No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Lost Guest House Peterhead

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
29 MERCHANT STREET , PETERHEAD, AB42 1DU
Lost Guest House Peterhead is a new modern town centre guest house, refurbished to a high standard. All rooms are en-suite with shower rooms. Free Wi-Fi throughout. We offer a free basic cooked breakfast in our newly built sun room in the garden, from 730am to 9am weekdays, 830am to 10am weekends.

Although check in-closes at 9pm, if you arrive later we will leave a key out. There is a £10 fee if you arrive after 11pm, £20 after 12am and £30 after 1am.

We are VAT registered, so you may be able to reclaim 20% of the room cost.

All our rooms have new comfy beds with white linen, most rooms with 32" flat screen TV, others with 22". Your key will open the front door, so you can come and go as you please, there is no curfew here.
Picture of Lost Guest House Peterhead, PETERHEAD at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 29 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
51% recommended this accommodation to a friend 58% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Lost Personal Touch
Clean, efficent and functional but totally lacking any kind of personal interraction. We found it a bit clinical and would opt to stay somewhere that had a guest room along with some kind of contact with the staff outwith being served breakfast in the future The name, 'The Lost Guest House' suggests this is some kind of quirky and fashionable B&B with some character. Unfortunately it is sadly lacking on these last points.

Reviewed by
John Grant

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not clean
We found sock in the bed

Reviewed by
Boris R

From Netherlands
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First and Last Time
Hard to park very narrow , busy street. No human contact since key with my name left on a shelf inside the door. Voice on the intercom spoke to me when I buzzed. Fortunately I know Peterhead very well because no one was going to point me in the right direction to the local attractions etc.
Good cooked breakfast on first morning , said this to the cook . Then on the second morning there was a note on the kitchen door to say there were technical difficulties and therefore no cooked breakfast would be available. The last morning there was a cooked breakfast on offer but the bacon was like leather, I went to the kitchen door to return the bacon and the cook / chief bottle washer / receptionist nearly jumped 3 feet in the air at some human interaction. I think robots cooking and serving breakfast would be a good idea and then any human contact could be avoided totally.

Reviewed by
E Dougan

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very poor with regards to hospitlity, no personal interaction with owner and customer.
No one to welcome you on arrival, just an intercom to speak to an unnamed person with regards to collecting keys. Room did not reflect photo on web sight. A special request for a strict diet was filled in and requested online, however cook had no idea about it, and quiet frankly did not care. Room was not cleaned or bins emptied for our 2 day stay shower hose was held together with tap, and toilet door did not shut. nowhere to put our clothes, kept in suitcase.

Reviewed by
Ian Baillie

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good stay for 1 night
Stayed in a double room, it was a nice room that was spacious and clean. The ensuite was also clean and perfect for me. There was a good selection for breakfast and the cooked breakfast was nice. Perfect stay for work, would happily go back. It's a nice b&b and perfect for short stays or if you are away with work, I wouldn't recommend here for a romantic or relaxing holiday.

Reviewed by
Andrew G

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Awful. Do not stay there!!!!

Reviewed by
brian m

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Awful!!
I travelled here alone staying on business pulled up to a scruffy looking hotel and walked in no one to greet and my key was in an envelope with my name on it and inside was a receipt of payment with my details on it. The room was awful and the bed didnt look like it was clean, There was a kettle in the room with one cup not even a glass for water!!
I went to the breakfast room in the morning and asked for some poached eggs which came about 20 mins later and were still raw!!
Would not receommend this hotel to anyone !!

Reviewed by
w coates

From Gateshead, England
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Felt like a hostel not a guest house
My room was number 16, located outside in the back garden in what I could only describe as a converted shed/garage. Cracks all over the walls, electrical cable feeding light switchers bear... Not chased into the walls !! Tin draws wot you'd find in a workshop ! Main door lock loose n very cold room due to the style of door.... Shower taps hanging off the wall !! Smallest was basing in the world .... And when I arrived in the room it appeared that somebody had already taken a leak in the toilet !!
Not at all worth the£79 I paid !!!!!!!

Reviewed by
matt o

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First experience of a traditional B&B....never actually seen anyone until breakfast for a few minutes. Room was basic. however clean enough. TV decent, shower the best I have had in any hotel.......very powerful.....breakfast could have been better with the minimum of effort, but was not the worst. All in all, not bad for the price. I wouldnt put anyone off staying, but not anything special....you get what you pay for I suppose.

Reviewed by
P Daly

From Dunfermline, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Better in than out!
Unprepossessing exterior, but comfortable. Rates include breakfast , which is largely a self-service affair where you make your own toast and served yourself tea, coffee of juices. If you wish a cooked breakfast this is prepared for you fresh. As the B&B is located adjacent to the harbour, there are a lot of seagulls and give noise (even at night) takes a little getting used to. There was a superb display of the Northern Lights on my overnight say which was a bonus, as was the free Wifi.

Reviewed by
Raymond O

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next