No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The City Arms

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
69, High Street , Wells, BA5 2AG
The City Arms is set in the heart of the famous Cathedral City of Wells a perfect location for visiting the county’s most popular attractions. The City Arms is a unique and historic building that dates back to 1635 when it became The Old City Jail. Many features can be found in the Bar area, including the Solitary Cell, Barred Windows and artefacts from the period.
The accommodation is an addition added in April 13, when we changed from a public house to an Inn. With the addition of four spacious and luxurious en-suite bedrooms that have been individually designed, yet sympathetic to the buildings history and planning.
Each room includes large drenching showers or wet rooms they are spacious and all have flat screen TV’s, complimentary toiletries and tea/coffee making facilities.
We have two master suites which have period vaulted ceilings. The master suites are decorated with rich red, black and cream interiors and luxurious furnishings to match. Both suites are open plan with walk in bathrooms with wet rooms and drenching showers.
While the more contemporary rooms are decorated in soft lilacs and blues fitted with the same luxurious furnishing. We have King Size and Twin en-suite rooms available.
The City Arms is a long establish public house offering Great Food, using the freshest, locally sourced ingredients from across Somerset. To create a range of contemporary and classic dishes, coupled with Award Winning Local Ales and Ciders to residents and non residents. All rooms include Breakfast that we serve from 9am. We can also arrange a Continental Breakfast if you need to check out earlier.

Picture of The City Arms, Wells at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 34 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
73% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Little Gem
Little gem tucked away on the bottom of the Main Street. Loved our room, great feature beams and fantastic modern bathroom. Breakfast was very well made with some delicious twists on the Classic english.

Reviewed by
Robert M

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a disappointment
Breakfast is not served until 9, which makes a late start. In fact, are scrambled eggs were not brought to us until almost 10. The cereal bowls were on an open shelf near the floor and were grubby. The toast was dry and there was not jam. The room was damp. The bathroom was the best bit.

Reviewed by
M Gough

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My daughter and I had a twin room which was spacious with a great shower in the ensuite. We'd come again.

Reviewed by
Kathy R

From Huntingdon, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend stay
The room was lovely and spacious though somewhat noisy ,there was a lovely shower but had nowhere to put shower gel or shampoo while you were in the shower except for the floor which is not good for people who have trouble reaching down as there is no handle to hold onto to achieve the retrieval of shower gel so a handle and a shelf would improve the shower greatly.

Reviewed by
H Strong

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

City Arms - Could do better
The bedroom's vaulted ceiling and en-suite were real plusses but the cheap dingy un-ironed bed-linen, the general dark interior, broken towel rail, blocked up sink and the fact that the en-suite had only a wall separating it from the bedroom, (no ceiling or door) made the stay less than pleasant. The staff were accommodating and the breakfast adequate. We were expecting better quality given the area and price paid.

Reviewed by
David S

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A fun place with character, and excellent situation right in main street

Reviewed by
T Tripp

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We booked this as we were down for a Rock concert. The concert finished around 11pm and we got back to the 'hotel' around midnight hoping for a relaxing drink at the hotel bar, as it was still fairly early. It was in darkness, and previously we had been given a padlock key, this being for the padlock on the outer gates. For the prices we paid we would expect to receive hotel facilities, ie a late night bar and someone providing customer service until at least 2pm. Even basic hotels have 24 hour reception. Worse was to come. We were kept awake all night by noises of small animals running up and down inside the walls and across the ceiling. The toilet used a macerator system instead of using the proper pipe system, & this within a few feet of the bedroom is not a pleasant thought. It also involves other inconveniences which one of the staff explained while showing us to our room. Having said that, we were only issued with one key. The door end of the bedroom carpet was dirty, and on top of the dirt, the whole carpet looked like it had glitter sprinkled on it. This is nice in itself, but on a clean carpet! The bathroom walls were also left dirty. Please guys, whatever else, cleanliness is essential. We had been looking forward to enjoying breakfast in your restaurant, but after this we just wanted to get out. We have stayed in hotels for less than your rate which were 100% better and certainly won't be returning, or recommending you to anyone.

Reviewed by
Neil C

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room with everything you need!
Our stay was great! The landlord was very friendly and helpful when it came to providing information about parking and getting around the city. Our bed was comfy and the walk in shower was brilliant. The only downside was the fact that although the food was good, it was rather slow to be served.
I would definitely away are The City Arms again.

Reviewed by
Catherine D

From Camberley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Night away with daughter
Wonderful night in a great location. My daughter and I met up with friends celebrating a 60th birthday. Enjoyed sitting in the court yard garden in the sun for a drink. Our bedroom was huge, clean and bathroom nice. After a good nights sleep we had a welcome full English breakfast. Staff were helpful and friendly. Try it for yourself.

Reviewed by
k sleeman

From Exmouth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor experiance
No window that you could open so the room was very hot and stuffy. No electric shaving socket!! Pluming very noisy. Could here kettles boiling in other peoples rooms. Breakfast was due to start at 9.00am chef did not arrive till 9.20 which made us late for our appolntment they knew the night before we needed to be off early and we were promised a quick service. The breakfast was very basic and just slaped on the plate.

Reviewed by
Neil B

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next