No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Dean Ale & Cider House

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
The Dean Ale and Cider House, A286 Midhurst road, West Dean, Chichester, PO18 0QX
The Dean Ale & Cider House at West Dean, has been the local village watering hole for the past 200 years.
Set in the valley of the River Lavant in the South Downs, The Dean is 5 miles north of the Cathederal city of Chichester on the A286, and 5 miles south of the market town of Midhurst.

The building itself has been lovingly restored and extended. This freehouse now boasts a fantastic spacious dining hall, bright and airy conservatory and a warm and welcoming pub. The barns at the rear of the pub have been sympathetically renovated and now house the bed and breakfast accommodation. The pub has its own private car park and an allocated area for bicycles. The beautifully renovated converted barn at the rear of The Dean Ale & Cider House has six stylish en-suite bedrooms, which are perfect for a special break or a business stay.

All the bedrooms have flat screen TV’s, free wireless internet access and coffee and tea making facilities. Every overnight stay includes a delicious breakfast served in the conservatory. In the warmer months you may like to enjoy your breakfast al fresco on our decked seating area.

Whether you are eating in our dining hall or the more intimate space of the conservatory, which has double doors that open out onto the decked courtyard for al fresco dining in the warmer months, the dining experience at The Dean Ale & Cider House is something special.

We source the finest, freshest local produce and smoke our own meat, fish and cheese to create superb uncomplicated food that changes with the seasons. Traditional pub food but 'with a twist'. The menu includes regularly changing specials and bar meals are also available for a lighter lunch or a more informal bite to eat.

The atmosphere in The Dean Ale & Cider House is warm and welcoming. The open log fire warms and welcomes to keep everyone toasty in the winter months, whilst the decking and garden beckons in the summer.
Picture of The Dean Ale & Cider House, Chichester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 30 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

charming chichester
at the dean on arrival staff very helpful as it was sunday they explained food finished early but as long as we were there in last half hour afull service was possible one of the best sunday lunches for a long time room was clean the only slight problem was the heat [very nice in December] but we were not able to turn it down? but a very pleasant stay and recommend for Chichester and goodwood good luck

Reviewed by
william locke

From Buckhurst Hill, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A delightful and relaxing stay
Lovely rooms, great range of ales, friendly service- recommended for a relaxing trip.

Reviewed by
H Welsh

From Wallington, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

AGreat Mini Break
Enjoyed our night at Dean Ale and Cider. Room clean, modern and pleasant. Nice welcome, Had dinner in restaurant. Lovely, interesting food. Very good value for money. Raspberry Cider really nice.
Room very comfortable and breakfast well cooked and nicely served. A couple of satisfied customers

Reviewed by
Jenny Ayliffe

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfectly Adequate
There was nothing really wrong with this room, but for a B&B with only four rooms it lacked the personal touch, it felt a bit corporate. The room was quite warm but the road was too close to be able to keep the windows open through the night. It was easy to hear other people opening and closing doors. Having said all that it was a pleasure to eat and drink at the pub and then pop across to the barn at bed time.

Reviewed by
Yvonne H

From Maidstone, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable, a few tweaks could make it perfect
The Dean seemed to have been newly refurbished and the bar/restaurant areas were lovely. The staff were all very pleasant and friendly. Our room was a good size and had everything we needed except for a fan! It was very warm in there on a relatively cool summers evening which made it difficult to sleep very well. The bathroom although clean, had a spot light hanging out of the ceiling and a damp patch on the wall next to the bath with plaster coming off - we don't think it was leaking anymore but certainly needed tidying up. Breakfast was absolutely delicious with a good choice on the menu. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would stay again.

Reviewed by
F Williams

From Billingshurst, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice room spoilt by the heat
We stayed here for Glorious Goodwood & for this the location was perfect. The staff were friendly &'efficient from the minute we arrived. Excellent food, good choice of drinks at the bar (as would be expected with the name of the hotel) . The room was large, clean, well decorated with a nice shower & bathroom. However, whilst I get that it was a warm sunny day, the heat in the room at night was unbearable. The low ceilings of a 2 storey barn conversion & the very small windows must have contributed but it made sleep almost impossible. Maybe the upstairs rooms were not so bad? Please invest in some electric fans, if we stay again, we would a) book an upstairs room & b) take a fan with us in case the hotel doesn't heed this suggestion. This is the only reason I would not recommend this really nice venue to anyone in the summer.

Reviewed by
David Brown

From Halesowen, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The food was good and the room was reasonably clean, although the bathroom was a bit smelly of drains. But they were so slow at checking us in. 2 ladies and neither knew answers to basic questions like 'when does the kitchen close?' I resented their writing down of all my credit card details on paper; entering them in their computer; all in addition to swiping my card for payment. I had to insist that the paper record was destroyed (anyone could go shopping with that) and the computer record . . . who knows??
But, worst of all, it was a warm summer night and we had underfloor heating from very hot water pipes running under the floor of our room. One small, high window opened onto a lane (ground floor) and the only way to get a reasonable temperature for sleep was to have the window as wide open as possible and a fan in the open doorway to move air through the room . . . all night long!
We weren't mugged, but, didn't sleep too soundly!
Never again. I believe they do have at least one, nice, upstairs room but that room should only be used in the dead of winter.

Reviewed by
N Rendall

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Underwhelmed
We arrived at about 2.30pm and unfortunately on arrival we appeared to be greeted less than enthusiastically. When I asked if we could get some food (Even a sandwich) we were told the restaurant had finished service. We were shown to our room which was well appointed, clean and fresh. Looking through the booklet for residents, it clearly said that food would be available until 3pm. "Ok, maybe not today"...., I thought.
The room was in a converted barn with an en-suite bathroom. Everything worked, although there were only an adequate number of towels for one person, which was soon rectified.
Later on, given our underwhelming greeting, we decided to eat at another establishment in Chichester rather than stay in.
Our room was at the back of the main building. It was above an area where customers can sit outside, socialise, eat, drink etc. When we got back to the room we found it noisy and tarnished by cigarette smoke. Opening the windows only made it worse and it was late before the noise subsided. This was all obviously due to the situation of the room above a public area. That said I did find the bed very comfortable.
For breakfast I hoped to get some fresh fruits like grapefruit, sliced peaches etc but the selection was limited to 3 types of mini cereal, one flavour of yoghurt, an apple orange or banana or a "Full English". I chose a mini cereal, a banana and a cooked breakfast.
Overall.
If you can put up with the 'So-so' welcome, a comfortable but noisy room and a reasonable breakfast, then you will be at home here. My Personal view is that this room is overpriced at £80.

Reviewed by
D Peel

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very enjoyable stay
The rooms are in a converted barn to the rear of the main building, well set back from the A286. All the furnishings were new, in a modern (but not abrasively modern) style. The double bed was large and very comfortable. Ample (and easily accessible) parking. The breakfasts were good. There was a fair amount of choice in the dinner menu; the dishes was relatively inexpensive with very good sized portions. All the staff were without exception pleasant and helpful.

Reviewed by
John M

From High Wycombe, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great reviews but awful reality
A very hot summers day and the bathroom radiator was stuck on and pumping out heat into a room that was already a poorly ventilated sweat box. Asked the landlord for help and he just shrugged his shoulders and said that I could leave if I wanted but he wouldn't help remedy the problem because my raising the problem meant I was a trouble causer.
I stay in hotels approx 150 nights a year and thast's the first time I've ever been called that! I chose the place because of the good reviews but IMO they can only have been penned by 'friends'.
Make your own choices but I'd advise my family and friends to stay somewhere where the landlord gives a damn.

Reviewed by
Robert W

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next