No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Tithe Barn Bed and Breakfast

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Tithebarn, Capernwray Road Over Kellet, Carnforth, LA6 1BZ
Welcome to Tithe Barn Bed and Breakfast.

Tithe Barn is a newly renovated 19th century barn conversion on the edge of the pretty village of Over Kellet. Set in the rugged countryside of the Lancashire / Cumbria border, it enjoys some of the most spectacular views of the area. To the west is Morecambe Bay, the east views are of the Howgill Fells in Yorkshire, and the majestic Lakeland Fells sit proudly to the North. The barn is also home to our pets - Aylesbury ducks, Silkie bantams, and a very friendly border collie cross.

The Barn has three bedrooms, all ensuite with tea and coffee making facilities, television and free wi fi. We can sometimes accommodate children over 6 and pets, but check this BEFORE you book. There is plenty of onsite parking, and secure storage for equipment such as diving gear and fishing tackle. There is also space for drying wet walking gear.
Picture of Tithe Barn Bed and Breakfast, Carnforth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 18 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All Round Excellence
Very welcoming & friendly B&B.

Reviewed by
G Vaudrey

From Whitehaven, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't blink you will miss this sleepy village treat.
One night stay, made very welcome from the start of our stay, this continued until we departed. John and Christine fantastic host. We felt we had know then for an age, would have loved to spent more time with them both. Accommodation absolutely wonderful. Lot of thought gone into the quality of fixtures and fittings with no expense spared , you feel very privileged and comfortable in this accommodation. This is one place not to be missed. Allow time in your itinery to take advantage of this property and the perfect hosts. We arrived on our motorcycles and within 10 min the garage was cleared for our bikes, with no question asked. Thank you both, we will return. And are looking forward to that special break.

Reviewed by
Michael McNally

From Nelson, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm-hearted hosts in a lovely spot
We were warm-hearted welcomed, the accommodation is really lovely. It was quiet, the beds were convenient. Great tastefull breakfast, family like treated. We really enjoyed our stopover short stay on our way to Folkstone.

Reviewed by
I Funk

From , Germany
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had a great two night stay, made to feel exceptionally welcome by Christine and Paul. Fantastic breakfast looking over the surrounding countryside. Would definitely return!

Reviewed by
Peter A

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely friendly couple. Superb accommodation. Fantastic breakfast. Definitely recommended.

Reviewed by
S Micklethwaite

From Rochdale, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Both Paul and Christine made us very welcome. It was a great location to visit the local area and Tithe Barn was ideal place to come back to at the end of the day.

Reviewed by
R Clark

From Andover, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tithe Barn
Top marks for everything but especially the breakfast and friendly hosts, friendly but not overbearing.

Reviewed by
colin sumner

From moffat, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hosts and location..there is a small but though
Had a lovely stay here - Paul and Christine made us feel very welcome, lovely house, great location, loved the animals wandering around (ducks mainly..). Charming village, good food at local pub. Double Room was 'cosy' although everything we needed was there. My small concern? For someone on my limited budget, it was quite expensive for off season, and for that money I would have liked the extra non-mainstream touches. Like maybe a ketcup bottle instead of small cheap sachets, fresh milk in room instead of small UHT cartons... That may seem picky for some, but its the details that make it special for me, and for the money, maybe not an unreasonable request.

Reviewed by
Paul S

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

made feel really welcome
Lovely homely feel. Breakfast was wonderful Paul and Christine very friendly and helpful Wonderful views of the country side. Many thanks

Reviewed by
M Smith

From Bacup, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Totally enjoyed our stay! Our hosts could not have been better!

Reviewed by
Geoffrey Niven

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next