No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hotel Caravela

Rua Ferreira Lapa 38 , Lisboa, 1150-159
The Hotel Caravela – also known as Residencial Caravela – is a friendly 2 star hotel located in the urban centre of Lisbon. This hotel establishment, founded in 1964 and rehabilitated during the last 10 years, offers 42 cozy and comfortable rooms.
Located in a central area of Lisbon, near the Marquês de Pombal square and the Avenida da Liberdade, this hotel benefits from a great proximity to the main touristic attractions, the main public transportation network (metro/ underground and bus), commercial centres – such as Amoreiras Shopping Centre (www.amoreiras.com), Saldanha Residence (www.saldanharesidence.com), and El Corte Inglês (www.elcorteingles.pt) – and typical Portuguese restaurants.
For those programming a city break or a business visit to the capital, having in mind comfort and affordable prices, Hotel Caravela is the right place to stay.
Picture of Hotel Caravela, Lisboa at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 13 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
53% recommended this accommodation to a friend 61% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent for short stays
I stayed one night, for I had to catch my flight next day. For the money I paid, I have to say it was a very good choice. Staff very helpful and polite, clean room, breakfast was more than enough for me. It is a bit far from the center, but you have three metro stations nearby. I would recommend it to anyone!

Reviewed by
R LOPEZ SANTAMARIA

From Spain
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not bad for the money close to metro for down town shops and airport

Reviewed by
e barral

From Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic hotel in urban area, about 15 minutes walking distance to the old centre of the city
A basic hotel in an urban area, about 15 minutes walking distance to the old city. Close to metro and bus. People are friendly and helpful, breakfast is simple. (A bit more variety and fresh fruits would have made it better.) Unfortunately the road was very noisy during the night on the side of our room.

Reviewed by
E Vis

From OVERIJSE, Belgium
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

VERY NOISY!!!
Room near the street with a lot of noise

Reviewed by
B MAUCOURT

From GUJAN-MESTRAS, France
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

basic hotel for basic needs
If you're planning to stay here, don't expect much and there shouldn't be any surprises. It is located in the wider downtown area, just between two metro stations (Picoas and Marques do Pombal), so you'll be able to get anywhere quite fast. That is definitely a pro, as well as the price for the night I got, which included a very basic breakfast which consists of cereal, two different types of beagles, usual butter and jam, cheese and ham, "coffee" and milk and orange juice. After couple of days you kinda get tired of it, but at least it comes with the price for the room. The room was very spacious as well as the bathroom. Actually the whole hotel looks like someone turned a residential building into a hotel, which I think was the case (the name of the hotel kinda reveals it itself). The complimentary WiFi didn't work in my room, since I was at the end of a hallway (room 501), so I had to purchase access to some other provider. Even when I'd try to use it in the hallway, sometimes it would work and sometimes it wouldn't. The room doesn't come with hairdryer, but in that case you can borrow one at the front desk, but have in mind that the bathroom might not have the power outlet, like mine didn't. There was also a balcony that's a nice touch, but didn't use it at all. Also, the noise from the side street, even 5 floors up was very noticeable, even with the balcony doors closed. So, if you're planning to mostly be out and about and don't care much about these cons, this is the hotel for you.

Reviewed by
Marko S

From Croatia
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant stay
From the time we arrived until we left the staff had been friendly and very helpful. Breakfasts basic but plentiful. Rooms very clean. Very close to the main tourist area. Would certainly recommend for a mini break. John& Chris- Whitehead

Reviewed by
Christine W

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel
Enjoyed staying at the hotel despite it being a bit old fashioned it had comfortable beds with nice staff who were happy to help with any of your needs. The fact it is in a lovely area and only 5 mins walk to the Metro all in all it was a pleasant stay in the lovely city of Lisbon.

Reviewed by
Francis F

From Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel
Great location, nice staff and value for money

Reviewed by
Francis F

From Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very bad welcoming reception - Was very desapointed
When me and my 8 year old daughter arrived in the hotel to check in, straight from the airport after a long trip, the receptionist started to talk to me as if she did not want us there.She started to make a big deal of small things related with my booking as if she wanted us to go elsewhere. It was rude and inconvenient. I felt discriminated maybe because I'm black and another person who saw the scene had the same impression. If the hotel don't prepare their staff to welcome everybody into their place than they shouldn't open the door to the public because public is "everybody". I will make sure no one I know ever go to that place.

Reviewed by
Z Bexigas

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

accueil
très mal accueilli

Reviewed by
victor da silva

From AMIENS, France
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next