No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Beaches Guest House

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
12 Crescent Avenue, West Cliff, , Whitby, YO21 3ED
We look forward to welcoming you to The Beaches Guest House. We provide a hearty full english breakfast using fresh local produce with vegetarians and special diets catered for as well. Breakfast is served between 8.15AM and 9.00AM. We offer a choice of cereals, chilled fruit juice, yoghurts, tea & coffee, toast & home made preserves, and a full cooked breakfast. Our full cooked English breakfast consists of local back bacon, finest quality sausage, grilled tomatoes, buttered mushrooms, baked beans and fried eggs. Alternatives & variations are available on request. All our guest rooms have flat screen TVs, hairdryers, complimentary tea & coffee trays ,central heating and tasteful decoration. Laundry facilities are available upon request. Most rooms are en suite with power showers. We can accommodate dogs, please phone to discuss requirements prior to booking. We welcome families & cater for babies & toddlers as well as older children, we can provide a cot with blankets as well as a high chair in the dining room. Secure parking available for motor bikes, mopeds & pushbikes. Plenty of free parking available on the streets and seafront. At busy times leisure centre car park opposite costs 5 pounds for 24 hours. We can only accept payment for accommodation by cash (pound sterling) or cheque. Check in time is between 2 & 5pm although alternative times can be arranged. Please phone to discuss if necessary. We ask guests to check out by 10AM on the day of departure. A minimum stay of 2 nights at weekends between Easter and November and during August events such as Whitby regatta and Whitby folk week the same policy applies.
Picture of The Beaches Guest House, Whitby at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 16 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

our stay
the beeches was fine large bedroom comfy bed breakfast was good advertised a power shower was not advertised view of Yorkshire moors was not also on vacating the beech's on leaving i was asked for cash only had my card that i booked the room with was told it was on the paperwork to pay cash could not find it neither could she with had to go to the nearest bank got lost had to use my card and will now get charged for taking money was a good stay would go again with cash

Reviewed by
k booth

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
Very good value for money!

Reviewed by
Colin S

From Ilkley, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We enjoyed our stay!
The lady owner was very friendly, but we were amazed to find that she didn't have the facility to accept card payments! Luckily we had the cash without having to go back into the town to find an ATM. Another client had to retrieve his chequebook from his luggage, and made sure everyone knew about it at breakfast. Be ready to say, if you like your coffee normal or strong, otherwise you may find it served very weak indeed, that said, the Full English was delicious! The room curtains were white, and could do with having light proof linings fitted, as would many other hotels to ensure a good nights sleep. The bed was very comfy I'm happy to say! Despite these points I would recommend this guest house, it was clean, pleasantly decorated, and well situated with regard to the town, and 24hr parking. Whitby is great, well worth the trip!

Reviewed by
Colin W

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location
The guesthouse is located a short (5minute) walk from Whitby centre. The rooms aren't massive but they're comfortable and clean. Tamsin was welcoming and the young girl waitressing at breakfast was friendly and efficient. We would definitely use again if in Whitby.

Reviewed by
L Hemstock

From Newark, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accomodation very basic, comfertable bed, good shower and very clean room, in short you get what you paid fore, assitance given with on street parking. No complaints

Reviewed by
Mick Fulham

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Promising but with some problems.
The Beaches looked like other Whitby accommodation on arrival, and we were made welcome by a friendly landlady. We were shown to room 1 and unfortunately saw what was meant by other reviewers about room 1- very small for a double room with a tiny wardrobe (one door missing) and a very small television. However the room was clean and otherwise comfortable. The Abbey view was barely a view of the Abbey, although in itself this wasn't really an issue. The first problem was that the shower was cold on the evening of arrival although there was hot water to the sink. The following morning it was still too cold for a shower so we reported it to the landlady who said she would try and get it sorted that day, and offered us an alternative bathroom if it continued to be a problem. The breakfast on the first day was lovely. On returning that evening the landlady told us she had tried the shower and it was now warm. We tried it and it was better although only just warm enough for a shower. On the second morning the shower was still just about warm. We went for breakfast and the dining room was virtually full. Unfortunately the breakfast on the second day wasn't as good as the first - it could almost have been made by someone different. My partner couldn't eat hers as both egg and bacon were not cooked. Overall I was sure the Beaches is alright, but I think we had one of those unlucky weekends where it doesn't go right.

Reviewed by
Nick M

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stayed in room 7, which we found both the room and the bathroom to be spotlessly clean, the view of the abby was lovely and we had plenty of tea, coffee, etc on the complementary tray which was generously filled up every day, the breakfast was very nice and filled us up for the rest of the day, the location was excellent, taking only a few minutes to walk the sea front, i would highly reccomend staying at the beeches, Tasmin the owner was very friendly and chatty.

Reviewed by
Alaine Johnson

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My stay
Stayed in room 3 did not check we booked in with no en suit it had a private bathroom, shower was only luke warm and only trickled out.
Also the fan(shower)from the room below was very loud and the curtains did not block out any light so as off 6am it looked as if you had the lights on.

Reviewed by
S Frost

From Rochdale, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Beaches
A very enjoyable stay. Clean and comfortable and a Fantastic breakfast.

Reviewed by
Karl B

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very pleasant stay . nice room . lovely breakfast

Reviewed by
philip berry

From Liversedge, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next