Reviews - The Carpenters Arms


Harts Lane, Burghclere ,, Newbury, RG20 9JY

Price From 168.02 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (28)

93% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • James M

  • November 2015

Home from home

Second time of staying here, and so much more relaxing than a corporate budget hotel, more like staying with friends who have a nice country cottage next door to the pub.

The new owner/landlord introduced himself when welcoming me and seemed to genuinely care that I had everything I needed.

  • stephen h

  • October 2015

Good value but not ideal for a quiet romantic time.

Good accommodation and very good food but very busy due to groups of guys placed there by their companies.

Also chat in the bar in the afternoon could be a bit coarse, not a problem for me although I am sure my wife might not appreciate it. All in all good value.

  • James M

  • October 2015

Like a home from home

This is not your corporate B&B.

It's a lovely cottage with winding stairs, wonky floors yet it's still comfortable, quiet and very relaxing to stay in. My room was spacious, well decorated and comfortable. I went for the "make your own breakfast" option which was fine: tea, coffee, cereal and toast and allowed me a quick getaway in the morning.

  • Andrea R

  • October 2015

would use again

Accommodation is separate from the pub so quiet.

Breakfast is help yourself to items provided in kitchen which is a good idea for those wishing to leave early. Pub is in a lovely area and food was good (even for veggies like us). Wi-fi a bit hit and miss in the room but good in the pub. Plenty of parking right outside the accommodation block. Would definitely use again, Good value.

  • Lynne D

  • July 2015


The evening meal was excellent - thoroughly enjoyable.

Breakfast was as advised but no as enjoyable!

  • stephen h

  • July 2015

What a good idea.

The room was more like self catering accommodation with fridge and sink.

What was very helpful was the cereals/pastries etc as I needed to get out early and was not able to stay for a cooked breakfast which didn't start until 9am. Only negative was the poor wi-fi reception in the room ( number 7 ) although that didn't detract from the good ambience of the pub. Food was excellent quality and ample proportions.

  • M Thomass

  • July 2015


Stayed here over night while on a trip

Friendly staff and helpfull

Room was clean and homely

We had breakfast in the morning at extra cost

Well worth it kept us going all day

Value for money

  • Stephen C

  • July 2015

Great Pub

Character pub, with character rooms which are clean and well equipped, excellent pub food and good beer.

The service is friendly and efficient. Oh. And the landlady is a great character too !

  • Ellis D

  • May 2015

A hidden gem

Booked a night for a job interview miles away from where I'm from.

Got there and the people in the pub were very friendly. Showed to my room - a separate cottage the other side of the car park. It's cute, and very old but well looked after. I had room 6 at the top with an en suite. Lovely room size and bathroom. A brochure about the area with wifi code for use in the pub. Clean and lots of great facilities. Love the help your self breakfast. Brilliant rain shower in the bathroom. All in all a very good nights sleep!

  • Andrew L

  • April 2015

Great stay, great value.

Have stayed before.

Excellent comfortable accommodation, lovely location and great value. Love the kitchen with the supplied self service breakfast. Many thanks.