No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Maytime Inn

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Asthall, , , Burford, OX18 4HW
Dominic and Alfie (the dog) would like to welcome you to The Maytime Inn, nestling in the heart of the beautiful, peaceful and historic Cotswold village of Asthall. Under new ownership and newly refurbished, everything is designed to make your visit more enjoyable, from the newly refurbished luxurious bedrooms to our relaxing bar and restaurant areas. Our young and passionate team will do their best to ensure a visit to the Inn is a rewarding and enjoyable experience. Only less than half a mile off the A40 or B4047 you will find yourself in another world. The river Windrush meanders gently through the beautiful countryside a stones throw from The Maytime Inn which dates back to the 17th Century and in times gone by was a coaching inn with its own Smithy. The village of Asthall features on many walking routes and what better place than The Maytime to stop, rest and refresh yourself. Your dog may also appreciate a drink! The Maytime Inn is independent and fiercely so, because of this we can offer you a range of excellently conditioned, regularly changing local ales, ciders and a wide selection of fine wines by the glass. Our award winning chef and his team will set out to delight whether you choose from the a la carte menu, pub classics or even a sandwich. We only use the finest fresh local produce in each dish so you can be ensured of a quality meal, be it a candle lit dinner or a bite for lunch. The village of Asthall is the original home of the famous Mitford sisters and also has a stunning old church set next to the Manor house which regularly hosts popular public events. The Maytime Inn is within easy striking distance of Burford, Oxford and Cheltenham as well as many other local attractions. If you need more time to explore the area, or simply want a few nights away in quiet, beautiful rural surroundings, we have six en-suite guest bedrooms so we can ensure a truly personal service.
Picture of The Maytime Inn, Burford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 18 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Delightful stay at this hidden gem!
We often visit Burford and surrounding villages for short breaks. Looking for somewhere along the lines of a country inn with rooms we found the Maytime and having read earlier reviews we booked a midweek night therein! Nestled in a quaint little Cotswold village is this refurbished inn. Our room was nicely furnished, not huge, but very clean with a super 6ft bed and great ensuite with a powerful walkin shower! Supper was good though here came our only disappointment in that the 'ham' accompanying the egg & chips, appeared to be processed. Breakfast, served by the charming host was fab!

Reviewed by
T Ward

From Ley Hill, Chesham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A gem of a hotel
From the welcome by the very genial and obliging manager (Matt) to the quality of the dinner to the bedroom and breakfast, there was simply nothing I could fault with Maytime. When I am anywhere near it in the future, I will stay there.

Reviewed by
Mike Head

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Elegantly masculine, excellent location, fabulous food, dreamily comfortable bed!
Very cool and modern refurbished old Country Cottage Inn with an incredibly relaxed feel, staff were very welcoming, chatty and happy to give information about the local area and places of interest.
Food was delicious, I had the Maytime Chicken, Leek and Mushroom Pot, beautifully presented, didn't look like a lot of food on the plate but was more than plenty (Portion size was perfect) it was absolutely delicious, just didn't stay there long enough to try more on the menu.
We stayed in the Farriers Room, the smallest of the rooms offered and it was fantastic. Huge comfy bed, walk-in shower with a very powerful shower - could've stayed in there all day and the bathroom had under-floor heating. Divine!
The hotel is perfectly located 3 miles from Burford, great for some peace and quite in the country. If heading in the same direction again, would definitely stay here again!

Reviewed by
Caroline Gates

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent village pub/hotel
This quiet village retrate provides excellent service and value for money. The quality and friendliness of the staff are first rate. Travel down the quiet on-way lane from the busy main road and you find this typical Cotswold village.

Reviewed by
John S

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful stay
This hotel was one of the stops on our road trip around the Cotswolds. It was in a secluded village away from the main roads and it was wonderful and peaceful. The staff were so friendly and helpful. The food in the hotel was very good and the breakfast too. Nothing was too much trouble. I can thoroughly recommend this place to anyone wanting to get away from it all.

Reviewed by
J Gibson

From Bromley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cotswolds stopover
The Maytime Inn is an absolute gem. The staff were extremely friendly and the service was outstanding, nothing was too much trouble. The building is beautifully decorated and welcoming. Can't wait to go back.

Reviewed by
John D

From Belfast, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good
Three things make a good visit. The Food, the accomodation and the service. All were excellent

Reviewed by
Peet Ross

From Carnforth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unforgettable few days in the Cotswolds made even more pleasurable by a stay at The Maytime Inn
From check in to check out, we had first class service. With friendly but not over the top staff, great food including tasty cooked breakfast and succulent ribeye steak, and quality accommodation.
We stayed in the Hunting Room which is tastefully decorated and very comfortable. The super king size bed was very comfortable and the shower excellent. There were nice touches like the flask of fresh milk and the remote control lights.
The whole point of our stay was to relax and recharge and we were able to do this by not being harassed by over eager staff or treated like an annoyance.
To sum up, The Maytime Inn would make a great place to stay when visiting the Cotswolds and we would definitely return given the opportunity.

Reviewed by
Andrew V

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent country hotel
This is a beautiful converted stables run by exceptionally friendly and helpful staff who went far beyond what would be considered reasonable in terms of providing a wonderful experience. Rooms are fitted out well with comfy beds; excellent bathroom and other fittings. It is worth noting that some of the rooms were rather compact.

Reviewed by
J Dainton

From Kingston Upon Thames, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Small but Quaint
We stayed in the yard and groom room, slightly small but beautifully decorated and the bathroom was fantastic with underfloor heating. Friendly staff, tasty food and picturesque location.

Reviewed by
t fox

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next