No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - NumberSeventyOne Bed and Breakfast

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
71 Fulford Road, , , York, YO10 4BD
No 71 is located just 10 minute walk into city centre, where you can enjoy the historic attractions or a romantic night at amazing sections of restaurants. York is a famous historic city renowned for medieval and Georgian buildings. York is a perfect place to take your family on a break. York is a hotspot for events and entertainment like music, food and drinks, The Viking Festival, Festival of Angels and Christmas markets. In York there is a huge amount of choice for food and drink whether you’re looking for a romantic restaurant or an attractive street café. York is a shopper’s dream where you can find unique antique shops selling vintage jewellery and accessories or explore a mix of designer labels and street names. No 71 is a late Victorian town house bed and breakfast conveniently located just ten minute walk into York city centre. In York you can experience and enjoy historic medieval surroundings including Barbican, York University, York Minster, Jorvik Viking Centre, and Shambles. Our bed and breakfast is family run guest house offering you warm and cosy atmosphere with friendly staff and high levels of service to make you feel welcome. All rooms are en-suite and have flat screen television and facilities to make hot drinks.
Picture of NumberSeventyOne Bed and Breakfast, York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 21 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
76% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The bathroom was sometimes a little smelly but only late at night. Very good beds - very comfortable room.

Reviewed by
S Thompstone

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brian M
Ideally situated just outside the city walls, and a 10 minute walk into the sights. The room we had was one of the smaller rooms and we were quite disappointed. The shower/toilet room was in need of updating up as the white tiles were full of holes from old shelves or hooks. The shower itself was adequate for the slightly-built (although bending over could switch the shower off), a larger framed person may not get in. The continental breakfast was superb.

Reviewed by
Brian M

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really good stay
Really clean modern rooms, very well situated B and B, owner was extremely friendly and helpful! I would have prefered a bigger breakfast with more choice, but overall really enjoyed my stay and would recommend it.

Reviewed by
D Green

From Redcar, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Liz from scotland
Hoteliers friendly and helpful room was okay but felt with little more effort and some niceties like fresh crisp white sheets and white fluffy towels it could be a fantastic wee place.it was so close to centre and beautiful walk along the river. We stayed at number 7 which was noisy with traffic but this did not bother us as it was worth being so central.

Reviewed by
Colin W

From Greenock, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location
We would recommend this guest house for your short stay in York, easy 10 minute walk along the river to the city centre where there is a wealth of things to do. Hosts extremely friendly and helpful. Ideal location. Would definitely stay here again if we ever return to York.

Reviewed by
Karen H

From Verwood, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I stayed for 1 night and was welcomed by Angie who is lovely. The room covered exactly what I needed: clean room, comfy bed, neat ensuite bathroom (small shower) with TV. Free car parking to the rear and a nice breakfast of cereal, toast (various bread/rolls), fruit and yoghurt. I was even offered the use of the kitchen area for study that night. A lovely welcoming B&B.

Reviewed by
S Horne

From Hebburn, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Number 71
The B & B was in a perfect location to enable us to explore York. Only a 10 minute walk to the centre. The room was beautiful and immaculately clean. The only thing we found about the room was a damp patch to the ceiling which was unsightly and the shower did not drain well, which we informed the manager of on our check out. These criticisms however did not change our opinion of our beautiful room.
The breakfast......continental and excellent selection, however it was an Aldi supermarket special!! Now we have no problem with Aldi, however for the price of the room we would expect a slightly higher quality.
As stated the room was beautiful, however we got this for a reduced rate, and we wouldn't be willing to pay the full asking price of £78 per night. We would only stay again if we got the room at a reduced rate.

Reviewed by
Suzanne T

From Bury St Edmunds, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Potential not realised
No 71 is a great location, with an easy 10 minutes riverside walk into the city centre. Great buffet breakfast and very friendly and helpful people. However rooms let down by rather bad layouts (nowhere really to sit) and cheap cronky furniture. Also we had to ask for rooms to be tidied and bins emptied. Bit odd that. A little more effort could make this a really good place to stay, but that potential is not yet realised.

Reviewed by
Stephen Potter

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely accommodation. Light airy room, shame the windows couldn't open, but apart from that everything was great. Nothing was too much trouble.

Reviewed by
K Thomas

From Dagenham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Choose NO.71
Very friendly and helpful owners. Spotlessly clean comfortable and affordable accommodation situated just 10 minutes walk away from the centre of York. I would have no hesitation in staying at NO 71 if I revisit York.

Reviewed by
John S

From Gillingham, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next