No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Trecarn Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Palermo Road Babbacombe, Torquay, TQ1 3NW
Situated in a quiet residential street, The Trecarn Hotel is well positioned for visiting the delightful village of St Marychurch and the Babbacombe Downs both of which are just a short walk away.

Babbacombe itself boasts its own theatre, promenade and beautiful beach, plus the famous 'model village'.
Within the Hotel of an evening, you are welcome to dine in our Restaurant choosing from our Table d'Hôte menu, enjoy the varied entertainment on offer in our Bar and dance area or simply relax in our comfortable, tastefully decorated lounges and public areas.

The Trecarn Hotel has limited car parking, however, there is unrestricted street parking in the area.
Picture of The Trecarn Hotel, Torquay at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 17 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
64% recommended this accommodation to a friend 70% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cosy old Hotel
Good value for money. Only problem was that there is limited isolation between the floors - could hear the people in the room above us when they were walking.

Reviewed by
Oystein H

From Basingstoke, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short stay
Very clean, fresh towels, friendly staff, bit of a walk to Torquay but very nice area of babbacombe

Reviewed by
C Harwood

From Glossop, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasantly surprised
Having read other reviews on several websites about the Trecarn, I have to admit I was slightly apprehensive. We decided to book anyway as the price for 3 nights (over the may bank holiday) was too cheap to think twice about and we figured that even if it was awful we wouldn't be spending much time there anyway. On arrival at the hotel we were pleasantly suprised, the hotel has obviously been renovated recently and the bar/ reception areas were very clean and modern in style. The same goes for our room, although obviously been done on a budget, the decor was modern and pleasant. The room was a great size with a huge ensuite with bath and shower over, it was all spotlessly clean. The only thing that let it down was the bed. It was far too hard and lumpy and the sheets were thin and of poor quality, having said that it didn't affect my sleep too much.
The hotel is let down by its breakfasts. I don't eats full cooked breakfast myself but enjoyed a small bowl of cereal and ordered some toast, which arrived cold and quite soggy. My boyfriend had poached eggs on toast, he enjoyed the eggs but the toast hadn't been toasted and was wet and mushy where the water from the eggs had soaked in.
All in all, it wasn't a bad and we'll certainly be staying there again if we can get it for the same price (£109 for 3 nights)

Reviewed by
Nicola rimmer

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

would definitely stay at the Trecarn again
We got a bargain price for 1 night b&b through laterooms and were very pleased with everything about the Trecarn. When we arrived we were greeted by a very pleasant young man, who helped us with our parking and then helped my husband get me (I'm in a wheelchair) and our luggage inside and to our room. We found our room very clean and nicely furnished, the only thing we could fault it on was that there was no heating on and I was quite cold, although I heard someone else mention it at reception the following morning and they were told that if they had informed reception they would have been supplied with an electric heater. We didn't bother complaining because we were only staying 1 night and we had been very happy with everything else, especially for the price we paid. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful and we would definitely stay again if we got a good price.

Reviewed by
SUSAN A

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

may stay, great deal, lovely staff
Got a bargain late room deal as I needed to stay over for business. The staff were very friendly and attentive. The downstairs has been nicely decorated. My small single room was clean and functional, no frills but for £19 who can complain. The communal area upstairs really needs a refurb though but I guess in the current economic climate it would cost too much. Decent breakfast included.

Reviewed by
G Borthwick

From Ilfracombe, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value.
Good accommodation. Very friendly reception staff. Slight mix up at breakfast - vegetarian breakfast asked for then offered Bacon with it (?!) and different type of eggs than what were asked for on breakfast. Food OK. Good value for money though. Would stay agani.

Reviewed by
kieran e

From UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dissapointed
Our stay with you was very pleasant,but have to say that we were very dissapointed with the food.
breakfast was a joke ,Full English the menu said,what that consisted of was a dried up,crispy small rasher of bacon,a sausage which was approx 2inches long,a fried egg and a whole tomatoe,oh and two slices of cold toast.

Reviewed by
julie s

From Redruth, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2