No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Angel Hotel

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Angel Hotel, New Quay Road , Whitby, YO21 1DH

Simply the Guest Awards Winner

Categories: Beach & Historic 2013
Based on 100% genuine guest reviews.

The Angel Hotel is situated on the harbourside, close to the swing bridge over the River Esk, joining east and west Whitby. It has a long history in the town, as it was described in the local directory of 1893 as ‘an old established commercial inn’.
It is the perfect place from which to explore the traditional maritime town of Whitby, one of the true delights of the Yorkshire coast.
The hotel has recently undergone a multi-million pound refurbishment.

Picture of The Angel Hotel, Whitby at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 113 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Experience
JD Wetherspoon - Love them or hate them, they just seem to continue to get it right.
Room was about the spec of a premier Inn for about the same price as a premier Inn. Staff were good and helpful, breakfast was hearty and inexpensive. Other pub companies need to get their act together and follow this business model

Reviewed by
Mark J

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay at the angel hotel Whitby
We stayed for one night t the angel hotel. We were impressed with the facilities and the room. It was tastefully decorated hd ad everything we needed. The staff were friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
N Allerston

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short stay
Nice and central, close to the railway station. Could have done with a magnifying mirror for makeup in the bathroom. Stayed on the 3rd floor and was quiet, no noise drifting up from the bars.
Ideal for a widow, safe and central

Reviewed by
LYNNE B

From Northallerton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short stay for one nite turned in to a two nite stay
Will definitely stay their again every one so friendly and helpfull rooms are tastefully decorated and spotless

Reviewed by
Jean Crawford

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a breath of few air
This hotel is above a wetherspoons pub and some rooms will be noisy especially at weekends. That being said if you own a pair of ear plugs its worth a visit! Lovely and clean, modern and stylish, we only stayed one night but enjoyed it a lot. Two pillows each would have been appreciated though.

Reviewed by
Holly H

From Brighouse, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location
Nice room refurbished to a high standard, restaurant and bar also very good, central location with views over the river Esk.
Only drawback is no car-park.

Reviewed by
David Taylor

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I Would not stay here again
The photograph of the hotel was misleading. It was part of the weatherspoons chain which was not clear when we booked. We had to wait well over an hour for our food which was advertised as a "handcrafted Sunday lunch" and when it finally came it was all out of a packet and not particularly hot. The bar area and toilets were filthy and there was no excuse for this as there were plenty of staff on duty. My advice - choose somewhere else in Whitby!!

Reviewed by
Martin W

From Stourport on Severn, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Small high window
We enjoyed staying at Witherspoon's hotel as we go to a lot of them frequently, so it was nice and handy staying there.
The let down was the room, only because of the very high window, you couldn't see out and didn't even know whether it was raining or not, we also felt very claustrophobic. We think £69 per night was very over priced. The actually bedroom was modern which we like, also clean.

Reviewed by
joan knibbs

From Street, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My stay
I enjoyed my stay at the angel hotel. I found the staff very attentive and helpful. The bedrooms were comfortable and well designed, with its chic look. I certainly felt special. The food was very reasonably priced, and I felt I could get up at my leisure to go down to the large airy resturant to have my breakfast in the morning. Breakfast and other meals during the course of the day certainly did not burn a hole in my budget. I found the receptionist staff very patient and helpful when we wanted to go to Robin Hood bay and scarborough,and asked for directions they looked it for me and gave me the nearest car parks to make it stress free as possible. The Angel hotel is well located being right in the centre of this idlylic seaside town. I would recommend it and I will certanly be staying there again.
The only thing I would improve I would like to see more avaiable car parking for staying guests which is free, possibly this could be included in the cost of your stay.

Reviewed by
s manning

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay
The welcome was friendly and accommodating and the staff could not have been more helpful, even putting themselves out to rearrange the room we had been given as I am seriously back injured and couldnt manage the few stairs we would have needed to climb to access room. The room itself was large and had everything we needed for an overnight stay. The main problem for me is the lack of parking at the hotel itself but there is public parking very close by. However, we stayed on a sunny Sunday and Whitby was very busy so initially parking was difficult. However, once the crowds left, the parking eased. It was £6 for 24 hours and the ticket is transferrable. A park and ride is being comstructed and this will ease the congestion. There are accessible rooms for people with mobility issues. It would have been good had I known this as our room had a shower over the bath and I couldnt manage it. Do ask on booking if you have mobility issues and I am sure you will be assisted. Again, the staff are this hotels best asset. The position is good and there is very little noise from the road or gulls. Heating\cooling the room can be controlled from reception so do ring down if you are too cold or too warm. Overall, this hotel is well worth a try. It is of a similar standard to a Premier Inn but possibly a little more expensive. It is spotlessly clean and there is a Wetherspoons pub accessible from the back of reception. Once the parking situation gets sorted, we will more than likely stay again.

Reviewed by
Margaret D

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next