No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Balmoral Hotel

4Self Classified Town House Hotel Ratings explained
16-18 FRANKLIN MOUNT , HARROGATE, HG1 5EJ
The spa town of Harrogate is without doubt one of the finest places in the country, so it seems only fitting to find a hotel as beautiful as The Balmoral Hotel here. Situated on a leafy street just a few minutes walk from the centre of Harrogate, this impressive 100 year-old York stone building is set amongst picturesque gardens dotted with charming topiary. You may only be a stone’s throw from all that the town has to offer but once inside you’ll quickly forget the outside world exists.
Picture of Balmoral Hotel, HARROGATE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 45 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would definately visit again!
This is a lovely boutique style hotel, in a great location, just 10mins walk into the centre of Harrowgate. The welcome from the staff was lovely and it continued throughout our stay ( they couldn't be more helpful).
Our large room was a shabby chic design and a lovely big bathroom and bath. The bed was very large and comfortable. The reason I gave a 5 for cleanliness was because there were quite a few hairs in the bath but other than that the place was spotless.
Breakfast was delicious and of a a very good quality.
We will Definately return to the Balmoral.

Reviewed by
S Purdie

From Haddington, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best hotel we've ever stayed in
We felt welcome from the minute we walked through the door. All staff very friendly and most helpful. Windsor suite is top notch. Breakfast second to none and the staff couldn't do enough for you. Excellent value for money and we've already booked up again for next year. We will be recommending this lovely hotel to all friends and family.

Reviewed by
Richard Hall

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay.
Wonderful welcome on arrival, offered a drink on arrival after long journey. Staff very attentive, which lasted all my stay. Will be back for another stay at The Balmoral. Hotel.

Reviewed by
Carol Chapman

From Baldock, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I booked this hotel asking for twin beds but when we arrived we were told that
late rooms did not specify this request and we had to have a double bed which I was not happy with at all but had no other choice . I won't be booking with you again as it was not the hotels fault and if they had known it would not have happened .

Reviewed by
D Braithwaite

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable hotel close to exhibition centre
The bed was extremely comfortable! The staff are excellent and allowed me to park my car in the hotel car park before I checked in and after I checked out, which was a big help. Breakfast was lovely and had lots of options, including cooked items. I would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
E Kane

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not the best
The hotel is unorganised and understaffed.
The reception was left unattended for a long time during the day which was frustrating.
The room definitely needed some tlc it was very scruffy.
The walls are very thin and the bed was extremely unsturdy and uncomfortable.
The breakfast was not worth getting up for it was an absolute shambles the staff were like headless chickens not knowing what anyone ordered it wasn't great

Reviewed by
Kirsty B

From Heckmondwike, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing hotel, exceptional service
Totally unexpected gem of a hotel, upgraded to a suite when all I asked for was a room with a bath! The room was large, lavish and totally individual and yes there was a huge, free standing bath. Although the hotel was not serving dinner that evening the receptionist recommended a true delight of a bistro. I was then booked a table and presented a 10% discount voucher. if only all front of house staff were trained by Jackie the world would be a better place!! Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
kathy w

From Bewdley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good breaks start with this
Check-in...Receptionist was great, very friendly, and did her job very well.

Reviewed by
Geoff Edwards

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great short stay
Ideal for a romantic break. Day at a nice spa in Harrogate, then a night's stay at Balmoral only a few miles away. Upgrade was much appreciated also. Breakfast very nice and staff friendly.

Reviewed by
C Brady

From Pudsey, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely hotel-poor basic facilities
Firstly, this hotel is lovely as are all public areas, particularly the outside terrace area along with the two rooms we had booked. We were very pleased until we tried to shower in the morning. Quite clearly the shower was missing parts, which was obvious by merely looking at it. Now upon reading many reviews prior to our stay, the showering facilities and lack if hot water were obvious and common factors. However I decided that given the reviews and the responses from Steven, the GM that those issues would have been long resolved. Not the case! I was not happy paying £110 for a 'superior room' to discover I could not have a shower! This was even more shocking when the problem was so obvious and must have been raised by previous customers. The free breakfasts did not compensate for the inconvenience the day of my nephews christening. Based solely on the above I would not stay again if they eventually rake action over these problems then wouldn't hesitate.

Reviewed by
L Ferguson

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next