The Royal Hotel

3

Anchor Road, Barrow in Furness, LA142QW

Price From 134.98 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (26)

46% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • T Mathieson

  • April 2015

Not like the advert

Room booked for support worker visiting a family in the area.

I sat in the hotel and it's really poor quality eg my room has torn curtains, the windows didn't close, filth in the toilet. It's like a working men's pub in the restaurant and it's dirty throughout. The main problems have been no heating in the room, the manager would not get a plumber out so a staff member went to their house and gave me their heater. No internet in my room and TV would only work if I stood on a chair and manually changed channels.

I think we need to have a list of hotels that we never visit again and this is one of them.

After complaining we were not charged but felt we should make LateRooms aware of these problems for future reference.

  • S Collinson

  • April 2015

The Royal Hotel

Rooms were lovely and clean with good facilities, however it is clear that this is a work in progress.

We were really impressed by the friendly staff and the fantastic chef.

  • M Paul

  • March 2015

Not suitable for business overnight stops

Stayed overnight whilst working at BAe.

Very very basic. Would not recommend for business overnight stops. Didn't eat breakfast.

  • P Bewley

  • October 2014

Peter Bewley North Wales

Good atmosphere ,friendly people , hotel clean and welcoming..

  • M Brand

  • September 2014

Bad area

Nice hotel in a bad area, not too bad but local kids hanging around the takeaways across the street

  • Lindsay H

  • September 2014

you get what you pay for

Miserable bar man

  • S Rawlings

  • September 2014

excellent food

Needs work outside but rooms very clean and food was excellent.

Staff worked very hard and were really pleasant.

  • Chris B

  • August 2014

Diabolical!

The room was tiny with no room to leave my bags.

The window catch was broken so I had the pleasure of hearing the locals partying in the nearby terraced houses all night. The room was tidied only once in a weeks visit (Not convinced it was cleaned!) The staff lived in nearby rooms and were running around partying and screaming and shouting at 2am. I ordered the mixed grill for £14 and it took 40 minutes to arrive. When it did it was absolutely cremated. Awful. We ate out in Barrow for the remainder of the trip. Wouldn't recommend staying here unless the only other option is sleeping on the street!

  • Rahul G

  • August 2014

Excellent value for money

My room was very small and the curtain didn't cover the window as well as i would have liked and given the small size of the room and the massive window, it would have benefitted from voil but otherwise, excellent value for money.

  • Dale S

  • August 2014

This is the worst hotel I have ever seen in my life, its in a rough area, has no parking,

We could not stay there, just driving around it looking for a car park was enough.

I went in to tell them that we were not going to stay and even just the reception was scruffy and like a 1950's back street pub. The floor was tiled but some were missing and filled with cement. The hall toward the rooms had no carpet and dirty floorboards with cardboard to walk over. The hotel has broken windows and just looks neglected. The girl that came from the bar to see me even said it wasn't for everyone and that she wouldn't stay there either, not a good recommendation.

If the exterior and entrance is that bad, how bad are the rooms going to be. We decided to drive home 170 miles as there wasn't room in the premier inn.