No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The City Arms

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
69, High Street , Wells, BA5 2AG
The City Arms is set in the heart of the famous Cathedral City of Wells a perfect location for visiting the county’s most popular attractions. The City Arms is a unique and historic building that dates back to 1635 when it became The Old City Jail. Many features can be found in the Bar area, including the Solitary Cell, Barred Windows and artefacts from the period.
The accommodation is an addition added in April 13, when we changed from a public house to an Inn. With the addition of four spacious and luxurious en-suite bedrooms that have been individually designed, yet sympathetic to the buildings history and planning.
Each room includes large drenching showers or wet rooms they are spacious and all have flat screen TV’s, complimentary toiletries and tea/coffee making facilities.
We have two master suites which have period vaulted ceilings. The master suites are decorated with rich red, black and cream interiors and luxurious furnishings to match. Both suites are open plan with walk in bathrooms with wet rooms and drenching showers.
While the more contemporary rooms are decorated in soft lilacs and blues fitted with the same luxurious furnishing. We have King Size and Twin en-suite rooms available.
The City Arms is a long establish public house offering Great Food, using the freshest, locally sourced ingredients from across Somerset. To create a range of contemporary and classic dishes, coupled with Award Winning Local Ales and Ciders to residents and non residents. All rooms include Breakfast that we serve from 9am. We can also arrange a Continental Breakfast if you need to check out earlier.

Picture of The City Arms, Wells at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 25 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
76% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice room, shame about the privacy
Large spacious room, but...
There was no prior warning that the bathroom/loo was open plan within the room. The bathroom area is not a private enclosed room but only screened off within the room. There are photos of the room on their website but the lack of privacy is not obvious if you don't already realise. Had we known we would not have booked this room. This only appears to be the case in room 3 - photos of the other rooms appear to show a private bathroom.
We stayed for 2 nights and we were further disappointed by the fact that our radiators were turned off by the cleaner whilst we were out. When we returned to the room late evening, the room was very cold. We tried turning the radiators back on but the boiler (for the whole building) had gone off and there was no other means of heating in the room. Brrrrr. We did mention this at breakfast and the owner was very apologetic and said she'd speak to the cleaner about it. Stable door and horse really...
Internal walls seemed quite thin. We could hear the tv in the adjoining room and an alarm at 4:30 one morning.
Nice breakfast.

Reviewed by
nige m

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

City Arms - The Olde City Jail
Gorgeous spacious room with massive shower and exposed beams - however more emphasis should be made on the fact that it used to be the city jail and contain more local paraphernalia.

Reviewed by
Helen D

From Hereford, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay in Wells
We booked a last minute weekend stay in Wells. The City Arms was a great location, being very central and within short walking distance of the cathedral and next to the main shopping street. On street parking was available overnight, but entailed a bit of moving of the car between car parks. The room was recently renovated and the quality of decoration was high. However, cleaning could have been better - the half used soap and showergel from the previous occupant was still in the bathroom and the sink and shower tray had not been properly cleaned. the main issue with the room was the cold. the heating had not been turned on before we checked in, so it took a while for the room to warm up after we checked in late afternoon. the following morning, the radiators did not come on until 8am and we sat in bed with coats on. Breakfast was fine - reasonable choice on the menu and good quality when it arrived. Again, though the breakfast room was very cold. We would stay again, but not in winter.

Reviewed by
Neil A

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money, super hosts extremely warm welcome & very helpful throughout the stay.
Would stay again & recommend to others

Reviewed by
J Colley

From BARRY, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were dealt with politely and in a very friendly manner. The breakfast was excellent

Reviewed by
Alison Smethurst

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just what it says on the tin
We were met by a staff member who was warm and welcoming, and who was eager to provide any assistance that we might require; I believe it was Penny the owner/manager.
Our room, and the area it was housed in, appeared to be newly completed, with building materials of a high standard. Or room was , and in the eaves of this medievil building, with white painted rof timbers; a good idea. The bathroom was new and luxurious, with fixtures and fitting being well-chosen; classy and less-is-more; worked beautifully. The walk-in shower is massive, with a monsoon head; could have stayed in there all day.
The City Arms is perfectly situated in Wells centre, and provides all the traveller needs, plus accommodation and all the requirements in the form of a hostelry complete with all-day food, drink and cosy sitting areas. We met three staff member during our stay; all were charming and provided all that we needed.
Breakfast was cooked to perfection...which is something we've not had during our many stays in Wells over many years!!

Reviewed by
Penny Williams

From Usk, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This hotel is lovely and friendly, perfect for a relaxing short break. Clean rooms with really friendly staff. Thank You Dawn :-)

Reviewed by
Gina B

From Dunstable, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A must stay or visit for anyone
I was a bit skeptical about staying here due to the cost of the room however I have to say was very pleasantly surprised when we arrived. We were greeted by a lovely lady called dawn. Could not have done enough for us throughout our 3 night stay. Was showed to our room although would say that as you have to go outside the wooden stairs would need repairing as I can imagine they will become quite slippery in the winter.
The room was absolutely stunning. The best room I have ever stayed in. Very very clean, lovely bathroom just excellent all round
The bar area was really nice, all the staff made you feel very welcome. There are 2 talented young chefs here and the food was amazing and I am usually very fussy. Would so highly recommend this place. I would love to return in the near future.

Reviewed by
Lisa Hamson

From Andover, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely and welcoming venue
A welcoming hotel and Dawn was wonderful. Only negative comment is lack of soundproof properties between our room and next door. Conversations could be heard clearly late into the night and early In the morning. Felt uncomfortable and lacked privacy as a result.

Reviewed by
David B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Old Manuel
A comfortable room but a chair for clothes would have been useful. The bed was a little soft for me.
The main problem was that the Chef overslept and the cooked breakfast wasn't served until 9.40am. The waiter (in the style of Manuel) did his best to cover. When the Chef finally arrived the food was excellent, as it had been at dinner the night before. An amusing stay but had we been in a greater hurry it would have been annoying.

Reviewed by
Martin C

From Ulverston, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 Next