No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Carpenters Arms

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Harts Lane, Burghclere, , Newbury, RG20 9JY
The Carpenters Arms has 6 comfortable bedrooms which are located in the adjoining period property and offer quality accommodation to suit a variety of budgets. Our rates are room only but include complimentary cereals, cereal bars, bagels and pastries available from the cottage kitchen. A full cooked English breakfast is available in the pub from 8am (bookable locally at an extra charge) for those wishing a heartier start to the day! Our family room is also pet friendly. Located just four miles from Newbury and quarter of a mile from the Newbury bypass (A34, Tothill Services), in the village of Burghclere, The Carpenters Arms is also a country pub with a big reputation for its food. The Newbury area has a wealth of great days out for all the family to enjoy. Experience fun times for families at Beale Park, Bucklebury Farm Park and Krazy Klub Activity Centre. Feel history brought alive at Basildon Park, Shaw House The Sandham Memorial Chapel and Highclere Castle. Be entertained at one of three theatres in and around the town or watch the latest movies at the seven screen cinema in the town centre. The area offers superb fishing on the River Kennet, inspiring walks across the Berkshire Downs or relaxing trips on the Kennet and Avon Canal. At no cost at all you can explore Donnington Castle, Greenham Common and the Thatcham Nature Discovery Centre. ON 14TH JANUARY 2015 THE KITCHEN WILL BE CLOSED ALL DAY AND THE PUB WILL BE CLOSED UNTIL 5PM FOR ESSENTIAL ELECTRICAL WORKS, WE WILL ALSO BE UNABLE TO CHECK IN ANY GUESTS BEFORE 5PM ON THIS DAY. APOLOGIES FOR ANY INCONVENIENCE CAUSED!
Picture of The Carpenters Arms, Newbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 19 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Carpenters Arms
I have stayed here before and have always found the place excellent.
The offer of complimentary pastries in the morning is great and a big help as I'm usually out before breakfast starts. If I could make one suggestion, it is to maybe have some "to go" cups so you can make yourself a hot drink to take with you in the morning.

Reviewed by
John L

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable
Nice little pub with 6 high quality rooms

Reviewed by
Stephen s

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bed
Being over six foot tall and used to a king size bed sleeping in a standard size double proved difficult however apart from that we enjoyed our stay and would return.

Reviewed by
Richard Gravenstede

From Milltimber, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Carpenters Arms
Accommodation was excellent.

Reviewed by
John L

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Geat country accomodation minutes from Highclere castle
We had a great room which met our needs perfectly. The adjoining pub was welcoming and friendly with excellent food.

Reviewed by
laura s

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Carpenters Arms
A very friendly place to stay.

Reviewed by
John L

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely place to stay
Clean large room and was real value for money and free tea, coffee, orange juice, bagels toast and cakes.

Reviewed by
R Cawley

From Swadlincote, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business Traveller
The hotel is a pub with annex across the car park. I had a double room en-suite, which was well appointed. No wifi in room, but available in the bar area. Food was good in the evening. Breakfast from 08.00am (at an extra cost) was too late for me, but some cereal, fruit etc could be accessed in a kitchen at the bottom of the stairs to the accommodation. The pub appears to be popular, with a some real ales on offer (although I did not try any). I would stay here again and recommend it for the area, particularly at the price (for the area).

Reviewed by
William S

From Stourbridge, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

decent for an overnight stop

Reviewed by
R Baker

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
Accomodation was good and staff welcoming. Though not advertised some do it your self breakfast items are available.
The shared bathroom facilities is the only downside

Reviewed by
Robert B

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next