No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Royal Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Anchor Road , Barrow in Furness, LA142QW
The Royal Hotel has recently undergone a huge refurbishment and has just reopened in April 2013 – and feedback has been incredible! See the photos showing the gorgeous bar area, and the beautifully refurbished bedrooms and new bathrooms in place.

The Royal hotel is the closest hotel to BAE, and the harbour area in Barrow in Furness. The hotel has a huge history with Winston Churchill having stayed here. With the no expenses spared refurbishment, this hotel is set to become one of the most popular in the area, and since reopening has already started to build up a very loyal following. Barrow-in-Furness town centre is just 5 minutes away from the hotel and it is close to South Lakes Wildlife Park, Furness Abbey, Piel Island and other tourist attractions, as well as being the ideal base to explore the Lake District. The Hotel itself has 23 en-suite well appointed bedrooms. Each room has a flat screen TV with SKY TV channels and wifi internet access which is free of charge. Breakfast is served in the restaurant between 7am and 9am on weekdays and between 8am and 10am at weekends and on Bank Holidays. All of our rooms are NON-Smoking along with public areas. Express Check-In and check out is available.

The Hotel has a bar, residents lounge and 24-Hour Front Desk our check-in time is from 2pm and check out is by 11am, we serve evening meals between 5pm and 9pm also Sky sports, a full bar and pool table.

All children under 3 years stay free of charge when using existing bedding. All children under 2 years stay free of charge. We do have cots available with a maximum capacity of 1 per room.

Any extra bedding is upon request and needs to be confirmed by the hotel.

Picture of The Royal Hotel, Barrow in Furness at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 23 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
47% recommended this accommodation to a friend 47% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Peter Bewley North Wales
Good atmosphere ,friendly people , hotel clean and welcoming..

Reviewed by
P Bewley

From Yr Wyddgrug, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

you get what you pay for
Miserable bar man

Reviewed by
Lindsay H

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bad area
Nice hotel in a bad area, not too bad but local kids hanging around the takeaways across the street

Reviewed by
M Brand

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent food
Needs work outside but rooms very clean and food was excellent. Staff worked very hard and were really pleasant.

Reviewed by
S Rawlings

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Diabolical!
The room was tiny with no room to leave my bags. The window catch was broken so I had the pleasure of hearing the locals partying in the nearby terraced houses all night. The room was tidied only once in a weeks visit (Not convinced it was cleaned!) The staff lived in nearby rooms and were running around partying and screaming and shouting at 2am! I ordered the mixed grill for £14 and it took 40 minutes to arrive. When it did it was absolutely cremated. Awful. We ate out in Barrow for the remainder of the trip. Wouldn't recommend staying here unless the only other option is sleeping on the street!

Reviewed by
Chris B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money
My room was very small and the curtain didn't cover the window as well as i would have liked and given the small size of the room and the massive window, it would have benefitted from voil but otherwise, excellent value for money.

Reviewed by
Rahul G

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This is the worst hotel I have ever seen in my life, its in a rough area, has no parking,
We could not stay there, just driving around it looking for a car park was enough. I went in to tell them that we were not going to stay and even just the reception was scruffy and like a 1950's back street pub. The floor was tiled but some were missing and filled with cement. The hall toward the rooms had no carpet and dirty floorboards with cardboard to walk over. The hotel has broken windows and just looks neglected. The girl that came from the bar to see me even said it wasn't for everyone and that she wouldn't stay there either, not a good recommendation.
If the exterior and entrance is that bad, how bad are the rooms going to be?
We decided to drive home 170 miles as there wasn't room in the premier inn.

Reviewed by
Dale S

From Houghton le Spring, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

With this hotel you get what you pay for, the staff that was available were very helpful, what was lacking was any form of management. The cook/chef did not turn up on either of the 2 nights we were there, but that was because there was nobody to make sure that he did.

Reviewed by
K Bell

From Newbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

avoid this hotel
this hotel is dirty with not enough staff to run it, we arrived and waited 20 mins at reception ringing the bell several times in the end i had to go looking for someone i found a member of the bar staff to come and help us they took us to a room and were leaving when my wife comented "we have to make our own bed then" the room had not been cleaned or made up, we were left in this room while she dissapeared to sort it out someone else then came back to show us to another room where at least the bed was made but thats the only good thing i could say about it, it had not been hoovered the toilet and shower were dirty, we were informed there was no chef so no food. we went out to eat and passing a premier inn called in but unfortunatly they were fully booked or we wouldnt have gone back. in the morning we went down for breakfast (the day before there had been a childrens party) the food from the party was still out and all over the floor the ladies toilets were disgusting it took 20mins for someone to come and take our order and another 40 for us to recieve it when it arrived it was not what wed ordered so sent it back when it came back my wifes still wasnt right she informed the t-shirt jeans trainers and baseball caped young man (not very profesional) who left without taking her breakfast and came back with 2 hash browns in a pair of tongs still not the breakfast she had ordered so we just got up and left without eating could get out of there fast enough. avoid this dirty hotel at all costs!!

Reviewed by
Ronnie L

From Carnforth, England
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

only accomodation available to us
We booked this hotel as all others were fully booked with contractors etc.We paid £140 for two rooms and the hotel was in the middle of a battlezone.We waited at an unattended reception for around ten minutes before being attended to.we were shown to our room which had a kitchen area.The wall mounted boiler had been leaking into a cup for months which was green with algae.The tiles leading into the bathroom were broken and sharp,no toilet paper,etc.There was a storeroom door that had been kicked in and spare keys to all rooms were hanging up in there. In fairness,the staff were pleasant and helpful but they seemed very understaffed.The breakfast was served quickly and was decent.

Reviewed by
Darren C

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next