No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The City Arms

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
69, High Street , Wells, BA5 2AG
The City Arms is set in the heart of the famous Cathedral City of Wells a perfect location for visiting the county’s most popular attractions. The City Arms is a unique and historic building that dates back to 1635 when it became The Old City Jail. Many features can be found in the Bar area, including the Solitary Cell, Barred Windows and artefacts from the period.
The accommodation is an addition added in April 13, when we changed from a public house to an Inn. With the addition of four spacious and luxurious en-suite bedrooms that have been individually designed, yet sympathetic to the buildings history and planning.
Each room includes large drenching showers or wet rooms they are spacious and all have flat screen TV’s, complimentary toiletries and tea/coffee making facilities.
We have two master suites which have period vaulted ceilings. The master suites are decorated with rich red, black and cream interiors and luxurious furnishings to match. Both suites are open plan with walk in bathrooms with wet rooms and drenching showers.
While the more contemporary rooms are decorated in soft lilacs and blues fitted with the same luxurious furnishing. We have King Size and Twin en-suite rooms available.
The City Arms is a long establish public house offering Great Food, using the freshest, locally sourced ingredients from across Somerset. To create a range of contemporary and classic dishes, coupled with Award Winning Local Ales and Ciders to residents and non residents. All rooms include Breakfast that we serve from 9am. We can also arrange a Continental Breakfast if you need to check out earlier.

Picture of The City Arms, Wells at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 27 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A fun place with character, and excellent situation right in main street

Reviewed by
T Tripp

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room with everything you need!
Our stay was great! The landlord was very friendly and helpful when it came to providing information about parking and getting around the city. Our bed was comfy and the walk in shower was brilliant. The only downside was the fact that although the food was good, it was rather slow to be served.
I would definitely away are The City Arms again.

Reviewed by
Catherine D

From Camberley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Night away with daughter
Wonderful night in a great location. My daughter and I met up with friends celebrating a 60th birthday. Enjoyed sitting in the court yard garden in the sun for a drink. Our bedroom was huge, clean and bathroom nice. After a good nights sleep we had a welcome full English breakfast. Staff were helpful and friendly. Try it for yourself.

Reviewed by
k sleeman

From Exmouth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor experiance
No window that you could open so the room was very hot and stuffy. No electric shaving socket!! Pluming very noisy. Could here kettles boiling in other peoples rooms. Breakfast was due to start at 9.00am chef did not arrive till 9.20 which made us late for our appolntment they knew the night before we needed to be off early and we were promised a quick service. The breakfast was very basic and just slaped on the plate.

Reviewed by
Neil B

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

dark and dingy
The room is spacious but the décor needs brightening up. The dark colours make it feel very dingy and the room smells very damp. The bathroom is not in a separate room but behind a partition which is probably why it smells so damp. Im not sure it can be called an ensuite because it is in the same room! The shower was however new and therefore very clean.
The staff were very nice and the breakfast was lovely.

Reviewed by
Jayne H

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thank you
Thank you very much for your help and information.

Reviewed by
Agnesa A

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant stay, very dog-friendly establishment
We have a dog - a large dog who hoteliers and pub owners would understandably be wary of letting through the door. This was accepted with no word of complaint. The room was beautifully furnished, functional, characterful and right in the centre of Wells. Our stay was very pleasant.
Only a couple of points to mention - our room's window opened on a balcony, so the heavy curtains did need to be pulled to very carefully, and the hotel building is old enough (i.e., no double glazing here) to make the noise from the bar below clearly audible. There is also no on-site parking (you'll have to pay for it, unless you're staying on a Sunday). These are minor things, though - this is a good hotel.

Reviewed by
D Green

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't expect much sleep
A nicely presented room and staff before the stay were helpful
When it came to sleep it all went wrong . Because of the ultra thin walls and electric powered plumbing it was impossible to sleep. Because guests arrive back at different times it seemed to go on all night. The walls were so thin you could hear every noise from the rooms either side , even people talking, and as we were in the middle of a row of three we got it from both sides constantly
Next morning upon going down for breakfast at 8 am as told I was sneeringly told to come back after 9am. No good to us as we had things booked from 10am, this on top of no sleep we decided to give the keys back and left
Be warned the constant noise from the other rooms will stop you from sleeping

Reviewed by
A Steven

From Londpn, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

few inprovements would be good
room lovely, clean and comfy, friendly staff, was clean and food good in the bistro bar,
sorry to say the breakfast needs refining, no fruit or yogurt on offer, long waiting times for cooked breakfast, last day no chef turned in so just had toast. we travel around quite a lot and breakfast
is something to look forward to, bit of a let down.

Reviewed by
jackie w

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely central inn
Lovely, friendly inn right in the centre of Wells. No on site parking but we were prepared for this and parked in a pay car park less than 3 minutes walk away at the cost of £6 for 24 hours.
We stayed overnight in room one. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable. King sized bed, good sized TV, decent wardrobe and lots of additional storage space if you are intending to stay longer..Clean, bright bathroom with very good shower. Good quality towels and complementary toiletries.
We ate lunch at the restaurant, we had starters and a Sunday roast both of which were exceptionally well cooked and beautifully presented. The food was very reasonably priced for the quality. The waitresses were very attentive and anticipated all our needs.
We didn't eat in the pub for our evening meal as there are so many pubs and interesting restaurants in Wells to choose from. When we came back later in the evening the pub and restaurant looked to be very busy, so obviously a popular venue.
Breakfast is served from 9am to midday. We chose to have the full English which was cooked to perfection. There are other options available including vegetarian.
Check out is by 11am which gave us plenty f time to have a lie in, a leisurely breakfast before having to pack our overnight bag and leave.
All in all it was a lovely stay, room great, food wonderful, staff very friendly and helpful. We will definitely return as our son lives in the area and will certainly recommend to friends and family

Reviewed by
Diana H

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next