No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Beaches Guest House

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
12 Crescent Avenue, West Cliff, , Whitby, YO21 3ED
We look forward to welcoming you to The Beaches Guest House. We provide a hearty full english breakfast using fresh local produce with vegetarians and special diets catered for as well. Breakfast is served between 8.15AM and 9.00AM. We offer a choice of cereals, chilled fruit juice, yoghurts, tea & coffee, toast & home made preserves, and a full cooked breakfast. Our full cooked English breakfast consists of local back bacon, finest quality sausage, grilled tomatoes, buttered mushrooms, baked beans and fried eggs. Alternatives & variations are available on request. All our guest rooms have flat screen TVs, hairdryers, complimentary tea & coffee trays ,central heating and tasteful decoration. Laundry facilities are available upon request. Most rooms are en suite with power showers. We can accommodate dogs, please phone to discuss requirements prior to booking. We welcome families & cater for babies & toddlers as well as older children, we can provide a cot with blankets as well as a high chair in the dining room. Secure parking available for motor bikes, mopeds & pushbikes. Plenty of free parking available on the streets and seafront. At busy times leisure centre car park opposite costs 5 pounds for 24 hours. We can only accept payment for accommodation by cash (pound sterling) or cheque. Check in time is between 2 & 5pm although alternative times can be arranged. Please phone to discuss if necessary. We ask guests to check out by 10AM on the day of departure. A minimum stay of 2 nights at weekends between Easter and November and during August events such as Whitby regatta and Whitby folk week the same policy applies.
Picture of The Beaches Guest House, Whitby at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 24 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
75% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm host - good B&B
On arrival Tamsin was welcoming. Our room was clean and the bed was Comfy. Our only gripe, and a minor one at that, was that breakfast finished at 9am. The full English was OK, but not spectacular! But for £35 each wasnt bad value for money .

Reviewed by
sally k

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It was clean and tidy
We enjoyed our stay and would stay there again

Reviewed by
p quinn

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we wanted quirky.
Clean room however as advertised as ensuite our shower room was down the hallway.Window didn't open in bedroom making for quite a stuffy atmosphere.Woken by extractor fan at about 5.30am.Breakfast well ye whatever .......

Reviewed by
Lee Booth

From Barnoldswick, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Beaches Guest House
Room was quite small and a bit shabby. e.g battered lamp shades and door missing from wardrobe.

Reviewed by
d osborne

From Hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant location close to the centre of town, warm welcome, clean room and excellent breakfast
Tamsin was friendly and welcoming yet left us to our own devices. She had arranged for my breakfast to be wheat free (no toast or sausages) and even gave me bonus hash browns. Would definitely stay here again and would recommend to anyone.

Reviewed by
Laura Cook

From Shipley, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay
We arrived at Beaches and we were greeted with a warm welcome by Tamsin who chatted to us about our stay and car parking facilities in the area. We were offered a pass to enable us to park on the street however we didn't need it as had parked in car park nearby. Tamsin explained that she had had a cancellation and offered us another room with ensuite and sea view (room 7) for a small upgrade. The room was cosy and clean, the view was of the Abby and the village itself with a sea view in the distance. There was a TV in the room however it was quite small and ideally needed to be closer to the bed as we struggled to view it however we didn't come to Whitby to watch TV so wasn't a major problem. The shower took a while to warm up before it could be used.
Breakfast was served between 0815 and 0900 and although the girl serving the breakfast was friendly and it was lovely we felt it was too early.
Checkout was at 1000 but we had to leave for 0900 as the car ticket had run out, on leaving and paying the bill (cash only no card payments) Tamsin asked what our plans were, we liked how friendly she was and would much prefer someone who was like this than someone who wouldn't acknowledge us so we disagree with other reviewers who feel she was 'too much'.
All in all we enjoyed our time at the guest house, the only negatives were the small TV, shower taking a while to get warm (don't stand in it straight away!) and breakfast served too early.

Reviewed by
Adam O

From Ilkeston, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a great stay, in a great B&B in a great seaside town (Whitby)

Reviewed by
j ball

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The award for the hardest bed goes to room no4
Guest house was very clean and tidy if a little basic but the bed was very hard and pillows very flat. couldn't wait to whisk your breakfast plate away as soon as you finished your mouthful it all felt a little rushed

Reviewed by
Keith Moores

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
Very good value for money!

Reviewed by
Colin S

From Ilkley, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

our stay
the beeches was fine large bedroom comfy bed breakfast was good advertised a power shower was not advertised view of Yorkshire moors was not also on vacating the beech's on leaving i was asked for cash only had my card that i booked the room with was told it was on the paperwork to pay cash could not find it neither could she with had to go to the nearest bank got lost had to use my card and will now get charged for taking money was a good stay would go again with cash

Reviewed by
k booth

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next