No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Green Dragon

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
16 Market Place, , , Bedale, DL8 1EQ
The Green Dragon is a 17th Century Inn, situated in the heart of Bedale. We are delighted to hold a Cask Marque certificate for our fine ales & our Festival of Ales events are a must. We are proud to be known locally as THE venue for LIVE music in Bedale with fantastic nights of Blues & Rock. 2014 looks like another great year for music with new bands performing & some old favourites. Looking forward to 2015, BAMFest is also returning in May & rooms are already filling up so book soon to avoid disappointment. See our events pages for forthcoming bands & extend your stay in one of our six comfortable letting rooms and dance the night away knowing your bed is close by. Please note that our king rooms are situated directly above the bar, therefore during the weekend, can be noisier than the double rooms on the top floor. We offer rooms on a room only basis with the option of purchasing a hearty cooked breakfast on your arrival. We do however, supply a continental breakfast free of charge. All rooms are stocked with cereals, tea, coffee, crisps, biscuits, hot chocolate, juice & milk. We are passionate about cutting food waste & ask that those wishing to have the continental option, please inform us on arrival and we stock your fridge with fruit, yogurts, croissants etc.
Picture of The Green Dragon, Bedale at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 33 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
75% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant town and welcoming hotel
Booked at short notice, we found the staff both amenable and welcoming. The bonus was that the pub has an entry in the Good Beer Guide and the beers were indeed of an excellent standard. Although there was some miscommunication about us both being vegetarians the manager cooked up a very acceptable breakfast.

Reviewed by
John Holder

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Good
Would recommend this place for a bargain overnight stay for a couple.

Reviewed by
Christopher C

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

-
-

Reviewed by
L Gray

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Interesting!
Manager was very friendly and the fresh milk, orange juice and cereal in the room was nice. Room was slightly tired but fine for the money.

Reviewed by
Chris G

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

On arrival found that the staff and the local customers of the Green Dragon were very helpful and friendly. We were only staying the one night and found the room very comfortable.

Reviewed by
Derek Moore

From Tamworth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noise is the problem here!
If it is not the air conditioning unit right outside the bedroom window then it will be the extractor fans from the other en suites in the building if not these then it will be the band playing in the bar until 23.30 or the noise from the punters as the place has a late 1am license, so what I am saying is expect noise and not a great night’s sleep.
Other than that the place scores highly; the ensuite room was well decorated and clean; the ensuite was small but had a bath and shower; the main issue I had was the ancient and small TV which at ceiling level was hard to watch and it did not work properly (desperately needs replacing).
The continental breakfast was in fact a couple of cereal boxes, a bottle of milk and orange juice in the room. Not really a continental breakfast…
The manager was excellent, helpful, honest and knowledgeable however his hands are tied by what he is given to work with and the owners are not stepping up to the task required.
The decision has to be made whether to have loud music and unhappy residents or make sure the residents are aware of the potential for noise before they check in.

Reviewed by
C T

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

green dragon!. met George. didnt meet the Dragon..!!!
the landlord was one of the most helpful people we have come across in all our journeys, very conversational, able to give good advice on places to visit. nothing was too much trouble. there was a good band on the Saturday night. good breakfast`s.. a very happy visit. thank you.. yes the building wants updating a bit, but its a good pub with good ale. I am 6"3 and the bed didn't seem long enough, but hay, I slept well enough. All in all an enjoyable break.

Reviewed by
John kelsey

From scunthorpe, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Green dragon Bedale
Brilliant value for money and very welcoming, great breakfast.

Reviewed by
V Stephen

From Guisborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

our stay
Was made to feel very welcome the room was clean and tidy though a bit out dated only downside was the stairs.

Reviewed by
B Hutchison

From Kirkcaldy, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

comfortable no fuss, just what I wanted
came with my bike during the Tour de France, they quickly and showed me to my room, and let me take my bike up the stairs in the room with me. Good shower in my room. Had a pint down stairs off to bed in front of the telly. Comfy bed, cereal in the room handy for an early start. Little bit of noise from other guests a bit worn here and there but totally fine for the money.

Reviewed by
Richard H

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next