Reviews - Shanklin Beach Hotel


35, Esplanade, Shanklin, PO376BJ

Price From 52.17 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (54)

80% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Jonathan Lopez

  • July 2015

The room was very basic, hairs in the bath and no shower, only a plastic tap hose fixing type.

Couldnt sleep because the noise from the room above, could hear everything, felt like the people were in our room. Would not go back to this Hotel.

  • Stefana stancu

  • July 2015

Shanklin Beach Hotel

The room was decent for a weekend stay with my boyfriend but the walls are so thin that could not sleep at night due to the people next door snooring and the morning at 6 am could hear people walking on the top room was that bad that I jumped out the bed few times.

  • A Carpenter

  • July 2015

bargain break

hotel a bit dated needs a bit of refurbishment which we understand new owners to be undertaking.

all staff very helpful & made our stay very enjoyable

  • c ilangovan

  • June 2015

Great Place but Average Room - what you pay is what you get

Shower room was lousy with shower fixed with tub , they provided a rubber tube like stuff u attach to pipe and make it as shower really fighted around 10 mins to get a shower with that tube/hose connection .

Just a average room but clean but location is amazing ... 50 pounds is what i paid so nothing to expect more or extra.

  • Cheryl O

  • June 2015

Great position, Excellent Disabled Facilities, Would Go Back.

Although the building is a bit tired, efforts have been made to bring it up to a good standard.

The room we were in, 134, was first floor, overlooking the beach and esplanade, with a nice balcony. The shower room could do with a refurb, but was adequate. Kelly was a great help getting us a suitable room to suit my partner's needs, and we enjoyed the evening entertainment. Would return again one day, maybe next time would go for B & B and Evening Meal. The menu looked very nice.

  • T Jenkins

  • June 2015

We <3 Shanklin Beach Hotel

We booked through Laterooms and what a little treat we had when we opened our balcony doors to the sound of the ocean.

Rooms are basic but who cares when you have a view like that. Good value for money. Friendly staff and the best location. We loved our stay and would definitely go back there.

  • paula shaw

  • June 2015

Shanklin Beach Hotel

Very disappointed, very basic , certainly needs updating.

Also we were hoping for a chilled weekend and were upset as we were above the kitchen. The extractor was outside our window and woke us up at 6am. Voices from the kitchen were loud and banging cupboard doors..

  • Lynn K

  • June 2015

Just needed a bed and bathroom for the night

Good location right on the sea front.

Room perfectly adequate for my purpose as I was attending a family party nearby and just needed a base to sleep and wash. I didn't have a sea view , which wasn't important on this occasion, but would suggest to others staying longer that this would enhance their stay. I chose not to have breakfast as meeting for family brunch elsewhere. The price was good, booked through

  • R Thornton

  • April 2015

Shanklin Beach Hotel

The room was very small.

The only fresh air came from a window that could only be opened an inch, as there was a drain pipe stopping any further travel. The room smelt damp. The decode was miss matched, even the cups were an odd pair. The cubboard did not match the draws or the table and the chairs were both different. The first room we had was similar but we changed as it had no shower . The floor boards squeaked as older buildings do, but my goodness we had two aerobic hippopotamuses living in the room above.

We don't like to complain but you did ask. I understand that the info you provided says there will be a major upgrade in 2014, yes 2014 and we are now 2015, maybe the part of the hotel we were in has yet to have its makeover.

  • Joy N

  • March 2015

Good breakfast, helpful staff,

Breakfast was very good for the price, but I would have liked some fresh or tinned fruit available.

Staff were friendly and v helpful, but the room was very basic & the bed was lumpy.