No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The City Arms

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
69, High Street , Wells, BA5 2AG
The City Arms is set in the heart of the famous Cathedral City of Wells a perfect location for visiting the county’s most popular attractions. The City Arms is a unique and historic building that dates back to 1635 when it became The Old City Jail. Many features can be found in the Bar area, including the Solitary Cell, Barred Windows and artefacts from the period.
The accommodation is an addition added in April 13, when we changed from a public house to an Inn. With the addition of four spacious and luxurious en-suite bedrooms that have been individually designed, yet sympathetic to the buildings history and planning.
Each room includes large drenching showers or wet rooms they are spacious and all have flat screen TV’s, complimentary toiletries and tea/coffee making facilities.
We have two master suites which have period vaulted ceilings. The master suites are decorated with rich red, black and cream interiors and luxurious furnishings to match. Both suites are open plan with walk in bathrooms with wet rooms and drenching showers.
While the more contemporary rooms are decorated in soft lilacs and blues fitted with the same luxurious furnishing. We have King Size and Twin en-suite rooms available.
The City Arms is a long establish public house offering Great Food, using the freshest, locally sourced ingredients from across Somerset. To create a range of contemporary and classic dishes, coupled with Award Winning Local Ales and Ciders to residents and non residents. All rooms include Breakfast that we serve from 9am. We can also arrange a Continental Breakfast if you need to check out earlier.

Picture of The City Arms, Wells at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 38 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
76% recommended this accommodation to a friend 76% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I had a very pleasant stay and visit again

Reviewed by
CHRIS W

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money.
Rooms were clean and warm, staff were welcomining where else can you get a twin room including full breakfast for less then £50?

Reviewed by
Lee Jameson

From London, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcomed by friendly staff, perfect central location, spacious and exceptional decor. Excellent breakfast. Thoroughly enjoyed the stay.

Reviewed by
N Newton

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great for a break
Stayed at City arms for 2 nights in room 2. Staff very friendly, room was quite large an spotlessly clean, lovely new shower room, 2 large radiators, comfy beds. Nice relaxing bar downstairs serving real ales an good food. Right in centre of town. Unfortunately no car park, but parking available in market square nearby.

Reviewed by
Don Davies

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Little Gem
Little gem tucked away on the bottom of the Main Street. Loved our room, great feature beams and fantastic modern bathroom. Breakfast was very well made with some delicious twists on the Classic english.

Reviewed by
Robert M

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a disappointment
Breakfast is not served until 9, which makes a late start. In fact, are scrambled eggs were not brought to us until almost 10. The cereal bowls were on an open shelf near the floor and were grubby. The toast was dry and there was not jam. The room was damp. The bathroom was the best bit.

Reviewed by
M Gough

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My daughter and I had a twin room which was spacious with a great shower in the ensuite. We'd come again.

Reviewed by
Kathy R

From Huntingdon, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend stay
The room was lovely and spacious though somewhat noisy ,there was a lovely shower but had nowhere to put shower gel or shampoo while you were in the shower except for the floor which is not good for people who have trouble reaching down as there is no handle to hold onto to achieve the retrieval of shower gel so a handle and a shelf would improve the shower greatly.

Reviewed by
H Strong

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

City Arms - Could do better
The bedroom's vaulted ceiling and en-suite were real plusses but the cheap dingy un-ironed bed-linen, the general dark interior, broken towel rail, blocked up sink and the fact that the en-suite had only a wall separating it from the bedroom, (no ceiling or door) made the stay less than pleasant. The staff were accommodating and the breakfast adequate. We were expecting better quality given the area and price paid.

Reviewed by
David S

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A fun place with character, and excellent situation right in main street

Reviewed by
T Tripp

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next