No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Green Dragon

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
16 Market Place, , , Bedale, DL8 1EQ
The Green Dragon is a 17th Century Inn, situated in the heart of Bedale. We are delighted to hold a Cask Marque certificate for our fine ales & our Festival of Ales events are a must. We are proud to be known locally as THE venue for LIVE music in Bedale with fantastic nights of Blues & Rock. 2014 looks like another great year for music with new bands performing & some old favourites. Looking forward to 2015, BAMFest is also returning in May & rooms are already filling up so book soon to avoid disappointment. See our events pages for forthcoming bands & extend your stay in one of our six comfortable letting rooms and dance the night away knowing your bed is close by. Please note that our king rooms are situated directly above the bar, therefore during the weekend, can be noisier than the double rooms on the top floor. We offer rooms on a room only basis with the option of purchasing a hearty cooked breakfast on your arrival. We do however, supply a continental breakfast free of charge. All rooms are stocked with cereals, tea, coffee, crisps, biscuits, hot chocolate, juice & milk. We are passionate about cutting food waste & ask that those wishing to have the continental option, please inform us on arrival and we stock your fridge with fruit, yogurts, croissants etc.
Picture of The Green Dragon, Bedale at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 28 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
75% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay
We stumbled upon the Green Dragon after looking for a night away with some live music. We were not disappointed.
Room could do with a slight update but it was clean and warm, staff were very friendly, breakfast was great and the beer well looked after (and more-ish).
If we get a chance to return we will. Many thanks Green Dragon.

Reviewed by
Ian H

From York, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One Night Stay
Fine for one night. Room was small, but comfortable, bathroom fine, and breakfast excellent. Good value.

Reviewed by
Graham J

From Macclesfield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great pub in bedale
Just got back from bedale and had a great night stay at the green dragon good clean room. Hot water excellent staff and great beer live bands on most weekends so we will be back

Reviewed by
Keith L

From Chester le Street, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and comfortable
We were greeted by friendly staff who showed us to our rooms. Both rooms had fridges and as much tea/coffee and hot chocolate you could wish for. A pint of milk and 2 bottles of orange plus biscuits and breakfast cereals.
Would stay here again.

Reviewed by
vanessa b

From York, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay
We had a great time, staff were very friendly, room was very clean. Would recommend to other people.

Reviewed by
L Truman

From LINCOLN, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Break in Bedale
We had a good stay at the Green Dragon. The room (5) was basic but clean and the bed very comfortable. The inclusive breakfast too was very basic, but the room represented great value for money. We didn't opt for the cooked breakfast. The pub itself was welcoming. They don't do food, but there are several options for eating within a short walk ranging from the chipshop (good chips!), several pubs doing bar meals and a cople of indian restaurants. We stayed over Friday night and, true to their word, the band played but was not overbearing on the top floor, and they finished on time. On balance, an enjoyable stay and great value for money.

Reviewed by
Andrew M

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money
The staff were very accommodating from start to finish. Everyone was friendly and nothing was too much bother. We liked the relaxed approach everyone adopted, something which was conducive to 'chilling' away from it all.

Reviewed by
Christine B

From Skipton, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great pub, great hosts, excellent breakfast!
Thoroughly enjoyed our nights stay at the Green Dragon.
Yes, the pub, and rooms, may be a bit "tired", but the warm welcome, even warmer bar (!) and excellent range of well kept beer more than compensate for these cosmetic shortcomings.
The (optioinal) cooked breakfast is well worth the £5 investment!
A delight to have fresh milk in the in-room fridge for the complementary coffee and cereals.
Only "noise" issues were from the fridge (temporarily unplugged!) and the quirky toilet "waste" system.
Glad we found this gem of a pub and we'll definitely return, whether staying or not, for the band nights - so great to discover somewhere with a passion for live music.

Reviewed by
Ian L

From Skipton, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Green Dragon - good fo the price charged
I'd stay again, nice little pub in the centre of the village. Room was fine, bathroom very old fashioned but good enough.
A fair place to stay for the rate charged.

Reviewed by
stuart m

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely market town to visit.
Nice little pub type accomodation.

Reviewed by
Chris H

From Dukinfield, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 Next