No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Awel Mor

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
29, Marine Terrace , Criccieth, LL52 0EL
The Awel Môr is a large victorian terraced house with accommodation set over four floors. Situated directly on the sea front in the delightful seaside town of Criccieth the Awel Mor is to the west of Criccieth Castle and looks directly over Cardigan Bay, to Harlech Castle and to the mountains beyond. We offer a range of relaxing en-suite rooms (8 rooms in total), with some having spectacular sea views. Our south facing Guest Lounge is an ideal place to sit and read the newspapers or to chat to friends old and new.

Whether you chose the healthy or hearty option, we offer a good quality breakfast using local produce in our comfortable dining room; the perfect way to start the day.

The town centre with its variety of small shops, pubs and excellent restaurants is but a short stroll from the Awel Môr as is the historic castle.

We are ideally situated for touring the Lleyn Peninsula, exploring the surrounding coastal villages, visiting the famous Portmeirion and riding the Ffestiniog or Welsh Highland Railways, to name but a few . The Snowdonia National Park is just a short drive away making it a superb location for walkers, climbers, cyclists, families and the many other outdoor enthusiasts.
Picture of Awel Mor, Criccieth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 55 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
98% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Probably the best guest house we have stayed in. Fantastic room with sea view. Lovely breakfast. Martin and Judith were the perfect hosts. I would highly recommend this guest house to anyone and can't wait to stay there again.

Reviewed by
Carol W

From Salford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cracking hotel in criccieth
warm and friendly reception.clean tidy and well decorated room.good food and service what more could you need.

Reviewed by
adrian h

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very pleasant stay

Stayed a couple of nights, wish we could have stayed longer! Greeted by the owner and immediately felt welcome . Room spotless and very comfortable. Delicious breakfast!!

Reviewed by
W Rodgers

From Telford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcoming and friendly.
Very much felt at home here. Was able to relax in the lounge and order drinks from the bar and chat with other guests. Food excellent and even has a veggie breakfast with hash browns and veggie sausages. Got to chat with the owners who made us feel very welcome. Plenty of humour.

Reviewed by
R Hurden

From Sittingbourne, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short seaside break
Felt very much at home in this friendly B and B. Clean, comfortable, spacious, nicely decorated accomodation. Food excellent. Can't fault this place.

Reviewed by
H Davies

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1st class service, 5 star breakfast!
Booked at short notice, we didn't expect a sea-view room and didn't get one, but that was fine because the room we were given was clean, cosy and the bed was comfy - nothing else needed!
Our hosts were lovely, and made us feel very welcome. We enjoyed our stay so much we booked an extra night. The breakfast menu was excellent - almost spoilt for choice, and perfectly cooked.

Reviewed by
Lesley B

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend break
A very enjoyable stay with friendly hosts.

Reviewed by
Peter Howells

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Super B&B
Fabulous seafront b&b in a charming village, rooms comfortable and airy and very clean with en suite bathroom. The breakfast was yummy fresh fruit salad , cereals, yoghurts followed by full cooked breakfast, the owners made us very welcome indeed and we intend to return there again.

Reviewed by
suzanne stack

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 day stay at Awel Mor
Spent a couple of nights at Awel Mor this week and have mixed opinions on the service. The room was small but clean and acceptable. The breakfast was okay, although the time slot was very tight, 8am til 8.45am. I was staying in Wales to go fishing and the biggest issue I had was that on arrival I was informed they had a policy of not allowing any fishing equipment to be kept in the rooms. I explained that my tackle had a value in excess of £5000 and was met with a couldn't care less attitude by the owner. "Leave it in your car, it will be safe", was the response. "We have had issues with anglers in the past". Sorry, but that is just not good enough. If your policy is anti-angling then state this in your advert. I would certainly not have stayed there had I known and will not be returning. I have never, ever had that problem before in dozens of trips all over the UK. Very, very disappointed indeed I'm afraid.

Reviewed by
A Sampson

From Fleetwood, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Awel Mor Experience
The owners were very friendly and welcoming. They made you feel at home straight away and gave valuable information about the local area and places to see and eat. The location directly next to the sea was brilliant with fantastic views across the peninsula and bay. The room was comfortable and clean with all the basic facilities tea coffee etc.

Reviewed by
A Waites

From Ilkley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next