No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Rose & Crown

2Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
96 98, Rochdale Road Greetland, Halifax, HX4 8HR
18th Century Coaching inn just on the edge of the countryside and a whole host of visitor attractions with cheap but comfortable rooms. Breakfast is not available but a very good cafe is just at the bottom of the road within walking distance. Full free view TV and tea/coffee making facilities in every room. Evening meals available with prior arrangement
Picture of The Rose & Crown, Halifax at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 16 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great welcome and very accomodating for us and the dogs
shower temperature a bit over the place,new hair dryer needed current one very sticky,overall though a great stay would reccommend

Reviewed by
donna c

From Belper, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cosy dog friendly fabulous B&B
Set in the beautiful hills of Halifax, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay with our dog at The Rose & Crown.
No extra charge for pets, with a lovely homely feel. The room was small but perfectly functional with the added bonus of a 4 poster bed. The en suite was clean & tidy, everything we needed & only a few miles from Yorkshire Sculpture Park.
Thanks ever so much for the hospitality, we would stay again.

Reviewed by
Kat S

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review
Good atmosphere. Room clean and slightly tired looking. Room very small and barely enough room for a double bed. With that said for a one night stay it is a good place to crash for the money oaid. No complaints.

Reviewed by
Colin F

From Liskeard, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent stay
Although the room was small and basic, it was very clean. there were tea and coffee facilities and clean towels.
customer service was second to none, Andy and Jet made me and my husband very welcome. overall it was good value for money and we even stayed on an extra night, as our daughter had just given us the best gift ever- our fist grandchild. she was staying at the calderdale royal hospital so the rose and crown was an excellent base for us.

Reviewed by
g yates

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disapointing stay
The host was pleasant enough and the place was generally clean & the pub is in a lovely location but I’m afraid that’s where the positives end. The room bordered on claustrophobic so it was necessary for the windows to be open at all times which made the noise from the main road outside a constant nuisance and the smell from the smokers standing outside and below, quite unpleasant. During my 3 night stay the room was not ‘refreshed’ even once and I had to attend to emptying the bin myself. The advertised wifi did not work and the problem was blamed on the thickness of the walls in the pub. This meant that I could not complete any work in the evenings. On the final morning there was no toilet roll in the shared bathroom which was most inconvenient and the previous occupant had left it in such a mess I felt compelled to clean it up in case anyone thought it was me. Not a pleasant experience all round & I'm afraid that I will not be staying there again

Reviewed by
Neil B

From North Shields, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm welcome
Very warm welcome in the pub, however room very small but adequate with tea/coffee making facilities.

Reviewed by
Wendy H

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

True Northern Hospitality at its best.
The service and help at the Rose & Crown were second to none. Andy had texted me during our trip up from Portsmouth and after explaining that we would be later than expected due to terrible weather conditions he assured us that this was not a problem. When we eventually arrived we were given a very warm welcome by Jet who also offered us supper on the house. Thursday is a music night there and we spent a lovely relaxing evening chatting with the very friendly staff and locals. Just what we needed after a long and very exhausting trip. We were attending a funeral the following afternoon. Jet gave us the directions we needed to get there and both her and Andy insisted that there was no need to vacate the room at the stated time. An absolute bonus considering the circumstances and time of year. We cannot thank them enough for their help and hospitality and have no hesitation in recommending them to one and all. Thank you again.

Reviewed by
Elsie Botham

From Ferrieres, France
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

when we arrived there was nobody in the pub to show us to our room it was all locked up the lady in the bedsit had to phone the landlady and let her know we had arrived and we had to wait outside until she arrived, although this was only a couple of minutes.
when we got to our room there was a pair of dirty socks on the floor, don't think was cleaned very well.
on the second night of our stay the boiler stopped working and we slept fully dressed in the bed, we weren't impressed. we left there about 8 am and rang the landlady up later that morning to say that we weren't happy and she said they had problems the week before with the boiler and that she had now put an electric heater in the room, it didn't help us when we were freezing.

Reviewed by
s cutler

From Grimsby, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff

Reviewed by
Mark S

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a little gem
Only stayed one night (what a fool!!) if only i had known what a wee gem of a place i had stumbled on!! beautiful room (4 poster) very quiet and peaceful. intended going wandering, however, decided just to eat in the pub (last food orders 5.45pm) and it was all cooked fresh! (jen actually peeled the potatoes!!) burger 'N' chips in a basket! SORTED!, then live band playing 80s covers!!! what an awesome night, cheers guys !!! see you again soon!

Reviewed by
w tully

From Dunfermline, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next