No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Smart Camden Inn

2Self Classified Hostel Ratings explained
55-57 Bayham Street , London, NW1 0AA
Located one street off of Camden High Street, you will find yourself immersed in the diverse and popular culture of Camden just outside the front door! Home to great celebrities like Amy Winehouse; Camden is a cultural melting-pot of modern art, music and contemporary clothing and style and the world-famous Camden Market is just a few metres down the road!

Majority of all the rooms have en-suite facilities, with its own shower and toilet facilities making it a perfect place to stay.
Our hostel has 24 hour reception, FREE continental buffet breakfast, FREE unlimited Wi-Fi in the common ares and internet cafe, TV common room, self-service laundry and dryer facilities, no lockout or curfew, travel shop and much more. To get Internet access in the rooms there is an extra charge of £1.

The local transport links are great; we are located 5 minutes walking distance from Camden Town Station.

Beat the long queues and buy Fast Track tickets to all the major London attractions such as Madame Tussauds, London Eye, Tower of London and many directly from our reception desk. We also sell discounted theatre tickets to all major shows in the West End of London.

Whether it's the shopping, the bars, the pubs, the music clubs or the celebrity-spotting, you will enjoy your time in Camden!

** Important Information **
- Photo ID required at the check-in,
- £10 refundable deposit (cash) required at the check-in,
- Credit card payment fee of 3% or £0.50,
- Locker fee £1.50,
- Late check-out fee of £10,
- Customers under the age of 16 must be accompanied by an Adult.Customers under 13 years old must be booked into private accommodation. The minimum age to stay at our hostels is The recommended age to stay at our hostels unaccompanied is from 16 onward.
Picture of Smart Camden Inn, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 10 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
50% recommended this accommodation to a friend 50% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Basic - Stairs narrow and steep - Room/Dormatory was cramped - Food was poor

Reviewed by
Dave P

From Harlow, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic but great
Good quality basic hostel with very good hospitality!

Reviewed by
B Mason

From Salford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Was charged £27 on arrival, expecting £17. After I paid was explained the £10 deposit. Other accessories available at a large premium. Suspected reselling of some cleaning items. Bedrooms small, but wasn't expecting much for the price. Regardless, great value for a hostel in this location

Reviewed by
M Whipple

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Breakfast was nothing more than toast or cereal, NOT buffet at all, breakfast staff were sat at the table and left less room for guests to be seated. Noise was shocking of a night. Receptions staff were always more than helpful

Reviewed by
Sarah C

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay
I have stayed here many times. Very friendly and helpful staff, clean bathrooms and rooms, great location!

Reviewed by
Hannah M

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Does what it says on the tin
Very happy with service, my only issue was the bunkbed being so low I head butted it a few times...

Reviewed by
Adam H

From Sheerness, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An absolute disgrace
Booking this hostel was one of my mistakes that I will never forget rest of my life. Its only worth staying in, sorry its not worth it. No matter how cheap they advertise its still not worth any of your hard earn money.

Reviewed by
a ehsan

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Does what it says on the tin.

Reviewed by
geraldine f

From Longfield, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worst hostel experience in London - not even worth £20 a night
The Smart Camden Inn deserves its appalling rating on Laterooms.com and I am very sorry that I neglected to listen to the other reviews. I found this hostel a horrible place to stay. From having to make your own bed to having to pay extra just to secure my belongings this stay was a nightmare. Upon returning later on in the evening I went back to my room and saw that the pillow I had prepared myself was gone and one of the other 5 travellers had taken it. I informed the man at the desk who told me I should look better as there are pillows provided for every bed. Thanks a lot Sherlock but the room is tiny and there was no sign of it. TERRIBLE customer service. the facilities were also shocking. Bins weren't emptied and no duvet cover was supplied - only 2 sheets and a cheap and nasty pillow case. The duvet cover looked about 20 years old and I reluctantly used it - albeit fully clothed. The shower unit was horrid and smelt as if someone or something had died in there. There were also no available plug portals to charge my mobile phone and the doors slam shut which is extremely irritating when you're sharing a room with 5 others.
I decided to leave asap in the morning and skipped breakfast entirely. I think it would have been better to save £20 and sleep in a doorway that night.

Reviewed by
David M

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap but not cheerful.
I wasn't expecting much, its a Hostel for £13.50. Iv'e stayed in a few hostels and know not to expect much. Don't expect anything here, from the moment I got to the front door where people was smoking cannabis outside the front door, not greeted at all by reception, if anything there quite rude. Then walking into a room which was mixed gender, then probably the worst part was the mattress, it was flat and awful, I imagine there being better mattress's in prisons it was that bad. Just read the rest of reviews, spent a little extra and go some place else.

Reviewed by
S Dudley

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.