Reviews - Blenheim Lodge


Brantfell Road, Bowness-on-Windermere, LA23 3AE

Price From 195.59 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (29)

100% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • s jane

  • September 2015

Very helpful and accommodating owners who gave us a lovely welcome on arrival.

We stayed in the attic room. The room can feel quite quite small due to the sloping ceiling but it's spotless, comfortable, has everything you need and was just as described. Great location - easy walking distance to the town and lake and rooms very quiet. We had a really relaxing stay.

  • Keith M

  • August 2015

Room with a view

The room we had was small for a double room and the ensuite was particularly cramped it was difficult to bend over to wash and brush your teeth.

Other than that everything was very good the host was most welcoming and the view we had of the lake from was so good that we slept with the curtains open just to see it first thing in the morning.

  • P Nickson

  • August 2015

Great Views

Nice rooms, friendly service and great view, we enjoyed staying at the Blenhein Lodge, we had no problem parking, it was quiet and relaxing, its a steep hill to walk from the centre back to the hotel, if you struggle you can get a taxi for £3.50, the restaurants and bars are very nice.

  • R Lowther

  • May 2015

Great views

Just returned from a one night stay to visit friends and wanted to book a hotel in the centre of Bowness.

Room 2 although small was cosy and the cleanliness was spot on plus it had great views both up and down the lake, also the owners were very polite and friendly. Would recommend for price, friendliness and cleanliness however it is up a steep hill so take this into account.

  • E Kempthorne

  • January 2015

Relaxing by the Lake

The Lodge had the right amount of charm and warmth.

The owners were incredibly friendly, helpful and welcoming. The perfect place to relax come rain or shine. Great location for all the lakefront activities. Good selection of breakfast items too!

  • Vanessa C

  • October 2014

Welcoming and relaxing experience

I would definitely recommend Blenheim Lodge to anyone looking for a laid back, warm and 'value for money' experience.

It was located near a wide variety of restaurants and shops, and had a lovely view of the lake and far-off forest. It was only a short walk (10 mins if you walk briskly) to the waterside to go on a ferry tour, or, if you walked on for another 10-15mins, you could reach the passenger ferry, which charges 50p, which will take you across to the hiking trails. It was fabulous to be so close to everything. The Blenheim Lodge's hosts were always available if you had any questions, and were friendly. They cooked up a filling, delicious breakfast (I had the English Breakfast) which kept me full until the late afternoon. They also provided tea and coffee, toast, cereal, fruit and juice on the side.

My room was cosy and clean - no complaints there. Since I spent little time in my room, I didn't need a wide, spacious one. The bed was comfortable, there was little noise from neighbouring guests, and I had my own bathroom.

Highly recommended.

  • D Millar

  • September 2014

Fantastic Stay

Friendly owners, delish breakfasts to set you up for a day hiking round the Lakes, great location with walk starting from right outside the front door!

  • Glenn T

  • September 2014

Thoroughly enjoyable friendly Accommodation.

Had a warm welcome at the Blenheim lodge, was shown our room and invited to the lounge where we were offered a pot of coffee or tea and biscuits which was really appreciated after our journey.

Our room was very clean and well decorated, with a four poster bed which was a dream and very comfortable and the view overlooking the lake from the room stunning. My wife and I love walking and the added bonus of the Blenheim's location is that in a few yards from the Hotel is the start of the Dalesway and after a not to strenuous trek you are met with a magical view of the area, it is also a short walk to the Lake, Shops and Restaurants albeit up a bit of a steepish hill initially poses no great problem, there is also a less severe route into the middle of town if required.

We only booked two nights and after the first day on return to the Hotel we found clean bedding and towels and replenished refreshments, very impressed. The breakfast was excellent and cooked fresh and gave us a good start for the day. Janz and Robert are lovely welcoming and friendly hosts and you are made to feel well at home,

many thanks, we shall be back.

  • Lisa Nevens

  • September 2014

Beautiful lodge, friendly, helpful, clean and fabulous breakfast

  • Jill H

  • September 2014

Very helpful

This was a last minute booking as my company had made an error with my dates and my partners assistant helped to find this B&B for me while I drove from London to Windermere.

The hosts/owners were very helpful and accommodating and happy to hold my room until my late arrival. The room was small but comfortable and the poached eggs for breakfast were perfect. Many thanks for your hospitality and I would definitely stay again when next visiting Windermere.