No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - St. George's Lodge

2Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
79/81 Kingston Road , New Malden, KT3 3PB
St. George’s Lodge is Awarded Two Stars in recognition of the outstanding quality and service we provide to our customers, well established and a respected B&B within the area, over 15 years. Very comfortable and welcoming facilities where a friendly and relaxing atmosphere is encouraged, close to all amenities offers accommodation set in a prime locations in New Malden and within easy walking distant to New Malden train station and APEX Tower.

All our rooms are en-suite and have been designed with comfort and relaxation in mind. They reflect the style to provide you with all your home comforts such as TV and tea and coffee making facilities. For the business traveller all rooms have access to wi-fi technology for instant internet access.
Picture of St. George's Lodge, New Malden at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 44 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
45% recommended this accommodation to a friend 50% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

'It does what it says on the tin'
Okay room, accommodation clean, staff friendly, breakfast good. Basically you get what you pay for. Fine for a short stay.

Reviewed by
Peta R

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Horrible room, not bad breakfast
The room was small with bad quality furnishings, but it seemed fairly clean.
The shower curtain had some off putting staining.
The breakfast was actually pretty good and the staff/management friendly.

Reviewed by
M Brands

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

more like a hostel
Very disappointed. We prebooked but nearly walked past this b&b as it looks nothing like the picture on the late rooms site. It's over a Korean restaurant and is very dated and poor quality. If we hadn't prepaid, we'd have looked elsewhere. Breakfast was sufficient, but we had to eat perched on stools at a shelf. £75 for a bed long past its use by date and the pervading smell of cooking did not make for a pleasant or even an acceptable stay. Dreadful...waste of money...never again! I'm surprised at late rooms listing this property..have you seen it?

Reviewed by
valerie B

From Portstewart, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

St George's Lodge New Malden
Our hosts were extremely friendly and helpful and we were made to feel welcome. For a 2 star hotel at the price we paid, the room was fine for a short stay. It would have been useful to have a hair dryer in the room. I had cooked breakfast - the food was fine, but the coffee was completely un-drinkable! It did not taste like coffee at all and I could not finish it.

Reviewed by
Sheila T

From Witney, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very late rooms
We arrived very late (1.30am) and shown to our fairly basic but comfortable room by a very welcoming gentleman. My wife and l had a pleasant night and what we had for breakfast was satisfactory.

Reviewed by
w miller

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice staff, but very basic accommodation
Helpful staff, great full English breakfast, cooked to order but breakfast 'bar' tiny and cramped; rooms are expensive for extremely basic accommodation. St Georges is a very small basic guest house in very cramped conditions and poor state of repair. It simply cannot be described as a hotel with 'luxurious ensuite bathrooms' - shower and separate toilet so small you couldn't turn round in them; handle of overhead toilet cistern (ie very old) broken and replaced with a piece of string; tiny double bed, no signal for TV or wifi and very noisy aircon outside our window from restaurant next door. Couldn't put anything in basic chest of drawers as dirty inside, with leaflets and packs of condoms left presumably by a previous guest. Difficult to find because exterior does not look anything like the picture (basically a door next to a restaurant, not pink and no pretty columns outside).

Reviewed by
Mary T

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The picture of the outside of the accommodation is totally false
And misleading. The rooms were packed close together. The room was tiny and the mattress was bumpy and vey uncomfortable as was the pillows. The shower and toilet were in the room just partitioned off by a flimsy wall with no fan to remove odours. In the morning I nearly fell down the stairs as the cleaner had left a pile if dirty laundry on the landing. We were very disappointed with the accommodation and value for money. On a positive note the welcome was pleasant there was a TV (v small ) and tea making facilities in the room. The breakfast was very nice full English

Reviewed by
j meeson

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great if you are looking for a room in a hostel
We had a good nights sleep here and the breakfast was good. This B&B however is more suited to budget travellers/back packers. The property is very tired and was not what I had expected it to be.

Reviewed by
Paul M

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Buy a tent, sleep in the car. Or the park.
Like a bad joke.
A dump. Filthy bathroom, completely void of modernity. Bad DIY everywhere no paint on doors etc.
reminded me of a cheap student landlord.
There were two bunk-type beds in the room, faded car boot pictures everywhere, dirty carpets and a horrible cupboard 'en suite' with a grimy shower cubicle.
Unwelcoming after a long drive and arrival at 10:45.
Truly a step back to the 70s...and not in a good way.
I didn't trust the cleanliness so skipped breakfast.

Reviewed by
ANdrew B

From Carnforth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It looked better on screen
Arrived too late to change to a more suitable venue - oh well, you live and learn!

Reviewed by
Graham N

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next