No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Balmoral Hotel

4Self Classified Town House Hotel Ratings explained
16-18 FRANKLIN MOUNT , HARROGATE, HG1 5EJ
The spa town of Harrogate is without doubt one of the finest places in the country, so it seems only fitting to find a hotel as beautiful as The Balmoral Hotel here. Situated on a leafy street just a few minutes walk from the centre of Harrogate, this impressive 100 year-old York stone building is set amongst picturesque gardens dotted with charming topiary. You may only be a stone’s throw from all that the town has to offer but once inside you’ll quickly forget the outside world exists.
Picture of Balmoral Hotel, HARROGATE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 54 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Grand on the outside
The fact that The Harrogate Grill has closed and they do not offer evening meals probably tells a story. It's a pity as the hotel is grand and it is a fabulous old building. It just feels that it's struggling. That said, everyone was professional and my room was fine.

Reviewed by
Julian B

From Bedale, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb value and service
We stayed here for a family get together over a weekend, including a 2 year old. Staff were attentive and friendly, and the service in general was excellent. The location was great, with easy access into Harrogate, and there was free car parking over the weekend. Room and bed extremely comfortable and felt very grand. The only slight disappointment was the shower, which was very weak. All in all, superb value and a great time was had.

Reviewed by
Andrew F

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Balmoral Hotel
Room looking a little well used. The blinds were in shreds and not really fit for purpose, very shabby. The bed was comfortable, we slept well. The staff were lovely. The breakfast was excellent.

Reviewed by
Lesley S

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great for the price!
Booked a cheap room last minute and it included breakfast. The room was okay, the food was very nice and the staff were very friendly and accomadating. We were happy for what we paid.

Reviewed by
E Wattam

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great nights sleep
Very nice staff, very comphy bed and nice room

Reviewed by
thomas o

From York, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Balmoral Hotel Harrogate
Excellent staff very helpful. Easy to find and access to town centre. Room was very pleasant.

Reviewed by
D Concannon

From Salford, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fab

Reviewed by
Alana E

From Hillsborough, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room for improvement
Enjoyed Harrogate but the lighting in the room was poor and it was far too hot in room staff were slightly rude, room was a good size but appliances didn't work for example toilet wouldn't flush also there wasn't enough toilet roll which was disappointing, the breakfast staff were friendly and went out off there way to be helpful and the muffins were simply delicious

Reviewed by
Nicole Slasor

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent room - very spacious with everything you would want in a hotel room. Only negative was that one of the secondary glazing panels was missing from the main window which meant I was woken by someone leaf-blowing (I think) outside the neighbouring property early on the second morning!

Reviewed by
A Law

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would definately visit again!
This is a lovely boutique style hotel, in a great location, just 10mins walk into the centre of Harrowgate. The welcome from the staff was lovely and it continued throughout our stay ( they couldn't be more helpful).
Our large room was a shabby chic design and a lovely big bathroom and bath. The bed was very large and comfortable. The reason I gave a 5 for cleanliness was because there were quite a few hairs in the bath but other than that the place was spotless.
Breakfast was delicious and of a a very good quality.
We will Definately return to the Balmoral.

Reviewed by
S Purdie

From Haddington, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next