No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The City Arms

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
69, High Street , Wells, BA5 2AG
The City Arms is set in the heart of the famous Cathedral City of Wells a perfect location for visiting the county’s most popular attractions. The City Arms is a unique and historic building that dates back to 1635 when it became The Old City Jail. Many features can be found in the Bar area, including the Solitary Cell, Barred Windows and artefacts from the period.
The accommodation is an addition added in April 13, when we changed from a public house to an Inn. With the addition of four spacious and luxurious en-suite bedrooms that have been individually designed, yet sympathetic to the buildings history and planning.
Each room includes large drenching showers or wet rooms they are spacious and all have flat screen TV’s, complimentary toiletries and tea/coffee making facilities.
We have two master suites which have period vaulted ceilings. The master suites are decorated with rich red, black and cream interiors and luxurious furnishings to match. Both suites are open plan with walk in bathrooms with wet rooms and drenching showers.
While the more contemporary rooms are decorated in soft lilacs and blues fitted with the same luxurious furnishing. We have King Size and Twin en-suite rooms available.
The City Arms is a long establish public house offering Great Food, using the freshest, locally sourced ingredients from across Somerset. To create a range of contemporary and classic dishes, coupled with Award Winning Local Ales and Ciders to residents and non residents. All rooms include Breakfast that we serve from 9am. We can also arrange a Continental Breakfast if you need to check out earlier.

Picture of The City Arms, Wells at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 29 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
75% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

few inprovements would be good
room lovely, clean and comfy, friendly staff, was clean and food good in the bistro bar,
sorry to say the breakfast needs refining, no fruit or yogurt on offer, long waiting times for cooked breakfast, last day no chef turned in so just had toast. we travel around quite a lot and breakfast
is something to look forward to, bit of a let down.

Reviewed by
jackie w

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely central inn
Lovely, friendly inn right in the centre of Wells. No on site parking but we were prepared for this and parked in a pay car park less than 3 minutes walk away at the cost of £6 for 24 hours.
We stayed overnight in room one. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable. King sized bed, good sized TV, decent wardrobe and lots of additional storage space if you are intending to stay longer..Clean, bright bathroom with very good shower. Good quality towels and complementary toiletries.
We ate lunch at the restaurant, we had starters and a Sunday roast both of which were exceptionally well cooked and beautifully presented. The food was very reasonably priced for the quality. The waitresses were very attentive and anticipated all our needs.
We didn't eat in the pub for our evening meal as there are so many pubs and interesting restaurants in Wells to choose from. When we came back later in the evening the pub and restaurant looked to be very busy, so obviously a popular venue.
Breakfast is served from 9am to midday. We chose to have the full English which was cooked to perfection. There are other options available including vegetarian.
Check out is by 11am which gave us plenty f time to have a lie in, a leisurely breakfast before having to pack our overnight bag and leave.
All in all it was a lovely stay, room great, food wonderful, staff very friendly and helpful. We will definitely return as our son lives in the area and will certainly recommend to friends and family

Reviewed by
Diana H

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

clean friendly and very central
Had a really nice stay, with friendly staff and accommodation steeped in history. breakfast was A1

Reviewed by
c muller

From King's Lynn, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Trip to Wells
A lovely old building steeped in history. The bedroom was beautifully furnished with very up to date bathroom. Extremely friendly service and excellent value for money.

Reviewed by
Lindsey Bevis

From Poole, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice room, shame about the privacy
Large spacious room, but...
There was no prior warning that the bathroom/loo was open plan within the room. The bathroom area is not a private enclosed room but only screened off within the room. There are photos of the room on their website but the lack of privacy is not obvious if you don't already realise. Had we known we would not have booked this room. This only appears to be the case in room 3 - photos of the other rooms appear to show a private bathroom.
We stayed for 2 nights and we were further disappointed by the fact that our radiators were turned off by the cleaner whilst we were out. When we returned to the room late evening, the room was very cold. We tried turning the radiators back on but the boiler (for the whole building) had gone off and there was no other means of heating in the room. Brrrrr. We did mention this at breakfast and the owner was very apologetic and said she'd speak to the cleaner about it. Stable door and horse really...
Internal walls seemed quite thin. We could hear the tv in the adjoining room and an alarm at 4:30 one morning.
Nice breakfast.

Reviewed by
nige m

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

City Arms - The Olde City Jail
Gorgeous spacious room with massive shower and exposed beams - however more emphasis should be made on the fact that it used to be the city jail and contain more local paraphernalia.

Reviewed by
Helen D

From Hereford, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay in Wells
We booked a last minute weekend stay in Wells. The City Arms was a great location, being very central and within short walking distance of the cathedral and next to the main shopping street. On street parking was available overnight, but entailed a bit of moving of the car between car parks. The room was recently renovated and the quality of decoration was high. However, cleaning could have been better - the half used soap and showergel from the previous occupant was still in the bathroom and the sink and shower tray had not been properly cleaned. the main issue with the room was the cold. the heating had not been turned on before we checked in, so it took a while for the room to warm up after we checked in late afternoon. the following morning, the radiators did not come on until 8am and we sat in bed with coats on. Breakfast was fine - reasonable choice on the menu and good quality when it arrived. Again, though the breakfast room was very cold. We would stay again, but not in winter.

Reviewed by
Neil A

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money, super hosts extremely warm welcome & very helpful throughout the stay.
Would stay again & recommend to others

Reviewed by
J Colley

From BARRY, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were dealt with politely and in a very friendly manner. The breakfast was excellent

Reviewed by
Alison Smethurst

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just what it says on the tin
We were met by a staff member who was warm and welcoming, and who was eager to provide any assistance that we might require; I believe it was Penny the owner/manager.
Our room, and the area it was housed in, appeared to be newly completed, with building materials of a high standard. Or room was , and in the eaves of this medievil building, with white painted rof timbers; a good idea. The bathroom was new and luxurious, with fixtures and fitting being well-chosen; classy and less-is-more; worked beautifully. The walk-in shower is massive, with a monsoon head; could have stayed in there all day.
The City Arms is perfectly situated in Wells centre, and provides all the traveller needs, plus accommodation and all the requirements in the form of a hostelry complete with all-day food, drink and cosy sitting areas. We met three staff member during our stay; all were charming and provided all that we needed.
Breakfast was cooked to perfection...which is something we've not had during our many stays in Wells over many years!!

Reviewed by
Penny Williams

From Usk, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 Next