife and gardens could be enjoyed from our patio and our host very kindly allowed us free access to his beautiful gardens and house. We were made to feel completely comfortable and 'at home'. We would genuinely recommend Shoyswell to others.

Reviewed by
Angela W

From Helston, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little bit of heaven
Perfect! That is all I can say really. The room was fantastic, lovely comfortable bed and a nice big bath to relax in. Breakfast was superb, freshly cooked bread was always nice to wake up too. The garden and lounge were always there to go for a walk and realx in, and not to mention the home made brandy before bed. If you get a chance, please do visit as I am sure you will leave happy.
Thanks

Reviewed by
Zak S

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great getaway

Reviewed by
G Philpot

From Maidstone, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly and extremely helpful. Even picked us up from train station

Reviewed by
yusuf h

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little bit of spoil...
If you're looking for corporate, predictable, impersonal then you'll loathe this. If however you're searching for luxury, personalised, charming then book immediately. I loved the journey (in the middle of nowhere, the welcome, the impeccable taste in decor, refreshments and overall thought & detail. If you dislike remoteness, dogs, ducks, countryside or great styling then it will not be as lovely. Rarely am I surprised, delighted and totally at ease in hotels or B&B's - this was the exception.

Reviewed by
Angi Egan

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful
A wonderful place. A real getaway from everything, in beautiful surroundings.
Excellent friendly and charming host.

Reviewed by
Susan Walker

From Hitchin, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had a very enjoyable time at Shoyswell Cottage. A beautiful house in a tranquil location with an extremely warm welcome. A very relaxing stay. Access to large sitting room with a view of the garden which is perfect for a stroll. An excellent base for exploring the Sussex and Kent countryside and close to the coast and some beautiful gardens and National Trust properties. Would definitely return if in the area.

Reviewed by
Glynis J

From Bacup, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The perfect break from London life
We had the most fantastic time - I tried to set out (in a very clumsy way) in Jolyon's visitors' book how my husband and I (sounds like the Queen) felt in being at Shoyswell. We had had a very fraught time in our lives in London, and needed desperately a break. We literally decided the night before we left for Etchingham to take the few days we had. Friends recommended laterooms.com, and the service was great. But the best thing was that laterooms.com led us to Shoyswell. I have never stayed anywhere like it - for just feeling like true house-guests - without any obligation to your hosts to be entertaining or be anything save yourselves, social, anti-social or anything in between. The "cottage" is beautiful, the bed the most comfy I have slept in, the welcome superb, and - well the dogs even outstripped their lovely "owners" in the welcome afforded. We really enjoyed ourselves and returned to London so relaxed that Keith and I both fell into deep depression not to be back at Shoyswell. Despite that ((!) from which we have recovered) we would both highly recommend Shoyswell to anyone seeking a real break. Of course the area is beautiful, and Jolyon has some great ideas to enhance enjoying teh sheer beauty of teh place – but it’s Shoyswell that made our break and our return ready for the London fray (and if you live in Brent, that’s saying something) – basically, as a base and a ”home” where you feel a REAL guest, , Shoyswell can’t be matched!
And finally and very importantly – if you accidentally leave anything under the bed – you’ll really appreciate the host service (especially if it was your duty to do that bit of the final room checking and could be in deep trouble for any loss(!), you couldn’t leave that “anything” at a better place for rapid alerting and return. Thank you, Late Rooms and Shoyswell...

Reviewed by
Gaynor Lloyd

From Harrow, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A super, warm welcome coupled with beautiful, comfortable accommodation in a stunning setting.

Reviewed by
J Curtis

From Hook, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First class
Shoyswell Cottage is a beautiful place to stay. Though not the easiest to find it's well worth the effort. Our room was excellent - though could have done with at least one chair and soap in the bathroom. The grounds are inviting and the peaceful nature of the location, including the ducks (!) made for a restful stay. The hosts were very welcoming and sought to attend to all our needs.

Reviewed by
D Doonan

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next