You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Maytime Inn


Asthall, ,, Burford, OX18 4HW

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (12)

92% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Karen M

  • May 2016

Second stay at this beautiful place!

This is the second time that we have stayed at The Maytime Inn; it really is a beautiful place.

The decor is really nice and the place is so relaxing to visit. The garden seating area looks out over beautiful fields with sheep and cows grazing away. We had a lovely meal in the evening. Service was quick and efficient. Would definitely recommend a visit.

  • Nicola Clarke

  • October 2015

Lovely Hotel

This is a lovely little hotel.

My room was very small but lovely and cosy and the bed was so comfortable. Large bathroom and all really clean and well looked after. The restaurant was lovely too, great menu and fantastic roaring open fire. Staff were really friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good ( although the garden room where it is served is looking a little tired ) which is the only negative thing I can say about my stay here. Would definitely stay again.

  • P Atkins

  • April 2015

Room Excellent

Service and people great.

Food just not enough.

  • chris s

  • February 2015

Super Find

Booked to stay overnight before for a business meeting on a Monday morning.

I couldn't fault the Maytime. Hospitality great, the food was Michelin class and great value and the rooms were very boutique. Nice touches such as fresh milk in your room in an ice bucket when you check in all added to a very pleasant stay. Will be there again.

  • T Webber

  • February 2015

Wonderful stay in this beautiful property

The Maytime Inn is wonderfully located in a peaceful hamlet, well off the main road but within easy reach of the popular Cotswold destinations.

The inn itself is tastefully decorated & furnished, & a welcoming atmosphere is provided by the staff. Our room was delightful with some lovely personal touches & the quality of linen was evident. We booked a table for dinner & were not disappointed - the food was to the Merlot.

  • Linda D

  • February 2015

comfortable country inn

friendly staff, excellent cooked breakfast and comfortable room.

Village location but not remote.

  • sj P

  • January 2015

Picturesque, romantic, rural hide away

The setting is tucked away on the main trunc route between oxford and cheltenham close to Bourton on the water and set in a small cotswold stone village.

The decor is heritage, with beautiful exposed oak beamed high ceilings with a glass domed raised area. The feel of the restaurant changes depending on where you are sitting. There is a large open bar for conversation, tucked away intimate dining near the open fire and the larger glass domed dining area for larger groups and where breakfast is served. The food was delicious with a varied menu. The breakfast was totally open to choice from continental to full English. The owner and staff were very attentive and friendly. Our special request made on booking was waiting without reminder. We had a lovely time and stayed in the to Groom room which had both bath and shower facilities. The country setting was lovely to walk around and we will definitely be returning for another visit.

  • T Dean

  • December 2014

Midweek break

We'd chosen The Boot Room, no idea why, just somewhere to start.

The king size double bed was a dream in itself. The en-suite had underfloor tile heating. Going for dinner we were presented with a choice of gins, and what a choice, from Hendricks to Bathtub. The meal was bordering on haut cuisine, my hake magnificent. Breakfast from local produce was again presented with thought. Checking out I was sad at only one thing. I never got to sample the array of real cask ales. You simple can't go wrong. It's on the old coach route and since the bypass (A40) has well, bypassed, that's a blessing in disguise. It's not too busy, but busy enough. The restaurant on the Tuesday nights was almost full. The staff rounded it all off, very charming, polite and not in-your-face. Not sure I've ever had a better stay anywhere for the ambience. The Maytime has all you need fro a stop over, but I'd book at least two nights again.

  • Elizabeth C

  • December 2014

Room with character and facilities

The room I stayed in was small but had a comfortable king sized bed, antique furniture and decorations and nice welcoming touches such as home made mince pies and fresh milk.

The bathroom was luxurious with heated floor and roll top bath as well as shower. I didn't have a cooked breakfast but the choice was excellent. I also didn't eat here in the evening but the bar had a welcoming atmosphere and a good menu. The hotel is only a short distance from major roads and yet totally secluded in a small village. The only negative aspects were that I couldn't get any phone signal in my room and the wireless network signal was too weak to access. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Paul V

  • November 2014

A Pleasant Stay

No real faults here.

A very quiet stay and comfortable accommodation. The food was good and the hospitality charming