No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Railway Inn

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Station Road, Culham, , Abingdon, OX14 3BT
The Railway Inn is Traditional Inn and restaurant with affordable and comfortable accommodation with a 3 Star QIT and AA Awards . The Railway Inn provides a friendly and informal service for business and leisure travellers alike. It is situated at Culham Railway Station on the main Oxford to Paddington Rail line. It has easy access to the A34, M40 and M4. Close to the Thames Path walks and Culham MotoX. The Railway Inn is spacious and attractively decorated throughout, with a public bar, restaurant and garden. The Public Bar serves ever changing Cask ales and has a games room with Pool, Bar billiards, Darts, Games machines and Tv with BT Sport showing Football, Rugby, Formula 1 and more!The Dining room can seat 50 people. The menu covers Steaks, Mixed grill, Home made pies, something for everyone. Special dietary requirements can be catered for. Dining room serves lunchtime 12 to 2.30pm an 6 to 9pm. Breakfast is cooked to order and served 6am to 9am weekdays and 7am to 9am Saturday and Sunday. Cereals, fruit and porridge are also available for breakfast and a selection of Tea, Coffee, Well Being hot drinks, Hot Chocolate from the Flavia machine. All meat produce is sourced locally from a top butcher ensuring the best quality meat possible. Accommodation consists of 9 rooms. Family rooms have a double and single bed. Double rooms have a double bed and Twin rooms have 2 single beds. All rooms are en-suite, non-smoking, dressing table and stool, wardrobe, flat screen tv, bedside cabinets with lamps, free WiFi and tea/coffee making facilities. Latest Check in 10pm. The garden has established planting, tables and a bar-b-q for summer events. Children are welcome to stay but must be supervised. Dogs are also welcome. However, they are not allowed in the Dining room whilst people are eating, must be kept on leads, not to be left alone in rooms and any damage caused will be charged for. The Railway Inn also has a 5,000 square foot Marquee for hi
Picture of The Railway Inn, Abingdon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 40 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel but you must like trains or sleep like a log
This a really lovely place run by friendly people who make you feel more than welcome (even if you turn up after 10:00 at night as I did!) Breakfast is super and rooms clean and neat. The only thing to consider is that it IS the RAILWAY Inn right next door to the station with trains running all night. NOT a place for a light sleeper. For me the trains were handy as they drowned out what I can only assume was a rhino snoring next door!!

Reviewed by
Deborah Wylie

From Sleaford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The train didn't take the strain
Very pleasant Inn, with excellent breakfast, a ten-mile drive from Abingdon, but with the main railway line adjoining it is extremely noisy with trains thundering through the village station all night long, making it difficult, if not impossible to sleep. But, the Inn prospectus does tell you that, so it's not an excuse ! Very pleasant staff and clean.

Reviewed by
Michael Vimpany

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hidden gem
This place is really a hidden gem. It is off the beaten track next to the railway station but don't think this is a minus. The station is like stepping back in time. It is not a busy station and the trains whizz past without you really noticing. Very quiet at night, certainly didn't stop us sleeping and we slept with the window open. The hosts are really friendly and the food was excellent and very reasonably priced. The chef is a jolly fellow. Lovely room with nice comfy bed. Great location for Oxford and other locations, park and ride just down the road. Stayed 3 nights, wanted to stay longer but booked up. Will certainly stay there if in the area again.

Reviewed by
GILLIAN H

From Rochdale, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent room, comfy bed.
Lovely room , comfy bed and a proper sized bath. I even liked the whoosh of the trains (my room looked down onto the platforms.)
Great staff too, very helpful.

Reviewed by
Anthony B

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant, friendly staff unfortunately there was a party on the night we stayed and the dining room was shared with the party and therefore very noisy - either the dining room should have been closed or guests asked to eat early to avoid the party.

Reviewed by
Vanessa Parr

From Uxbridge, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Railway Stopover
Very friendly, excellent value

Reviewed by
Mike E

From Billericay, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One Of The Best
This was my first stay at the Railway Inn I am going to recommend this to all of my friends, family etc and have already booked another stay
On arrival i was warmly greeted by the owner and after a swift check in i was shown to my room which i found to be spotless, in the evening i had a few drinks in the bar and the staff were very friendly, polite and are a credit to the owners and the Railway Inn
I had breakfast in the morning again the staff were talkative but more importantly the breakfast was cooked to order and nice and hot and i really enjoyed it
All ready looking forward to my next stay in September

Reviewed by
David M

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice B&B
Very nice for single or couples with very good service from all staff. Great value for money and very clean and tidy.

Reviewed by
Michail A

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel/pub is tucked away off the main road leading to the small train station, not the busiest in the world.
Reception was very good and very friendly
Was shown to room and .was surprised how big it was suitable for a family of 3.
Very clean all round, good clean shower, no complaints.
Food in the dining room lots to choose from and a good selection of home cooked produce.
Food very good value and all good portions.
Bar was well stocked and being a free house the beer was outstanding four real ales on offer. iIt would have been rude not to try them all.
Breakfast is from am, yes am how rare is that. Full English was very good and plenty on offer for the healthy choice.
Have booked again for next week without hesitation.

Reviewed by
Ian S

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable
I stayed here with my brother and dad while on a fishing trip. We had the family room that was at the very top of the pub. The room was clean, tidy and comfortable and the shower was spot on if a little cramped. The train line next door was noisy at first but you soon get used to it and don't even notice it after a while. The staff were all friendly and happy to help.

Reviewed by
S Barritt

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next