No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Trecarn Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Palermo Road Babbacombe, Torquay, TQ1 3NW
Situated in a quiet residential street, The Trecarn Hotel is well positioned for visiting the delightful village of St Marychurch and the Babbacombe Downs both of which are just a short walk away.

Babbacombe itself boasts its own theatre, promenade and beautiful beach, plus the famous 'model village'.
Within the Hotel of an evening, you are welcome to dine in our Restaurant choosing from our Table d'Hôte menu, enjoy the varied entertainment on offer in our Bar and dance area or simply relax in our comfortable, tastefully decorated lounges and public areas.

The Trecarn Hotel has limited car parking, however, there is unrestricted street parking in the area.
Picture of The Trecarn Hotel, Torquay at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 17 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
64% recommended this accommodation to a friend 70% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Alright for the price

Reviewed by
S Finnerty

From Morden, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we never stayed at the hotel, it was untidy/dirty, we found a Travelodge nearby which was excellent

Reviewed by
D Whitney

From Wilmslow, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel made Lateroom bookers feel separated.
I couldn't help feel a similar reaction and sympathy to M.Magowan's review to this Hotel. I got the impression that the Hotel only seems to accomodate Parties and Coach loads. I had to say that I was a Lateroom booker at breakfast time, and therefore I was separated and placed in a corner on my own away from the dining area. A slight feeling of alienation here. Don't get me wrong the waiting staff were extremely polite and friendly - that was the only good thing about that place.
Yes there was a severe television problem. The TV was an old broken out of date small bulbous SRT, which hadn't been switched to digital, so no signal and the aerial was broken anyway! I asked to get a different TV, but the recptionist said "Well I may have difficulty relocating you! There was storm damage recently!" - I only wanted a TV swap!! Besides - they needed to upgrade to digital anyway, storm damage or not! I didn't have time to move. things were busy that day, hence using Laterooms.
My small, cold, unsatifactory, outdated, basic room with a separate white tiled, dark grouted bathroom decor was miserable. In Fawlty Towers there was a classic example of Mr Fawlty going up a flight of stairs, only to come straight back down on some adjacent ones - that is what the layout of the tight corridors were like here and full of Firedoors every five yards!! Believe it or not the fire alarm went off at 6:30 am. Frightened the life out of me! It was a Maze to get out of .
I couldn't help notice that this was a good Hotel, but it has somehow annexed to neighbouring buildings and that is where it has become messy I'm afraid to say. They should not treat Lateroom customers any different to anyone else in this case, because we are doing Hotels a service in the fact we are filling in gaps of business for them. I have been happy with Laterooms in the past, but this particular visit was an unfortunate experience.

Reviewed by
Jason R

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel
Me & my boyfriend Loved this hotel, it really was lovely, it's definitely a hotel for elder people (coming from an 18 year old) as when I was there it was full of people that were 50+, but this was really a nice hotel and very chilled and relaxed, amazing hotel for the price of it really, I would happily spend more time here! thanks for the excellent stay!! :)

Reviewed by
Nicole S

From Weston-super-mare, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel description complete opposite of reality
Hotel was described as being newly refurbished - this couldn't be further from the truth, at best it would be described as mid refurbishment. Checking in was fairly straightforward, but receptionist seemed more interested on coach party about to enter hotel. Two rooms booked at same time, while walking up the stairs it was clear to see that the description of newly refurbished wasn't true, as stairway walls were chipped and damaged. First room was acceptable, and being booked last minute was pretty much what you could accept for price, but second room was not in close proximity. To find it you had to go through doors with signs saying "no access passed this point" not just one but four on the door and walls, ignoring this the smell when opening the corridor door was overpowering with damp. The room was a little further on and didn't look too bad on entry, but when looking in bathroom we were confronted with a towel behind the toilet that was soaking wet and had a brown rust mark so can only guess how long had been there. On returning to reception to request another room as this was really below par. We were told to sit and wait while 5 couples from the coach party who returned after us were seen to regarding complaints about their rooms. And the receptionist was overheard to say "oh well they are through late rooms". After waiting for all the others to be found acceptable rooms we were offered a room that had been refused by another couple, this was on a floor that was being repainted and while the smell of paint was overpowering it was far preferable to revolting smell of damp, and with attitude from reception we really couldn't be faced with making another request. Thankfully we were only staying two nights. To top it all the room had three lamps,only one worked, the windows were unopenable and the wood quite rotten and the television, gave a fuzzy BBC one and no other channels. However the staff in the restaurant for breakfast were fairly friendly, but the food was fairly nondescript, but what you would expect of an average inclusive breakfast. We really can't comment on the entertainment as only returned back to the hotel late In the evening. Would I ever consider staying here again? Most definitely not. Have booked many a room through late rooms and have never had such poor quality, or far from the description as this and Never been made to feel second class due to booking through this agent!

Reviewed by
M Magowan

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight bed and breakfast
Lovely old hotel. The rooms are a little tired but clean. Staff were wonderful, couldn't be more friendly and helpful. Not perfect, the tv reception wasn't great, shower was wonderful, the bed was a bit lumpy. I enjoyed the breakfast, which was included. If you want a five star hotel or are quite fussy this isn't it, but for a friendly character filled hotel a short walk to the babbacombe downs and the bus into torquay at a great price thru late rooms then this is the place. Just a note there are some stairs to some of the rooms so if mobility is a problem check before hand.

Reviewed by
Angela M

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One Night
Friendly staff - left too early for breakfast.

Reviewed by
ray w

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room very tired,double bed well warn
Staff very pleasant and helpfull,room very tired,shower hose was Leaking on shower,we told one of the staff and it was changed strait away.double bed well warn ,not good to sleep on,remember a good nights sleep is a happy person and we was,nt.

Reviewed by
T Hart

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel
Great hotel with a great breakfast, great value for money but dont expect the Ritz at these rates.

Reviewed by
Ian N

From Exmouth, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No complaints
Only stayed one night, large but basic, clean room, breakfast fine, if you can get it cheap like we did you can't go wrong, like some one else mentioned fawlty towers does come to mind (very scruffy around the edges etc) , but as i say clean & functional room, polite/helpful staff.

Reviewed by
sr smith

From , England
Who stayed in May 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next