Reviews - Anchor Hotel


John Martin Street, Haydon Bridge,, Hexham, NE47 6AB

Price From 168.10 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (24)

96% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Neil H

  • November 2015

Anchor Hotel

Very comfortable with a warm welcome from the staff.

The hotel is tastefully decorated and the dining area very nice. The breakfast was really nice, freshly cooked and served with a smile on warm plates.

  • John G

  • August 2015

A nice place to stay.

Despite laterooms messing up the booking, the staff were pleasant and helpful.

Nothing was too much trouble, and for the modest cost, the rooms were superb. Food quality and portion size was way above average, sorry, that should read excellent. The young ladies waiting and serving were happy and pleasant. I would recommend the Anchor to anyone.

  • E Smith

  • April 2015

Good quality and value

Stayed here for one night.

Room was nicely decorated with great view. Good value for money and breakfast was great.

  • D Wilson

  • March 2015


I can whole-heartedly recommend the Anchor: Due to my own error, I had made a mistake in booking and yet Steve and his staff did their utmost to rectify the problem: They really made our stay a super one.

The rooms were excellent (pretty and clean), the food was first class and everyone we met was friendly and helpful. We will definitely go back!


  • February 2015

Great place

Ideally located for visitors who are into history.

Hadrians wall sites etc. Friendly staff. Amazing breakfast. The pub downstairs does lovely home made food. Quality and quantity. Make sure your hungry before ordering. Overall, very good and will be returning when i get the energy to drive that far again!

  • A Wood

  • December 2014

Quaint, friendly hotel

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Beautiful accomodation in beautiful surroundings. Will certainly be returning and would highly recommend to all family and friends.

  • Chris H

  • December 2014

very friendly pub

Great pub,friendly staff,clean,comfortable and reasonably priced.

What more do you need?

  • Stephen B

  • December 2014

This is what a weekend retreat is meant to be

After months and months of promising it, I finally introduced my girlfriend to the joys of Newcastle and the Tyne Valley - some of my favourite parts of the UK.

We travelled up to Newcastle on Friday evening and stayed in one of the new chain hotels situated next to the station - it was warm and comfy, with pleasant staff etc, but completely lacking in any personality. Just a bed for the night, and not much else really. What a contrast The Anchor was on Saturday night - genuinely friendly and helpful staff you could have a real conversation with, a room (no.10 I think it was) that instantly felt homely and welcoming (so much so, we barely wanted to leave it when our bellies started rumbling for food), and food in the restaurant that was a cut above the norm. We'd originally considered spending our Tyne Valley night in Hexham so we could look around the old town, but when we found all the local hotels were booked-up we looked at Haydon Bridge instead (hey, I'm an AFC Wimbledon fan, and our mascot is Haydon the Womble - I couldn't say no really). We were travelling by train and as Haydon Bridge is only a few minutes away from Hexham, with the hotel only a five minute walk from the station, it all made sense. The room was clean and free of dust or any of those strange musty smells you sometimes get in an old building. The bed was soft but supportive, with plenty of options for adding or removing layers - and unlike our previous night in Newcastle we never felt the need to adjust the heating/air-conditioning - the temperature was just right and never needed adjusting except for closing the window after dark. I guess the only way to sum things up is to say whether I'd go again. The simple answer is yes. We're just trying to work out some dates for the new year and we'll be back. We'll be stopping three or four nights at least, to give us time to take advantage of the walks in the area and to investigate a few of the local pubs too ;-)

One other thing if you're travelling in the area and plan on using the very good local trains. I can heartily recommend the North Country Rail Rover - search for "North Country" on the National Rail website (I think they hide these tickets in the hope nobody finds them) - we travelled from Harrogate to Newcastle on the Friday, then to Hexham and Haydon Bridge on the Saturday, and then back to Harrogate via the Settle & Carlisle on the Sunday - that ticket saved us a fortune in fares, especially with our Two-Together railcard. We even had a day spare that we used the following weekend.

  • Myron K

  • September 2014

Great little hotel and great service

We attended a wedding at the Langley Castle Hotel and needed to stay for two nights.

The Langley Castle Hotel wanted £340 for two nights stay so we decided to book this hotel instead as the price was less than half and only 5 minutes away from the wedding venue. We came across some other people staying here that were attending the wedding anyway, so it worked well for us. This little hotel is situated in a quiet village just by the river. The rooms are good, comfortable and clean. The hotel has a well-stocked cosy bar with drinks at competitive prices and the owner and staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful. Apart from the breakfast, which is included in the price, we didn't eat at the hotel. However, the breakfast was very good and the huge locally sourced sausages were to die for. We were not disappointed with this hotel and we had a wonderful time. We would definitely stay there again and would highly recommend it.

  • A Long

  • August 2014

The only reason I have knocked down the "quality of the room" is because there wasn't a full length mirror, which would have been nice when getting ready.

I managed ok with the small one above the sink though. The room was clean and well presented. Even had a little "brew station". We stayed here for a "roof over our heads" as we were only in the area for a short while. It was well placed and the cooked breakfast was impressive.