The Royal Hotel

3

Anchor Road, Barrow in Furness, LA142QW

Price From 105.59 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (24)

46% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • M Paul

  • March 2015

Not suitable for business overnight stops

Stayed overnight whilst working at BAe.

Very very basic. Would not recommend for business overnight stops. Didn't eat breakfast.

  • P Bewley

  • October 2014

Peter Bewley North Wales

Good atmosphere ,friendly people , hotel clean and welcoming..

  • M Brand

  • September 2014

Bad area

Nice hotel in a bad area, not too bad but local kids hanging around the takeaways across the street

  • Lindsay H

  • September 2014

you get what you pay for

Miserable bar man

  • S Rawlings

  • September 2014

excellent food

Needs work outside but rooms very clean and food was excellent.

Staff worked very hard and were really pleasant.

  • Chris B

  • August 2014

Diabolical!

The room was tiny with no room to leave my bags.

The window catch was broken so I had the pleasure of hearing the locals partying in the nearby terraced houses all night. The room was tidied only once in a weeks visit (Not convinced it was cleaned!) The staff lived in nearby rooms and were running around partying and screaming and shouting at 2am. I ordered the mixed grill for £14 and it took 40 minutes to arrive. When it did it was absolutely cremated. Awful. We ate out in Barrow for the remainder of the trip. Wouldn't recommend staying here unless the only other option is sleeping on the street!

  • Rahul G

  • August 2014

Excellent value for money

My room was very small and the curtain didn't cover the window as well as i would have liked and given the small size of the room and the massive window, it would have benefitted from voil but otherwise, excellent value for money.

  • Dale S

  • August 2014

This is the worst hotel I have ever seen in my life, its in a rough area, has no parking,

We could not stay there, just driving around it looking for a car park was enough.

I went in to tell them that we were not going to stay and even just the reception was scruffy and like a 1950's back street pub. The floor was tiled but some were missing and filled with cement. The hall toward the rooms had no carpet and dirty floorboards with cardboard to walk over. The hotel has broken windows and just looks neglected. The girl that came from the bar to see me even said it wasn't for everyone and that she wouldn't stay there either, not a good recommendation.

If the exterior and entrance is that bad, how bad are the rooms going to be. We decided to drive home 170 miles as there wasn't room in the premier inn.

  • Ronnie L

  • July 2014

avoid this hotel

this hotel is dirty with not enough staff to run it, we arrived and waited 20 mins at reception ringing the bell several times in the end i had to go looking for someone i found a member of the bar staff to come and help us they took us to a room and were leaving when my wife comented "we have to make our own bed then" the room had not been cleaned or made up, we were left in this room while she dissapeared to sort it out someone else then came back to show us to another room where at least the bed was made but thats the only good thing i could say about it, it had not been hoovered the toilet and shower were dirty, we were informed there was no chef so no food.

we went out to eat and passing a premier inn called in but unfortunatly they were fully booked or we wouldnt have gone back. in the morning we went down for breakfast (the day before there had been a childrens party) the food from the party was still out and all over the floor the ladies toilets were disgusting it took 20mins for someone to come and take our order and another 40 for us to recieve it when it arrived it was not what wed ordered so sent it back when it came back my wifes still wasnt right she informed the t-shirt jeans trainers and baseball caped young man (not very profesional) who left without taking her breakfast and came back with 2 hash browns in a pair of tongs still not the breakfast she had ordered so we just got up and left without eating could get out of there fast enough. avoid this dirty hotel at all costs!.

  • K Bell

  • July 2014

With this hotel you get what you pay for, the staff that was available were very helpful, what was lacking was any form of management.

The cook/chef did not turn up on either of the 2 nights we were there, but that was because there was nobody to make sure that he did.