No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Parkhead House

4Visit Scotland Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Abercorn Road, Hopetoun, , Queensferry, EH30 9SL
Parkhead House offers unique overnight cottage stays with the added benefit of welcoming hosts and a great Scottish breakfast. This former Gamekeepers cottage is set on the edge of the idyllic Deer Park at the heart of Hopetoun and is just a short walk from Hopetoun House itself. The cottage offers two double and one twin bedroom all en-suite with wonderful views over wooded parkland northwards to the river Forth and Fife. Each bedroom is individual yet beautifully appointed with the highest standard of furnishings and can be booked for a stay of one night or for a stay as long as you require. Only 15 minutes from Edinburgh Airport and 10 minutes from either Dalmeny or Linlithgow railway stations this makes Parkhead House a relaxed place to stay but still close to both Edinburgh and Glasgow. We offer the freedom and flexibility of a self-catering break combined with the welcome of a traditional bed and breakfast so those traveling with children, enjoying the great outdoors or bringing the family pet can relax knowing if required you have the use of the cottage sitting room, kitchen and laundry during your stay. Each en-suite bedroom has tea/coffee making facilities, FreeView TV, FREE Wi-Fi, radio alarm, hairdryer, towels, bathrobes and toiletries. Our breakfasts are made using the best local organic produce supplied by the Hopetoun Farm Shop and Estate. We now have "super fast broadband" throughout the cottage and garden which you can use for free.
Picture of Parkhead House, Queensferry at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 9 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful surroundings - relaxing stay
Our stay has been excellent, nothing too much trouble even picking up a takeaway! James and Angela are warm friendly host. The sky room has a comfy bed brilliant en suite bath (with outstanding views through the window whilst relaxing ) .
Highly recommended, breakfast choice wide and varied. We loved it so much we have rebooked next year!

Reviewed by
Shane Blackmore

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thoroughly relaxed
Splendid room. Owners could not do enough for us. Had driven for miles and had had a busy day, so it was great to be able to "chill out". Close enough to a range of decent restaurants. Ideal all round. Breakfast plentiful and prompt.

Reviewed by
Leigh O

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

stunning location
Minutes off the motorway superb accomodation , well appointed room full 4*, with an oppurtunity to relax and unwind. Excellent hosts and the best breakfast in many stays. Avoid the humdrum of the national chains and enjoy hospitality at is best.

Reviewed by
Terence Brown

From Binbrook, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well run, beautiful B&B in great location
I usually only provide a review if stay was outstandingly good (pass it on), or absolutely awful (warn the unwary). Parkhead House was great! I've stayed at many comfortable and immaculate B&Bs that do a nice breakfast, but there's only been a few that really go the extra mile for you. Also, if you like a run, or a stroll, after a hard days work there's a path from the door of the B&B that leads through the deer park to a glorious piece of coast path with good views of Forth Rail Bridge.

Reviewed by
K Williams

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Edinburgh Trip
It was a new experience to have the opportunity to stay in the grounds of the historic Hopetoun House and in what was once the gamekeepers cottage.It was also convenient to leave the car at the train station and take a frequent train service into Edinburgh.
The accomodation is unique for a B&B as you have the use of the house facilities if you wish to use them.The owners friendly welcome and local knowledge was an added bonus

Reviewed by
Peter Healey

From Carnforth, England
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We arrived on a dark wet night to a lovely warm greeting. James could not have been more helpful.
We had a good nights sleep in a comfy, clean bed. Also one of the best breakfast's I've seen and tasted.

Reviewed by
J Logue

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Country Charm
Lovely Cottage. Just two minutes to the main road. Very nice and quiet stay. The Full Scottish Breakfast was GREAT! Telling our friends!

Reviewed by
Christina H

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcome stay after a late arrival on a Friday night
Our host was very nice in receiving us at 1am. We stayed less than 10 hours in the B&B, but the accommodation was up to our expectations. Our room in the ground floor was a bit humid, although we couldn't notice it once the heating was turned on in the morning.

Reviewed by
P Luque Laguna

From Spain
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Time at Park head
Felt like a home from home, nothing and i mean nothing was to much trouble.

Reviewed by
David D

From Wrexham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.