No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Thorpe Green House

4Swaklasifikasi Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Thorpe Green House, Sledgates, Fylingthorpe , Whitby, YO22 4TY
Thorpe Green House is an 18th century former farmhouse situated in the lovely village of Fylingthorpe and within easy walking distance of Robin Hood's Bay.
There are two beautifully decorated en-suite bedrooms, one with standard double bed, the other with super-king size bed.
Breakfast is served in the guest dining room, full English breakfast, Vegetarian cooked breakfast or Continental breakfast. Special diets catered for with prior notice. We keep a wealth of local information, walks, maps etc.
There is a lovely walled garden with interesting plants and a wildlife pond.
This is a great location for walking and cycling (we are just minutes from the old railway cinder track) but equally good for those who wish to use their car to do local sightseeing. We do have secure storage for bicycles.
Our village pub serves excellent food and is only a four minute walk from the house, alternatively there are three licensed restaurants within walking distance (between 15-20 min. walk). There is a village taxi service if required.
Cash payment is required on departure.
Picture of Thorpe Green House, Whitby at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 30 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little gem!
Having stayed at many B&B's over the years I feel I can fairly say that this is the best I have ever stayed at, and by some margin. Janet welcomed us warmly and was friendly and professional from the start of our stay. Our room was absolutely spotless and beautifully decorated to a high standard. The breakfasts were extremely good, with local sourced produce of very high quality. Over the time of our stay Janet ensured we had everything we needed as well as recommending local restaurants, place to visit as well as giving us space and privacy. The B&B itself has a lovely private garden as well as a terrace with a great view.
We shall most definitely visit again as we feel we have found the best B&B in the Robin Hoods Bay are, if not in the whole of North Yorkshire!

Reviewed by
C Pickford

From Knaresborough, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This was a very last minute booking but was superb. Super couple who run it, very hospitable. room was massive and so comfortable, everything was clean too. Easy walk to Robin hood's bay too. delightful garden that we could have made use of if we wanted to. Breakfast was excellent, hot and very tasty. All in all a very exceptional place to stay. I would definitely go back.

Reviewed by
j hewitt

From York, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money
This was a great place to stay, we stopped at Thorpe Green House and it was a pleasant 10 minute walk to the top of the hill into Robin Hood's Bay. It was the cleanest room we have ever stayed in (including 4* hotels in London) and looked quite recently decorated. There was plenty of storage and a fantastic 6' wide bed with duck filled duvet and comfy mattress. Janet the owner was a very friendly lady who cooked us an excellent breakfast. Really enjoyed staying here, can't recommend enough.

Reviewed by
Kay B

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing stay
We really enjoyed our brief visit. After a long walk with a hiking group, the guest house was a perfect, quiet and relaxing place to rest. We were given a number to book a short taxi ride down the steep Robin Hood's Bay. The driver was very helpful and we had a great meal at the pub nearest the ocean. Breakfast was lovely and we did not feel rushed. Will be back. Thank you.

Reviewed by
Norma Neal

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quiet countryside retreat
Gorgeous room, friendly staff, excellent food. The weekend was just perfect.
We will definately be returning. We were given such a friendly welcome.

Reviewed by
Sue O'Sullivan

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely place to stay
We really enjoyed our stay! Janet made us very welcome and the room was lovely. A very short drive from Whitby. We also enjoyed a walk along the cinder path, which is five minutes walk away.

Reviewed by
Claire B

From Keighley, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thorpe Green B&B
excellent in every way

Reviewed by
Nicholas Plock

From Leeds, England
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room 2
We stayed at this excellent B&B for 2 nights for the goth weekend as it was only 6 miles from Whitby & they was a regular bus sevice into Whitby. Janet welcomed us too her lovely home & her breakfast was exceptional & nothing was no trouble if we needed anything. The B&B offers free wifi & our room was very spacious with plenty of storage & was warm, with available extra
pillow & blankets if we needed them. Only one thing we found was the fan outlet in the bathroom kept flapping through out when it was windy, was abit annoying when flapping through out the night. Overall this is a beautiful B&B in a fabulous location & we would stay again.

Reviewed by
JULIE LOCKWOOD

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

robin hoods bay
wonderful location, ten minutes walk from the bay. Room was very big with a luvley comfortable bed.
Would go back again, great pub 4 minutes walk from the guest house serving very good food.

Reviewed by
barbara s

From newcastle upon tyne, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely B&B
This is our second visit to Thorpe Green House. It would have been the third, if it had not been fully booked for our previous visit to the area. Clean,great location,friendly owner etc. It's a repeat visit,need I say more?

Reviewed by
M Hyde

From Liversedge, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next