No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Balmoral Hotel

4Self Classified Town House Hotel Ratings explained
16-18 FRANKLIN MOUNT , HARROGATE, HG1 5EJ
The spa town of Harrogate is without doubt one of the finest places in the country, so it seems only fitting to find a hotel as beautiful as The Balmoral Hotel here. Situated on a leafy street just a few minutes walk from the centre of Harrogate, this impressive 100 year-old York stone building is set amongst picturesque gardens dotted with charming topiary. You may only be a stone’s throw from all that the town has to offer but once inside you’ll quickly forget the outside world exists.
Picture of Balmoral Hotel, HARROGATE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 28 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Spring Break in Harrogate
The hotel was very comfortable, warm and the staff were excellent. Any request was promptly attended to. The Hotel is convenient to the town (5 minute walk).

Reviewed by
Robert M

From Hexham, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It did the job with a smile
To be honest I probably spent more time asleep there than I did awake but that is testament. In its self on how easy it was to relax and recuperate there. The room was al I needed and the staff smiley and plesant.

Reviewed by
David K

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant location for exploring Harrogate
Hotel is in an ideal location, a short walk into town but in a quiet area.Parking is restricted but works fine.Our superior room was spacious although the furniture could best be described as eccentric.Breakfast was very good indeed and is recommended.Best part of our trip was the hotel staff - without exception they were friendly and helpful ,as well as being full of local information.We would recommend BED for evening meals - it's just down the road.

Reviewed by
D Johnson

From Horsham, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tiny bed!
The bed was smaller than a double cobwebs hanging off the chandelier over bed curtains wouldn't close properly

Reviewed by
E Froggatt

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel very friendly

Reviewed by
Anthony Muscat

From Basildon, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great all round hotel
The hotel has a modern feel to it despite being in an old building. Unfortunately we paid £10 extra a night for a superior room, yet the shower didn't work. Despite mentioning it, nothing was done. In fact it was the water pressure, which obviously was known about previously. Therefore, this can't really be classed as a superior room. Especially as it isn't a full size bath.The normal rooms are easily nice enough as our friends stopped in one. Can't fault the staff and all round feel of the hotel though

Reviewed by
p tumelty

From Ashton Under Lyne, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would recommend.
The Balmoral is a great place to stay in Harrogate - only 3 mins walk to the town centre, the staff were fantastic and very accommodating, would definitely stay at the Balmoral again. 5*

Reviewed by
K Greewood

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

surprise weekend for my boyfriend's birthday. The windsor suite was too gorgeous to go out
More than I could have wished for. Communication was brilliant prior to our stay. Staff were more than accomodating and friendly and extremely helpful. I upgraded to the windsor suite which had the wow factor. I would definitely recommend this hotel. We didnt have breakfast so I can only comment on the room and staff. 10/10 superb!

Reviewed by
K Aldred

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The people who are running the Balmoral hotel Steven and Pedro, Know what they are doing.
the stay at the Balmoral hotel was fantastic, very good beds, nice breakfast, and very friendly service.
there was a problem with the wifi, it whas dissolved in a minut, thanks Steven.
i think it is a top location for business people, just 5 minuts walk to the exibition halls.
Greeting Paul Schilders Bio-Trio.

Reviewed by
Paul Schilders

From Lommel, Belgium
Who stayed in January 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Entire faucet of hot water tap loose in bathroom, so inadvertently turned whole thing around spraying water everywhere when turning tap on. Room ok, though paint peeling off radiators and walls. Cooked breakfast lacked much for vegetarians who don't eat eggs; mentioned this on first morning. Did not have cooked breakfast next day because of this, but when I mentioned it at checkout they said they had brought in extra items for me. However, no one told me this at breakfast. Very disappointed that I was not given a refund for that breakfast as goodwill gesture, especially as receptionist admitted it was failure of communication on their part.

Reviewed by
P Turner

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next