No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ty Mawr B&B and Tearoom

Not Classified  Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Ty Mawr Rhyd Ddu, Caernarfon, LL546TL
Ty Mawr is located at the foot of Mount Snowdon. There is no B&B closer to Snowdon than our place. The Rhyd Ddu Path to the summit starts 200 meters away, the Snowdon Ranger path starts 1.5 miles away. We are an ideal base for walkers, cyclists and steam train enthousiasts (as the Welsh Highland Railway passes through Rhyd Ddu). Behind the B&B you'll find Mynydd Mawr and the popular Nantlle Ridge. A new feature to the village is going to be a multifunctional path to Beddgelert, it will open in May.
At the end of the day you can relax in the Tearoom and enjoy one of Menno's Dutch pancakes!
Picture of Ty Mawr B&B and Tearoom, Caernarfon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 13 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely cosy B&B
Emma and Menno are great hosts, very friendly and knowledgeable of the area. Room was cosy, warm and welcoming. Breakfasts and cakes are excellent. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
marcia thompson

From Stroud, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent B&B, ideally situated fro Snowdon
Emma and Menno are extremely helpful, friendly and welcoming. There was a great choice for breakfast which was plentiful and delicious. The building is about 200 years old and the breakfast room/ tea room is full of quirky charm. The whole place was spotless and comfortable. It is just a few minutes walk from the Rhyd Ddu path to Snowdon and the Welsh highland railway station. A couple of minutes in the other direction is a local pub serving evening meals. The only minus point was the size of the room, which was quite small. However, that was reflected in the price so we have no complaints and would thoroughly recommend a stay here.

Reviewed by
Deborah S

From Guildford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great snowdon experience
A great place to stay for your Wales experience. The owners are kind friendly and helpful, the accomodation is good, and the little touches make it a good experience. I especially enjoyed the home made biscuits put in the room with the tea and coffee.

Reviewed by
w savill

From Bromsgrove, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place, lovely people
Great location with lovely views, walks nearby, few hundred yards to pub and steam railway.
Very friendly owners and great breakfast. Free homemade traybakes with tea and coffee facilities!
Highly recommended

Reviewed by
Louisa P

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

snowdonia in the rain
Stayed here for 2 nights and were made to feel very welcome.Could see Mount Snowden from our bedroom window, but due to bad weather could not reach the summit !! Will be going back to try again & will definately stay at Ty Mawr. Only 15 minute drive to centre of Caernarfon so why not visit the castle when it rains. Marvelous.

Reviewed by
valentina f

From Gloucester, England
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very warm welcome, rooms were clean and comfortable
Emma and Menno were friendly, very helpful.

Reviewed by
Sudesh Mukunda

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fab place to stay
Had a fab one night stay here and will definitely be returning. A lovely warm welcome and the room was clean if a little on the small side. Thought it was in a remote location from reading a previous review but not so. There is a great pub in the village with a good selection of real ales and although we didn't eat there the food looked lovely. A great place for walking Snowdon and the hearty breakfast will set you up for the day.

Reviewed by
Teresa Binns

From Wrexham, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent friendly B & B
We really enjoyed our stay here the hosts are very friendly and inviting and also knowledgeable of the surrounding area. All the food is home made to order. Amazing breakfast the Dutch pancakes are great and one of the best full English breakfasts. We are looking forward to returning

Reviewed by
Tracey C

From Buxton, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and well located for ramblers/passing through
Emma and her husband were fabulous hosts, very warm and friendly people. The location is very isolated but wonderfully placed. Stunning scenery, excellent for photographers and wildlife watchers. The mattress needs updating as we rolled into the middle often during the night. The earplugs were a nice touch! The room was a little small and the quality of the room was not reflected in the price. The choice at breakfast was fantastic and highly recommend 'the Dutch one'.

ManagementResponse

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review, and we are glad you enjoyed your short stay here overall. About the mattress – I’m sorry you didn’t sleep all that well, all of our mattresses were replaced at the end of last year with memory foam ones!

Reviewed by
Keely J

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

human touch
We weren't looking to luxuriate. We were there for the mountains. You could not get a warmer more sincere hosting couple. Rooms very simple. Shared bathroom adequate. Everything very clean. Breakfast excellent! Coffee fantastic! If the hosts could have done any more they would have! Thank you.

Reviewed by
Christine F

From Huddersfield, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next