No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Shanklin Beach Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
35, Esplanade , Shanklin, PO376BJ
Welcome to the Shanklin Beach Hotel

Located on the stunning seafront esplanade of Shanklin, and recently under new management, we are proud to invite you to join us for your holiday in the Isle of Wight.

The Shanklin Beach Hotel is ideal for family holidays, short breaks and coach tour holidays to Shanklin, Isle of Wight. Originally built as two individual hotels, they have been joined to create the largest hotel on the seafront offering unparalleled seaviews across beautiful sandy beaches.

The recent addition of Foley’s Irish Bar and on-going major hotel upgrades are taking the hotel to new levels of facilities and exceptional customer service.
A central lift serves the main two floors of the accommodation and a large restaurant with wide range of menus choices will cater for your every dining need.

With close links to all the island’s many attractions, we will ensure that you will enjoy a memorable stay with us.
Picture of Shanklin Beach Hotel, Shanklin at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 39 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice stay, although very short. Very happy with sea facing room.batroom a tad small but
Ok for the one night.
A bit disconcerting at breakfast that tables had to be made up as we arrived and some tables still had dirty plates and remnants of clients breakfasts on them. As each persoon came in they were made to sit amongst the dirty tables. Friendly service at breakfast.

Reviewed by
Janis Brown

From Fleet, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

budget accommodation in a pleasant location
WeI needed cheap and cheerful overnight stop that was okay for our dog as well. Apart from a lumpy bed this hotel provided it. The staff were friendly and helpful and breakfast was great. There is car parking behind the hotel and a part of the beach for dogs five minutes walk away.

Reviewed by
Mike S

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good
hotel is in a great location very clean staff very nice also.

Reviewed by
j evans

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A basic hotel which offered good value for money.
A very clean if dated room with wonderful sea view

Reviewed by
I Atkinson

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family visit
Only reason marked the room down was because the bathroom was disappointing - no shower or toiletries and very very basic. Beautiful sea view. Reception staff very friendly and welcoming.

Reviewed by
F Richards

From Sleaford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location, great room overlooking the sea but bathroom could do with a facelift.
Sept 2014, with my sister we took a short break. Shanklin is a good base to tour the island.
Shanklin Beach Hotel is on the esplanade with a cliff lift a few steps to the right of the hotel and Shanlin Chine is at the end of the esplanade also to the right. Good bus and train links nearby.
We didn't eat at the hotel so can't comment on that and didn't bring any kids with us so didn't look out for anything family friendly so no comment on that either.
Only reason I chose a 4 for quality of room is the bathroom sink had a big crack in it and bathroom generally looked very tired but room itself was spacious and clean with loads of storage space.
Only reason I chose 4 for customer service is we didn't have much interaction with the staff but when we did they were friendly, also there was no secure baggage store available. As we didn't have any transport and a few hours to spare on our last day we needed to leave our bags but they were left behind the unmanned reception and we were told that was at our own risk - wouldn't have been a problem had we brought the car. Generally though a very nice hotel.

Reviewed by
G Johnston

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room booked as double but we ended up in a twin room, they did discount room and offered complimentary breakfast. Old fashioned room with only a bath which caused a problem for my wife who can't get in and out of bath. Old fashioned shower attachment which doesn't fit taps. Needs upgrading. Would only stay if guaranteed updated room with shower.

Reviewed by
R Phillips

From Guildford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

dog friendly
right in front own balcony sea breeze all night great on a hot night

Reviewed by
s logan

From Southsea, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend trip
Request a sea view room, it's well worth it the view is beautiful to wake up to, especially as the weather's lovely. Hotel room was so spacious and clean. The staff were very helpful - loved every moment.

Reviewed by
s white

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value and customer service, let down by tired accommodation.
We stayed here last week in a double with a sea view. The staff were very helpful and friendly, and the room was reasonable value at £70 per night. The hotel is well located for the esplanade and beach and allowed us to take our dog for a small extra fee.
However, the room was small and stuffy with thin curtains, so it was extremely difficult to sleep. Although it had clearly been redecorated recently, it could really use proper refurbishment with more sockets, a new bathroom, a ceiling fan and more storage space. In addition, the breakfast isn't great or included.
Overall, not awful but not great. There there are better hotels for your money, and I won't be staying again. That said, the staff are good and I believe that it's being fully refurbished this year so might be worth a look then.

Reviewed by
Darren R

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next