No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Albany Guest House

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
409 CHEPSTOW ROAD , NEWPORT, NP19 8HL
Steve and Christine Bradley would like to welcome you to our family-run guest house. Ideally located in Newport – the gateway between England and Wales - we offer you all the advantages of a traditional guest house with full bed and breakfast facilities and all the comforts and convenience that you can expect for your stay.

Our nine bedrooms all offer you showers, wash basins, colour TVs, coffee and tea-making facilities, hair dryers and alarm clocks – four of our rooms are available with full en-suite facilities. For your convenience there is also a car park for our guests securely located behind the guest house. So, whether you are visiting Newport for business or for pleasure, we can offer you a friendly and professional service that really will make your stay with us a special one.

For more information, please take a look around our website or contact us directly. All that remains for us to say is Croeso i Cymru – Welcome to Wales!
Picture of Albany Guest House, NEWPORT at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 18 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I thought the Albany Guest House extremly good value for money
The prpriaters of the guest house made me feel very welcome, and couldnt have been nicer
I was upgraded to an ensuite as i was staying for three days, at no extra cost
The vegatarian breakfast was greatly appreciated as i was attending the golf at Celtic Mannor, so needed a good start to the day
I was very impressed with the veggie breakfast, i have stayed at four star hotels that dont offer this, so think for the price it was excellent
This was my second vist to The Albany, and if i go to Newport again would deffinately stay again.
I had a very pleasurable and relaxing stay

Reviewed by
christine g

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Recommended!
Friendly welcome combined with a professional appearance. Excellent food served without any delay. I had a front (twin) room 1st floor, which was comfortable, clean, and couldn't be faulted. It's a large property, set back off the road on a drive. There's parking for a half dozen cars at the rear, with ample extra parking opposite the property. It's only 5 minutes from the city centre by car. Plenty of local shops which are open until late and a local pub less than a minute away on the main road. I'd be happy to stay here again!

Reviewed by
W Hewitt

From Burry Port, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfy and homely
Steve and Christine made me very welcome and serve a great breakfast (even for vegetarians!). Very comfy and welcoming. Not the most glam, but clean and tidy, very good value for money and you couldn't ask for nicer hosts.

Reviewed by
C Lyon

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A gem of a place to stay
Went to South Wales for the European Cup Finals and very glad that I chose to stay at The Albany Guest House. It is well situated for Newport Station which was just a 16 minute train journey into Cardiff.
Our twin room was spotlessly clean and had everything that we needed with en-suite facilities, wifi, tv and tea/coffee making facilities.
Our hosts Christine and Steve were very helpful and friendly. We mentioned that we had some beers and it would be nice to be able to keep them chilled and Christine provided a mini fridge for our room. Steve cooked an excellent breakfast using very good ingredients.
The Albany has a nice atmosphere and was like a home away from home. The on-site parking is also a plus.

Reviewed by
John Moore

From Hayes, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Late night Friday stay in Newport
Very neat & tidy. V quiet & encouraged to be v quiet. Landlord v accommodating

Reviewed by
Nick W

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One of the friendliest B&Bs I have ever stayed in and located within easy distance of the town.
Have stayed at The Albany before, and during both times was made to feel very welcome. The hoteliers, Steve and Christine, went over and above the call of duty to cater for us and provided a hearty breakfast.

Reviewed by
Margaret Harrison

From Hounslow, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value
Our host met us on arrival and was very helpful. Breakfast was excellent would use the hotel again

Reviewed by
Ashley Redmond

From Kings Langley, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Albany Guest House, Newport
Friendly and efficient service - breakfast was very good. A little more flexibility on time of breakfast would be good i.e. 7.30 - 8.00am on weekdays.
The room was warm when electric heater was on but this couldn't be left on all day - hence the room was cold on returning at the end of the day.
Room had sink and shower unit - toilet served three guest rooms. Cleanliness was excellent and TV with multiple channels was a pleasant surprise.

Reviewed by
A Crebbin

From Port Erin, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Albany Guest House
The owners were friendly. The room was adequate for my needs although I do prefer an en suite toilet as opposed to a shared one but it wasn't a problem. The guest house was clean and tidy. The hotel is good walk from the station so you may prefer to get a taxi.
The quality of the breakfast was excellent.

Reviewed by
Mike Wheeler

From Thames Ditton, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Acceptable

Reviewed by
Albert H

From Netherlands
Who stayed in November 2013

Group of men

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next