You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Bell Inn

2

4 HIGH ST, ILMINSTER, TA199AW

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (14)

57% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • V Williams

  • August 2016

If you're into nostalgia - 70s revisited

Not great first impression but it was ok for our needs, bed was comfortable enough.

WiFi worked well and was free. Room was serviced reasonably well each day. Breakfast wasn't til 8:30 which was far too late for us - no offer of alternative arrangement. Very dated. Walk through bar to access staircase, threadbare carpet, dead plants, poor lighting in hall. Bedroom lock was weak. The whole ambience was of the 70s, pine bed, pine cladding and wooden toilet seat, standard shower worked well, small TV with freeview. Secondary glazing muffled the traffic noise and Church chimes. Landlord was dour one minute and pleasant later. On arrival we had to phone to gain access as pub didn't open till 7:30. Parking at rear not suited for trailer. Landlord recommended a local pub to eat (they do limited food but we wanted to eat early) and this recommendation was excellent.

  • C Dell

  • July 2016

Was disappointed, landlord was away so no food offered.

lady in charge was very helpful and polite. was OK just for an overnight stay. would not go back there.

  • Paul H

  • July 2016

Apart from the room being ok I couldn't open the small window being very warm as you can imagine in the middle of July, no shower gel , there were tea & coffee in the room but when I made myself a cup of tea in the morning because no Breakfast was offered I found that the UHT milk was off so got no idea how long it's been there so over all the stay was a bit of a nightmare, won't be staying there again!!!!

  • Gillian L

  • June 2016

Ok at a push

Not a very enjoyable stay.

The bed was never made. The tea and coffee facilities were poor and when the milk was replenished it was sour.

The owner was not particularly welcoming and the only advantage was that it was near to where I needed to be. Would not stay again.

  • Diane H

  • August 2015

Stay at Bell Inn Ilminster

We had a pleasant stay at this Inn.

The accommodation was clean and tidy. Very good room with en suite for the price. Shortage of electric plugs to re-charge our phones was a bit of a problem, but we manage to a degree. Breakfast was extra, and was small, but big enough for me, and inexpensive, and very yummy.

  • ANDY PRIOR

  • August 2015

Great

great place in a great location used as a stop over on route to Cornwall

  • Nicola C

  • July 2015

Warm and Homely

I have stayed at the Bell Inn with my children a few times now.

The location suits me just fine and I love Ilminster. The bedroom is clean and comfortable, and feels homely. I like the pub environment. We all enjoy the breakfast.

  • Rebecca W

  • March 2015

Enjoyable stay at The Bell Inn

We arrived and the pub was closed, not a problem as clear instructions.

We were welcomed by Alan. He was honest about not having a wide menu but the children were well catered for and happy, portions were generous and speedy. The pub was quiet but the children were not made to feel in the way, they (and we) enjoyed the family friendly (as opposed to match) pool table. Our 8 year old enjoyed learning to play dominoes and our 10 year old enjoyed a game of chess. We enjoyed a peaceful night and breakfast was excellent the following morning. The Bell Inn doesn't pretend to be anything it isn't. It is was excellent value for money and we enjoyed being in a proper pub. Alan was most helpful and if we decide to explore Somerset further we'll happily return.

  • k stuart

  • January 2015

Basic value for money for a one night stop off.

heard all the noise from the pub downstairs. lady who was looking after the pub very friendly and welcoming.

  • D Malekout

  • December 2014

The Bell Inn.

Brilliant.