The Cumberland Arms

3

James Place Street, Ouseburn,, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE6 1LD

Price From 153.59 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Excellent

All reviews (24)

100% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Sim S

  • March 2015

Comfortably stay, full of character

Unlikely location overlooking the Ouseburn valley, but a hidden gem.

Large room, large bathroom, great shower, good continental breakfast in room (with real filter coffee) as had to leave early. Clean, quiet. Friendly staff. Parking on road outside was fine.

  • Andrew C

  • March 2015

Gem hidden in Newcastle

Only stopped for one night but had a great,comfortable stay.The room was very spacious and very comfortable.

The breakfast was excellent and the staff friendly. The pub was a blast from the past and got very busy in the evening, great place to stop if your a real ale drinker. When back in Newcastle would definitely stop here again.

  • S Bainbridge

  • December 2014

Superb service with a warm & friendly touch.

Delightful & friendly place with super sized rooms & a beautifully traditional touch.

Traditional fireplaces & beautiful high ceilings complimented a vast & well thought out room. The staff were utterly accommodating & the breakfast was delightful. We will definitely be staying here again. Such a marked standard higher than the usual hotels for the same price. So much more character & charm.

  • christine b

  • December 2014

We had a wonderful stay .staff very friendly and helpful ,room lovely and breakfast served in our room was excellent.

  • Adam S

  • November 2014

Very comfortable stay for weekend in Newcastle

I recently spent two very comfortable nights at the Cumberland Arms for a weekend break in Newcastle.

The rooms were large and very clean and the cooked breakfast was excellent both mornings and helped to soak up some of the alcohol from the night before. It's a bit of a trek from the town centre (20 min) and the station (25 min) but personally I don't mind a bit of a walk. I would definitely stay there again next time I'm in Newcastle.

  • BRIAN AUBREY

  • October 2014

great stay

we had a great stay will be back next year, the room was first class

  • Judith I

  • October 2014

A real Geordie gem

We already knew the Cumberland is a great pub, but weren't sure what to expect of the accommodation.

It was fantastic - spotless, quirky, comfy, fab view and a wonderful breakfast served in our room. We'll make this our hotel of choice whenever we go to Newcastle for a gig from now on.

  • Kirsten H

  • October 2014

Nice and spacious rooms

Large rooms nicely decorated.

Pub was not noisy when staying there on a Friday night. Great choices of real ale's and ciders in pub. No food apart from snacks but restaurants not far. Quiet location at end of street.

  • Jonathan L

  • October 2014

A night at the Cumberland

I hadn't been to Newcastle before so was looking forward to an enjoyable stay.

The Cumberland was an excellent base, well positioned (a ten minute walk to the quayside) in a quiet area but with lots to see around it. The pub itself was just my cup of tea, full of character and great beer. The staff are among the friendliest I have come across, and not in a false way, very genuine. The room was beautiful, again great character and style. Lovely cooked breakfast brought to the room as well. Only downside was that there was no live music on that night but that gives me an excuse to go back again

  • m hutton

  • September 2014

The room was very spacious, very clean.

The bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was lovely and delivered to our room. The value was for money was excellent. Will definitely be staying again