No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Kings Arms Hotel

4Visit Wales Assessed Small Hotel Ratings explained
29, Nevill Street , Abergavenny, NP7 5AA
The Kings Arms Hotel in Abergavenny is a late 16th Century coaching inn, a stunning example of what much of Abergavenny would have looked like before more formal Georgian modifications.

The hotel offers 11 fabulous contemporary en suite bedrooms, a first-class breakfast, excellent food from Jim Hamilton and his team, and a function room to suit any special occasion.

Abergavenny is in the heart of the Brecon Region of Wales with access to a range of outdoor activities including walking, horse riding, canoeing, fishing and paragliding. All of this in breath-taking countryside.

The Kings Arms Hotel offers a warm and friendly welcome to all our visitors...
Picture of Kings Arms Hotel, Abergavenny at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 21 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My stay at this great pub located in the heart of the town was fab. The local ales, evening meal and local breakfast were a delight and the room was extremely comfortable.
Fantastic, well done.

Reviewed by
Chris L

From Southport, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Real gem
If you like small character hotels with great food and service, and really excellently appointed comfortable and clean rooms, then this hotel is for you. The breakfast staff were charming and friendly. I'd definitely book here again.

Reviewed by
James Scourse

From Porthaethwy, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely hotel very friendly proprieters. modernised without losing it's character, just remember
to duck when using the doorways!!! I was ok, i'm only 4'11.
Food very good and all locally sourced.
Definately plan to return soon

Reviewed by
J Dackins

From Pontypridd, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel
We had a lovely night's stay in the Kings Arms - they couldn't do enough for us and the service was extremely friendly. I would definitely come back and stay again.

Reviewed by
Kelly R

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A gem!
We received a fabulously warm and friendly welcome on our arrival and loved the décor and feel of the place. We received an upgrade to room 2 and the room was wonderful! A four poster bed, flat screen TV, lovely bathroom and all you need for a great stay. The staff really couldn't do enough. We got soaked attempting to get to a wedding before getting there and arrived on a day where the floods in the town had closed the roads. They put our coats on radiators, provided an extra hairdryer to dry us off and found an umbrella for us to use when we braved the rain once more.
The breakfast was top notch! Wonderfully cooked and to a high standard. This place is an absolute bargain. Check out the amazing artwork they have too. A great little place. We will be back!!

Reviewed by
Janine Taylor

From Taunton, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Booked a double room but had a family room, would've preferred a double as requested. Bed broke when I sat at the end when ready to check out (I am not a heavy person) and no hot vegetarian breakfast option available, only eggs and toast. Other than that, helpful and friendly staff and I would stay again.

Reviewed by
H Constance

From Pontypool, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect pub accomodation
Great room, nicely decked out comfy beds etc. Good value, friendly staff, & excellent food

Reviewed by
paul c

From Stevenage, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend Break
Very friendly and helpful staff, comfortable room and pleasant atmosphere, good value for money

Reviewed by
Rosemary E

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 Happy ladies
I booked a room at The Kings Arms for my friend as a birthday treat, as soon as we arrived we were welcomed by very friendly staff, our room was lovely although a little noisy when the window was open due to the room being over the main road but this didn't really bother us as we were out most of the time..The actual building is gorgeous and seeped in history which both myself and my friend loved, the gentleman who was in charge on our visit was informative and friendly and made us feel very welcome,,My friend and i both work in the Healthcare profession and have extremely stressful and busy jobs, so this was a treat for us both to have a little bit of well earned rest and relaxation,we were really happy with our stay here and would recommend it to anyone

Reviewed by
L Badman

From Pontypool, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent!
Everything about the Kings Arms was wonderful. I would recommend them to the world and his wife!

Reviewed by
george petersen

From Bracknell, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next