You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Trecarn Hotel

3

Palermo Road Babbacombe, Torquay, TQ1 3NW

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (22)

55% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • C Lidstone

  • April 2016

Midweek stay

Great value for money warm comfortable and good food and service

  • g dearn

  • April 2016

The Trecarn Hotel

Would have given higher score but the staff need to be checked more closely.

the waiting staff were excellent, reception was good but was unhappy hearing bar staff airing there arguments in front of customers and leaving customers standing while they wiped a little bit of the bar no sign of management. poor

  • S Burns

  • March 2016

Weekend break

Hotel tired but clean and warm.

Reception staff not as friendly as all other staff. Very good value for the amount we paid. Liked the buffet style breakfast and dinner. Would definately stay again.

  • S Cant

  • February 2016

Not recommended.

Sadly disappointed in accommodation.

In desperate need of refurbishment & redecorated.Strong smell of dampness throughout. Staff were friendly & breakfast was good ,we didn't have evening meals.. plus side, entertainment was a bonus.Downstairs bedrooms in need of soundproofing, hardly got any sleep, due to people

chatting all hours & early morning. Hallways shoddy carpets & leaking roof, upstairs bedrooms were a disgrace, only fitting for DHSS Guests , really disgraceful .I am recovering from cancer treatment & this was supposed to be a break away for my husbands birthday..However to be fair I believe a new company has just taken over & intends a total refurb but it should be closed till it's done as it could be a lovely Hotel ...

  • michael Austin

  • February 2016

Run Down

Having said this hotel was run down doesn't mean it was no good.

Our room seemed to have been refurbished with new furniture and bathroom and all very clean. This hotel has just been taken over by the Brittania Group and according to staff there are big plans ahead. The staff were all polite and friendly and the Breakfast was good would stay again.

  • david m

  • February 2016

The Trecarn Hotel

The hotel entrance was very modern but the room we stayed in was very poor with damp ceilings and curtains were not hung up properly they were hanging down.

My husband had to put them on the curtain rail the bathroom was very poor and smelt of dampness. My mother and father in law had a more modernised room but the corridor had buckets in it from leaks and again smelt badly of dampness the cleaner we had was a very nice lady and kept the room clean. Clean towels were given daily

  • m watkins

  • December 2015

The Trecarn Hotel

For price we paid, it was excellent.

  • J Greenaway

  • November 2015

Two double standard rooms

Rooms definitely need to be refurbished.

One of the rooms had a very bad sewerage or drain smell which made the one night stay very uncomfortable. Complained but just told they would inform maintenance. Very basic rooms. Bar, dining room and staff very nice and friendly.

  • Fay S

  • October 2015

Food and restaurant staff were poorest encountered in 3 weeks touring UK.

Reception staff excellent and bedroom ok but bathroom less than presentable.. Chipboard cabinet disintergrating. Requires a smoking area well away from the main front door. Bad enough the amount of smoke wafting through lounge in the evening but to enter the lobby in the morning to find it full of smoke because both sets of doors wide open and half a dozen or so smokers standing just outside, not at all nice.

  • Patricia O

  • September 2015

Great value, friendly staff, for a BUDGET hotel.

Grab a ground floor room for the free wifi, which doesn't require a password.

Stay on the top floor at the front of the hotel and receive very decent 3G mobile signal, which is severely lacking (very patchy!) pretty much all over Devon, including within the towns and Torquay itself. As others have said, be at breakfast at least 30 minutes before breakfast ends to avoid missing out. The sausages were poor, the bacon and hash browns good, and the English is served (by yourself, all you can eat) buffet style, with fried and/or scrambled eggs, tinned tomatoes, baked beans, and black pudding. Juices, cereals and toast also available with croissants. Ask for your own jug of water and one of the many available breakfast staff will provide it. Bingo, song and dance follows dinner (which again is self service from the buffet) and rooms are very modest and oldy worldly. Nothing fancy at all about the rooms, but they were exactly what any seasoned traveller would expect for the money. We were very happy with ours, dead simple and low cost. Suited the nature of the stay.

Staff are British and European mix, very nice people. Especially grateful to have met Tom from Hungry who made us feel exceedingly welcome and was a wonderful host. Big thanks to him. Small garden and spacious area out front enjoyed by the smokers. We people watched as people who didn't know better threw dozens of butts on the ground rather than use the ashtrays 20 feet away. I was up early and watched the poor staff pick these up at 5.30am. Don't be one of them... Close to shops, but a taxi ride or long walk from Torquay town centre. It's a coaching hotel, so expect a few coach loads of 60+ tourists. I'd stay again. It's everything I expected it to be, and more, plus served the purpose of saving us money on our stay in Torquay. Limited private parking in the hotel, but plenty of free spaces on the street right outside. Go for it.