The Rose & Crown

2

96 98, Rochdale Road Greetland, Halifax, HX4 8HR

Price From 86.39 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (17)

82% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • C Gooch

  • January 2015

New Years Eve

  • donna c

  • September 2014

great welcome and very accomodating for us and the dogs

shower temperature a bit over the place,new hair dryer needed current one very sticky,overall though a great stay would reccommend

  • Kat S

  • September 2014

Cosy dog friendly fabulous B&B

Set in the beautiful hills of Halifax, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay with our dog at The Rose & Crown.

No extra charge for pets, with a lovely homely feel. The room was small but perfectly functional with the added bonus of a 4 poster bed. The en suite was clean & tidy, everything we needed & only a few miles from Yorkshire Sculpture Park.

Thanks ever so much for the hospitality, we would stay again.

  • Colin F

  • July 2014

Review

Good atmosphere.

Room clean and slightly tired looking. Room very small and barely enough room for a double bed. With that said for a one night stay it is a good place to crash for the money oaid. No complaints.

  • g yates

  • June 2014

excellent stay

Although the room was small and basic, it was very clean.

there were tea and coffee facilities and clean towels. customer service was second to none, Andy and Jet made me and my husband very welcome. overall it was good value for money and we even stayed on an extra night, as our daughter had just given us the best gift ever- our fist grandchild. she was staying at the calderdale royal hospital so the rose and crown was an excellent base for us.

  • Neil B

  • June 2014

Disapointing stay

The host was pleasant enough and the place was generally clean & the pub is in a lovely location but I’m afraid that’s where the positives end.

The room bordered on claustrophobic so it was necessary for the windows to be open at all times which made the noise from the main road outside a constant nuisance and the smell from the smokers standing outside and below, quite unpleasant. During my 3 night stay the room was not ‘refreshed’ even once and I had to attend to emptying the bin myself. The advertised wifi did not work and the problem was blamed on the thickness of the walls in the pub. This meant that I could not complete any work in the evenings. On the final morning there was no toilet roll in the shared bathroom which was most inconvenient and the previous occupant had left it in such a mess I felt compelled to clean it up in case anyone thought it was me. Not a pleasant experience all round & I'm afraid that I will not be staying there again

  • Wendy H

  • April 2014

Warm welcome

Very warm welcome in the pub, however room very small but adequate with tea/coffee making facilities.

  • Elsie Botham

  • February 2014

True Northern Hospitality at its best.

The service and help at the Rose & Crown were second to none.

Andy had texted me during our trip up from Portsmouth and after explaining that we would be later than expected due to terrible weather conditions he assured us that this was not a problem. When we eventually arrived we were given a very warm welcome by Jet who also offered us supper on the house. Thursday is a music night there and we spent a lovely relaxing evening chatting with the very friendly staff and locals. Just what we needed after a long and very exhausting trip. We were attending a funeral the following afternoon. Jet gave us the directions we needed to get there and both her and Andy insisted that there was no need to vacate the room at the stated time. An absolute bonus considering the circumstances and time of year. We cannot thank them enough for their help and hospitality and have no hesitation in recommending them to one and all. Thank you again.

  • s cutler

  • February 2014

when we arrived there was nobody in the pub to show us to our room it was all locked up the lady in the bedsit had to phone the landlady and let her know we had arrived and we had to wait outside until she arrived, although this was only a couple of minutes.

when we got to our room there was a pair of dirty socks on the floor, don't think was cleaned very well. on the second night of our stay the boiler stopped working and we slept fully dressed in the bed, we weren't impressed. we left there about 8 am and rang the landlady up later that morning to say that we weren't happy and she said they had problems the week before with the boiler and that she had now put an electric heater in the room, it didn't help us when we were freezing.

  • Mark S

  • December 2013

Friendly staff