No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Crown Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
The Crown Inn, Yatton Keynell, Giddeahall, Chippenham, SN14 7ER
Set in the picturesque hamlet of Giddeahall, near Chippenham in Wiltshire. The Crown Inn is a traditional country pub with rooms dedicated to serving fresh wholesome food to its customers at an affordable price. Located in beautiful countryside. Very close to Bath, Bristol and Castle Coombe. Enjoy our Sunday lunch offer, where you can enjoy a wide range of our delicious food, varying from Roast Beef with Yorkshire Puddings, to Roast Leg of Lamb with Fresh Seasonal Vegetables, all at an affordable rate. What better way to dine than at The Crown we offer home-cooked food as well as our Steakstone Dining Experience, where you cook your steak on hot lava stones. With its open fires and cosy warm atmosphere, you can try our range of fine wines and real ales. Why not make your visit an overnight stay? The Crown has recently refurbished a number of rooms. The Crown has officially opened up its rooms in the inn following a major refurbishment. Having undergone an £115,000 renovation the traditional Country Inn now has five double en-suite rooms available, one of which has a twin room adjoining making a family suite room. Each of the en suite rooms comes with a flat screen television, free WiFi, tea and coffee making facilities. The ceiling beams and courtyard setting give it an authentic “country” feel. Situated in Chippenham one of Wiltshire's most dynamic market towns. The combination of the old and the new, the historic architectural gems, modern shopping centres, and nearness to some of the country’s greatest houses and historic villages, makes this town midway between Bath and Swindon an ideal location for touring and access to the southern Cotswolds.
Picture of The Crown Inn, Chippenham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
71% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Moldy Kettle
The staff was very friendly and kind, I found the room in very good conditions, the area was quiet and nice, but I am so sorry in spite of all that when I woke up I could not have a breakfast properly, because the provided kettle was dirty inside and plenty of mold, I woke up early in the morning to continue to travel for work reasons (6.00am) and at this time had no staff available to provide a new kettle.
Everything was OK, except this issue, but I paid 85£ for stay just one night and finally I couldn't have breakfast in, I had to do it in another one with new expenses.

Reviewed by
R Hernandez

From , UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for visiting bath would stay again

Reviewed by
Sarah B

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely little inn!
We just stayed one night and really liked The Crown. The owner was always friendly and couldn't do enough for us. They adapted their menu to my dietary needs and the food was great. It was a bit further from Chippenham than I expected but was worth going the extra distance for.

Reviewed by
Abi M

From Bridgend, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely night away!
The Crown Inn accomodation was clean and the room was comfortable. We were a couple staying, but just one bath towel was supplied and no bath mat for shower so had to use one of the hand towels. There were no soaps or shampoos, which was a shame, but not missed as we had brought our own. The TV was tiny, but as the pub/restaurant was very friendly we didn't spend too much time watching tv. The food was ok. The menu was not extensive. A good ambience and a very pleasant and sociable staff.

Reviewed by
Judith Waring

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

well
out of the city and rush. spend a night in comfortable bed. staff is helpfull. bar and breakfast are good and fresh.

Reviewed by
arye s

From tel aviv, Israel
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No information about the pub in the room including opening times (as it was the bank holiday weekend) and information given by some staff was incorrect. Some of the bar staff tried to help (when the pub was open) but at times was waiting for someone who could help. During one evening around 22:00 someone walked into the room with another key!! This was very uncomfortable and when staff were asked about this an apology was given but they appeared to be in disbelief until the man who walked in was confirmed as another guest!! This was a shame as it appeared to be a nice place.

Reviewed by
J White

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent customer service
The staff were extremely helpful, rooms were great

Reviewed by
f lynch

From Warrington, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room lovely, staff very friendly and extremely helpful, breakfast nice but not enough. Very happy stay :-)

Reviewed by
s robinson

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel has been refurbished but is very unfinished outside. On top of the cost of our stay we paid £9.95 each for the breakfast which was poor and took ages to be served.

Reviewed by
Ellen L

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good clean accomodation. will stop again.
Exllent place, good food at a reasonable price .

Reviewed by
R Kelly

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next