No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Claude Gibb

3Visit England Assessed Campus Ratings explained
Northumbria University City Campus , Newcastle-upon-Tyne, NE1 8SU
One of the most vibrant destinations in the North of England, an overnight stay in Newcastle Gateshead is a must. Claude Gibb is a 3 Star Rated Campus offer, awarded by Quality in Tourism and is ideally located just a 5 minute walk from Newcastle upon Tyne's City Centre. All 254 rooms available throughout the summer are spacious standard single study bedrooms with comfortable beds and shared bathroom facilities (3 bathrooms per 12 rooms). Each room is equipped with wash hand basin, bed linen and towels, ipod docking station, tea/coffee making facilities, free internet access with cables, and complimentary welcome toiletries.

Claude Gibb is the ideal base for business travellers and visitors looking for a short break, offering fantastic links to train, bus and metro transport services. There's plenty to keep you entertained just a short walk away in Newcastle's City centre, featuring fashionable bars and restaurants, ultra-modern galleries and music venues, theatre and film, a night out here is a great encore to your main event. As well as all this, Newcastle city centre shops are also open and ready for business between 5 and 8pm weekday evenings and up to 7pm on Saturdays, so plenty of time to shop!
Picture of Claude Gibb, Newcastle-upon-Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 21 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Food was avaliable but I can't comment as I didn't use this service
Late check was given without extra fee and without asking I received an email to advise checkout was 5 pm this was excellent as I was in town to take part in great north run
Would defiantly book this agian also for its location as it is very central to travel links

Reviewed by
C gray

From England
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Close to the run!!
I stayed at the Claude gibb as I was running the great nort run half marathon.
No frills accommodation but ideal location as it was only a ten minute walk to the course.
Would definitely use the accommodation again:-)

Reviewed by
Janet J

From Rugby, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value with everything I needed
Excellent location for Great North Run start point. Didn't expect the fantastic breakfast with both hot and cold food. Ate a little too much! The room is basic and the bed not so comfy,but there were some nice touches like tea and coffee facilities, guides to Newcastle, free wifi or cabled internet, and a toiletries bag including a face cloth, shampoo, shower gel and soap. Check in was a bit confused and we got sent up the wrong flight of stairs when the lift was broken, but they were friendly enough. Shared bathroom (3 shower/toilet facilities per corridor of about 10 rooms). Never had to queue and good and clean. There is a sink in the room also. The campus is deserted at the times the accommodation is available, but it is a 5 minute walk to the main shopping area and loads of cafes and bars. Excellent value and would certainly stay again.

Reviewed by
K Galvin

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent City Centre Room For The Single Traveller
Hi stayed here for the weekend of The Great North Run. The room and facilities were spotlessly clean and for the single traveller on a budget, provided an excellent option.
The breakfast was of good quality and plentiful portions.
Would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Neil W

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a good stay
Excellent. Thanks.

Reviewed by
Derek Ralphs

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good room
You get what it says on the tin a Student room with shared facilities. Room very clean, warm and quiet. Breakfast excellent staff friendly. Convenient for shops and Newcastle City Centre. Could do with an area to meet other guests.

Reviewed by
Mark B

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a nice place for the price
It was very calm and cozy place as not many people stay then. Customer service satisfied me but the only I'd like to tell is the reception is closed at 9:30pm, although I didn't check in, which made me feel a little bit awkward. So, it would be great if this is corrected.

Reviewed by
J Park

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good breakfast saved the day
I felt that the accommodation was fairly basic, and a little uninviting. A coat of fresh paint may have brightened up the drabness of the room. The breakfast, however, was plentiful, and the staff friendly. The room cost seems excessive for what it is - saved only by the good breakfast provided.

Reviewed by
lesley g

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

i realy enjoyed my stay at glaude gibb.
the room was very clean and relaxing, there where two things that needed seeing to, 1 holes in wall at side of bed, and side of bedroom door, and the overbed light did not work, otherwise the room was excellent, and the reception staff where very helpful and polite, and the food in the dinning room was excellent, and dinning room staff where very polite.

Reviewed by
Leslie Stobbs

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value
Excellent for anyone who just needs a single room to stay in and doesn't mind it being basic. It would have been good value even without breakfast thrown in (selection of cereal, cooked and continental). The rooms were very clean and staff friendly and the location pretty central. Would definitely stay again, but probably not as suitable for a couple. Luckily my wife wasn't with me this trip.

Reviewed by
P Walker

From Pudsey, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of men

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next