Reviews - The Trecarn Hotel


Palermo Road Babbacombe, Torquay, TQ1 3NW

Price From 58.49 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

All reviews (11)

45% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • J Greenaway

  • November 2015

Two double standard rooms

Rooms definitely need to be refurbished.

One of the rooms had a very bad sewerage or drain smell which made the one night stay very uncomfortable. Complained but just told they would inform maintenance. Very basic rooms. Bar, dining room and staff very nice and friendly.

  • Fay S

  • October 2015

Food and restaurant staff were poorest encountered in 3 weeks touring UK.

Reception staff excellent and bedroom ok but bathroom less than presentable.. Chipboard cabinet disintergrating. Requires a smoking area well away from the main front door. Bad enough the amount of smoke wafting through lounge in the evening but to enter the lobby in the morning to find it full of smoke because both sets of doors wide open and half a dozen or so smokers standing just outside, not at all nice.

  • Patricia O

  • September 2015

Great value, friendly staff, for a BUDGET hotel.

Grab a ground floor room for the free wifi, which doesn't require a password.

Stay on the top floor at the front of the hotel and receive very decent 3G mobile signal, which is severely lacking (very patchy!) pretty much all over Devon, including within the towns and Torquay itself. As others have said, be at breakfast at least 30 minutes before breakfast ends to avoid missing out. The sausages were poor, the bacon and hash browns good, and the English is served (by yourself, all you can eat) buffet style, with fried and/or scrambled eggs, tinned tomatoes, baked beans, and black pudding. Juices, cereals and toast also available with croissants. Ask for your own jug of water and one of the many available breakfast staff will provide it. Bingo, song and dance follows dinner (which again is self service from the buffet) and rooms are very modest and oldy worldly. Nothing fancy at all about the rooms, but they were exactly what any seasoned traveller would expect for the money. We were very happy with ours, dead simple and low cost. Suited the nature of the stay.

Staff are British and European mix, very nice people. Especially grateful to have met Tom from Hungry who made us feel exceedingly welcome and was a wonderful host. Big thanks to him. Small garden and spacious area out front enjoyed by the smokers. We people watched as people who didn't know better threw dozens of butts on the ground rather than use the ashtrays 20 feet away. I was up early and watched the poor staff pick these up at 5.30am. Don't be one of them... Close to shops, but a taxi ride or long walk from Torquay town centre. It's a coaching hotel, so expect a few coach loads of 60+ tourists. I'd stay again. It's everything I expected it to be, and more, plus served the purpose of saving us money on our stay in Torquay. Limited private parking in the hotel, but plenty of free spaces on the street right outside. Go for it.

  • David Wilson

  • September 2015

Trecarn hotel room 165

Only stayed one night bedroom good bathroom to small

  • Barbara Titmarsh

  • August 2015

Hotel from hell

Our room was reserved as a double not twin room.

Only twin room available for 1 night. Although non smoking room stank of smoke. Bed springs were poking up through mattress. We checked out after one night and went elsewhere for remaining 2 nights. There were people complaining about the food being cold and not edible.

  • S Finnerty

  • May 2014

Alright for the price

  • D Whitney

  • May 2014

we never stayed at the hotel, it was untidy/dirty, we found a Travelodge nearby which was excellent

  • Jason R

  • May 2014

Hotel made Lateroom bookers feel separated.

I couldn't help feel a similar reaction and sympathy to M.Magowan's review to this Hotel.

I got the impression that the Hotel only seems to accomodate Parties and Coach loads. I had to say that I was a Lateroom booker at breakfast time, and therefore I was separated and placed in a corner on my own away from the dining area. A slight feeling of alienation here. Don't get me wrong the waiting staff were extremely polite and friendly - that was the only good thing about that place. Yes there was a severe television problem. The TV was an old broken out of date small bulbous SRT, which hadn't been switched to digital, so no signal and the aerial was broken anyway. I asked to get a different TV, but the recptionist said "Well I may have difficulty relocating you. There was storm damage recently!" - I only wanted a TV swap!. Besides - they needed to upgrade to digital anyway, storm damage or not. I didn't have time to move. things were busy that day, hence using Laterooms. My small, cold, unsatifactory, outdated, basic room with a separate white tiled, dark grouted bathroom decor was miserable. In Fawlty Towers there was a classic example of Mr Fawlty going up a flight of stairs, only to come straight back down on some adjacent ones - that is what the layout of the tight corridors were like here and full of Firedoors every five yards!. Believe it or not the fire alarm went off at 6:30 am. Frightened the life out of me. It was a Maze to get out of . I couldn't help notice that this was a good Hotel, but it has somehow annexed to neighbouring buildings and that is where it has become messy I'm afraid to say. They should not treat Lateroom customers any different to anyone else in this case, because we are doing Hotels a service in the fact we are filling in gaps of business for them. I have been happy with Laterooms in the past, but this particular visit was an unfortunate experience.

  • Nicole S

  • April 2014

Excellent hotel

Me & my boyfriend Loved this hotel, it really was lovely, it's definitely a hotel for elder people (coming from an 18 year old) as when I was there it was full of people that were 50+, but this was really a nice hotel and very chilled and relaxed, amazing hotel for the price of it really, I would happily spend more time here.

thanks for the excellent stay!. :)

  • M Magowan

  • March 2014

Hotel description complete opposite of reality

Hotel was described as being newly refurbished - this couldn't be further from the truth, at best it would be described as mid refurbishment.

Checking in was fairly straightforward, but receptionist seemed more interested on coach party about to enter hotel. Two rooms booked at same time, while walking up the stairs it was clear to see that the description of newly refurbished wasn't true, as stairway walls were chipped and damaged. First room was acceptable, and being booked last minute was pretty much what you could accept for price, but second room was not in close proximity. To find it you had to go through doors with signs saying "no access passed this point" not just one but four on the door and walls, ignoring this the smell when opening the corridor door was overpowering with damp. The room was a little further on and didn't look too bad on entry, but when looking in bathroom we were confronted with a towel behind the toilet that was soaking wet and had a brown rust mark so can only guess how long had been there. On returning to reception to request another room as this was really below par. We were told to sit and wait while 5 couples from the coach party who returned after us were seen to regarding complaints about their rooms. And the receptionist was overheard to say "oh well they are through late rooms". After waiting for all the others to be found acceptable rooms we were offered a room that had been refused by another couple, this was on a floor that was being repainted and while the smell of paint was overpowering it was far preferable to revolting smell of damp, and with attitude from reception we really couldn't be faced with making another request. Thankfully we were only staying two nights. To top it all the room had three lamps,only one worked, the windows were unopenable and the wood quite rotten and the television, gave a fuzzy BBC one and no other channels. However the staff in the restaurant for breakfast were fairly friendly, but the food was fairly nondescript, but what you would expect of an average inclusive breakfast. We really can't comment on the entertainment as only returned back to the hotel late In the evening. Would I ever consider staying here again. Most definitely not. Have booked many a room through late rooms and have never had such poor quality, or far from the description as this and Never been made to feel second class due to booking through this agent.