No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Alnwick Youth Hostel

4Visit England Assessed Hostel Ratings explained
34 - 38 Green Batt, Alnwick, NE66 1TU
Alnwick Youth Hostel is located in the centre of the medieval market town of Alnwick in North Northumberland.

Once the town's Court House built in 1856, today the accommodation offered by Alnwick Youth Hostel is somewhat less austere. Its town centre location makes it ideal for a visit to historic Alnwick Castle, the Medieval home of the Dukes of Northumberland which had a starring role in the early Harry Potter films, as well as the neighbouring Alnwick Garden, created by the Duchess of Northumberland. A 15 minute car journey takes you to the endless beaches which form the Northumberland coast, with glorious views of Dunstanburgh, Warkworth and Bamburgh Castles and wildlife havens such as Holy Island and the Farne Isles. Only a short trip inland brings you to the stunning heather clad Cheviot Hills and Border Reiver country.

Opened by HM the Queen in 2011, this 4 star hostel provides quality budget accommodation.
Picture of Alnwick Youth Hostel, Alnwick at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 11 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Premier league Hostel
Very convenient for local bus services - stop just outside the hostel
& standard of cleanliness amongst best of hostels our group has experienced

Reviewed by
Brian H

From Penkridge, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and tidy, good facilities
Clean, recently renovated hostel - stayed in a double en-suite room which was very basic compared to a hotel room, but much cheaper than hotels and B&Bs in the local area. Great place to use as a base for exploring Northumberland, walking or outdoor activities.

Reviewed by
Anthony W

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

YHA
Great setting, good parking,friendly. good value

Reviewed by
Roger M

From Shoreham by Sea, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Alnwick Youth Hostel
Great position, lovely old building, well refurbished, room had just what you need, basic, clean, en suite shower loo and basin, nice fresh white linen, warm.
Communal kitchen looked well equipped..we only made tea, dining room also lovely but we didn't eat there. The chap who welcomed us was warm and friendly and seemed to be able to do everything needed to keep the hostel going and all with a smile! really lovely visit.

Reviewed by
Arabella H

From York, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very clean

Reviewed by
Kate C

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Road Trip
This was an overnight stay on a road trip that included Newcastle, Berwick and Hartlepool.All our other stays were with either Travelodge or Premier Inn and cheaper by at least £13. Having never stayed in a youth hostel before ( I know i'm a bit old to start now ) I was unaware that we had to make our own bed and pay extra for towels.The room was small and very basic, no tea making facilities in the room or T.V. ( I know its a Youth hostel ) The room was clean as was the en-suite,but on the whole to basic for us.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad you found the hostel and your room clean. We work hard to make sure the hostel is clean and welcoming for all our guests. I am sorry though that you didn't find your stay at Alnwick Youth Hostel value for money. We have recently been awarded a 4 star grading from enjoyengland.com, reflecting the fact our facilities are of a high standard. It is true to say that hostels vary to budget chain hostels - no two hostels are the same, and you won't find a fully equipped self catering kitchen, comfy lounge with TV and a book exchange library, free laundry facilities and a games room with a piano in most Travelodge's. We regularly monitor our prices within the local market and are offer good, competitively priced accommodation in comparison. Many of our guests do recognise the value of our unique offering and return time after time. You are welcome to come and stay again. Andrew - Hostel Manager

Reviewed by
Peter C

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Everything was great
I stayed for a night with my husband and two more friends in a 4 bed room. The staff was very kind, giving us information of the most interesting places around to sightseeing. Breakfast was very good and cheap. There is a play room which was cool. They had board games, a pool, a piano...
The hostel was very clean. Nice place. Moreover, Alnwick was worth it to visit, a beautiful town.

Reviewed by
Ana R

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It was an excellent venue, good quality accomodation and facilities and well managed.
Characterful yet modern and high tech in its essential adaptations . Good kitchen facilities if you don't choose to have the freshly prepared hostel food., On the doorstep of Alnwicks historical delights- castle, gardens, there's also the Alnwick Playhouse for theatre and films, exhibitions.
.Public transport to the North and South very good., travelling through beautiful countryside often with coastal views .Many independent shops as well as small well known supermarkets on tap.

Reviewed by
Alison D

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap and cheerful
The accommodation is easy to find and there is a car park just round the corner which is £2 for the day! The room was basic and we had the luxury of our own shower and toilet. Breakfast is provided but at a cost. We didn't do it because we brought our own food but it smelt great coming through the window in the morning! Anyone stopping or visiting Alnwick I would strongly recommend going to The Art House restaurant. We had a fantastic meal there in the evening with amazing food, lovely staff and a great atmospher.

Reviewed by
J Painting

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay.
Very good value, room clean and comfortable staff very friendly and helpfull will visit again.

Reviewed by
Tom Byrne

From Corby, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Group of men

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next