No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Station Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Castlegate, , , Penrith, CA11 7JB
The Station Hotel is situated near to Penrith town centre on Castlegate, very near to the ruins of Penrtih castle and Penrith railway station. The Station Hotel has undergone a major refurbishment, to the bar and lounge, and has also enabled us to open a 40 cover restaurant, with an a la carte menu and plenty of daily specials & childrens dishes to choose from. The station hotel has eight well appointed rooms all of which are en-suite and non-smoking avalilallble for bed and breakfast accommodation, The Station also has a comfortable lounge and bar area. What really makes us stand out from the rest is the top quality, home cooked food that is produced on the premises by our chef and his team. Great lengths were sought to ensure that only the finest quality local produce was used. We are sure that dining with us will be the highlight of your stay. You can choose to sit in our beautifully designed restaurant (booking advisable) or for those of you who want that less formal feel the same menu can be served in our newly refurbished lounge or bar area. Penrith is at the heart of Eastern Cumbria, situated in The Eden Valley, it is the gateway to the North Lakes. Penrith is a popular and picturesque market town with a rich and fascinating history. Penrith Castle, of which the ruins are located directly behind the Station Hotel, was built between 1399 and 1470 as a defence against the Scottish raiders. Please be aware that for all cancelled bookings outside of our 48 hour cancellation policy a £10 admin charge will apply. Any cancellations inside the 48 hour policy will result in a full charge for the duration of your intended stay. Please note that we are not a 24 hour business, (our opening hours are 12pm to 11pm) and as such the latest available check in is 22:30. Our doors shut promptly at 23:00 (22.30 on Sunday) and anyone arriving later than this without prior arrangement will be unable to check in.
Picture of Station Hotel, Penrith at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 43 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice pub/hotel
Good location, adequate accommodation.

Reviewed by
sean l

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Station Hotel
Very good value for money, I would stay here again.
I only saw in 1 room but I'd have to say it was a little tired, but good value all the same.

Reviewed by
m kaveney

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good place to stay
Good value for money, staff are friendly and the food is excellent

Reviewed by
G Prytherch

From Caernarfon, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bit run down but clean
This is an old hotel with very dated fixtures and fittings. The ensuite was tiny and very worn, the bed very hard and the wardrobe and dresser like something out of my Nans house.
Saying that the room seemed clean.
The main downside I guess was ventilation. An electric heater had been turned on in the room before we arrived and the room was very warm. We turned this off, but none of the windows could be opened to get some fresh air in. Not good, but then being over a very busy road, it would possibly have been smelly/car fumes.
As for the road, it was noisy into the night and so I would not recommend this hotel for light sleepers (windows not double glazed).
Overall though, for a place simply to sleep and no frills it was OK.

Reviewed by
Kirsty S

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Long weekend break in Penrith Cumbria
Staff very friendly and helpful including one of the cleaners we met. Locals really accommodating. Room was really comfortable but could do with a little modernising and the toilets really need to be replaced as they are horrendously noisy when flushed but that doesn't take away the warm welcoming feel of the Hotel. We didn't eat in the Hotel as breakfast is not included and we ate out at night with family but we would stay again in the future.

Reviewed by
Andrea O

From Aldershot, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sons graduation
The hotel is well situated and one minute walk from the train station. We stayed in room 2 which overlooks the street and so could see our sons flat from there. The rooms are a bit dated but very comfortable and the staff very warm, friendly and welcoming which is all you want for a relaxed stay.

Reviewed by
L Trainor

From Armagh, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Coast 2 Coast
Very pleasantly surprised.
I was greeted like a friend, room had everything I needed.
Not what I expected for the price, I'll definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Philip J

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice little place, very close to the station
The hotel is only a hop skip and a jump away from the station. The room was nice, comfy bed, quite clean (though, the carpet had some questionable stains), clean ensuite. The cupboard to hang clothes had a really really damp smell to it, so I had to keep the door open so my clothes wouldn't absorb the smell... but other than that, it's a good stopping point for a night. One thing though, be prepared to sleep after 11:30 as there will still be people in the bar and the noise does travel into the room but if you're a night owl, it doesn't matter.

Reviewed by
Thomas L

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dated but friendly
Good traditional accommodation with a lovely old pub and friendly, helpful stasff

Reviewed by
J Kennedy

From Balfron, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

old fashioned hotel
the hotel was very welcoming and the staff very friendly the room was adeqate with a need for up dating

Reviewed by
Esmond D

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next