No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Carpenters Arms

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Harts Lane, Burghclere, , Newbury, RG20 9JY
The Carpenters Arms has 6 comfortable bedrooms which are located in the adjoining period property and offer quality accommodation to suit a variety of budgets. Our rates are room only but include complimentary cereals, cereal bars, bagels and pastries available from the cottage kitchen. A full cooked English breakfast is available in the pub from 8am (bookable locally at an extra charge) for those wishing a heartier start to the day! Our family room is also pet friendly. Located just four miles from Newbury and quarter of a mile from the Newbury bypass (A34, Tothill Services), in the village of Burghclere, The Carpenters Arms is also a country pub with a big reputation for its food. The Newbury area has a wealth of great days out for all the family to enjoy. Experience fun times for families at Beale Park, Bucklebury Farm Park and Krazy Klub Activity Centre. Feel history brought alive at Basildon Park, Shaw House The Sandham Memorial Chapel and Highclere Castle. Be entertained at one of three theatres in and around the town or watch the latest movies at the seven screen cinema in the town centre. The area offers superb fishing on the River Kennet, inspiring walks across the Berkshire Downs or relaxing trips on the Kennet and Avon Canal. At no cost at all you can explore Donnington Castle, Greenham Common and the Thatcham Nature Discovery Centre. ON 14TH JANUARY 2015 THE KITCHEN WILL BE CLOSED ALL DAY AND THE PUB WILL BE CLOSED UNTIL 5PM FOR ESSENTIAL ELECTRICAL WORKS. APOLOGIES FOR ANY INCONVENIENCE CAUSED.
Picture of The Carpenters Arms, Newbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Carpenters Arms
A very friendly place to stay.

Reviewed by
John L

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely place to stay
Clean large room and was real value for money and free tea, coffee, orange juice, bagels toast and cakes.

Reviewed by
R Cawley

From Swadlincote, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business Traveller
The hotel is a pub with annex across the car park. I had a double room en-suite, which was well appointed. No wifi in room, but available in the bar area. Food was good in the evening. Breakfast from 08.00am (at an extra cost) was too late for me, but some cereal, fruit etc could be accessed in a kitchen at the bottom of the stairs to the accommodation. The pub appears to be popular, with a some real ales on offer (although I did not try any). I would stay here again and recommend it for the area, particularly at the price (for the area).

Reviewed by
William S

From Stourbridge, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

decent for an overnight stop

Reviewed by
R Baker

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
Accomodation was good and staff welcoming. Though not advertised some do it your self breakfast items are available.
The shared bathroom facilities is the only downside

Reviewed by
Robert B

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great!
Lovely place to stay, the staff were really friendly, the food was great and the room itsf was great value for money! Would really recommend this place!

Reviewed by
S Jones

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All at sea at Newbury
What a truely excellent find! it's not often you are transporting a 30ft boat mast from Lymington to Glasgow. The staff,Chrissie and Michelle went beyond the call of duty to help in any way they could. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this inn to anyone and hope to stay again on our next adventure.

Reviewed by
John O'Brien

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect stop over + great food!
We stayed here for a night while travelling between Portsmouth and Oxford. The service was friendly and attentive and the room was clean, cosy and had everything we could need. The shower was lovely too! We had pre-booked a table at the pub for dinner - we ate outside in the lovely weather in a relaxed casual atmosphere. The food was excellent pub fare, not fancy but all fresh and homemade, and the young person who served us was great. The food arrived quickly and hot. All at a very reasonable price! Overall an excellent experience - highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Louise B

From Portsmouth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just what was needed after a long day!
Booked last minute for a friend's wedding, most hotels really expensive so took what I thought was a risk by going for a pub. Such a wrong assumption, this place was fantastic. Arriving very late at night, the owner greeted me with a smile and showed me to my room. Such a lovely cottage and the most comfortable bed! Would definitely stay here again if I'm in the area.

Reviewed by
jenny l

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay we will be back!
We received a warm friendly welcome as we were shown to out accommodation, the rooms were lovely, it was like having our own little cottage. If you like glass and chrome go elsewhere, we had stripped wooden floors a lovely open fireplace and plenty of room.
It was great having a separate room for our daughter, even if the door was comically squeaky!
There was plenty of tea and coffee and a well stocked breakfast kitchen with fresh milk and juice as well as cereals bagels (yum) and pastries.
We stayed two nights and sampled the food and well kept beer in the pub. The evening food was good but the breakfast was fab!!!
Please remember to book brekki as you are room only, it's worth the extra and really set us up for the day.
The staff were all friendly and helpful and we will happily go back!

Reviewed by
Jane Pugh

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next