The Crown Inn

3

The Crown Inn, Yatton Keynell,, Chippenham, SN14 7ER

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (21)

76% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • lynn r

  • February 2015

Basic but comfortable and warm

The Crown Inn is a lovely welcoming pub with accommodation.

The rooms are set around a courtyard and its very quiet and peaceful; although fairly basic the room. We had was comfortable and warm and for the price was very good value for money. Situated on a fairly busy road a few miles from Chippenham. It's an ideal base for exploring Bath, Malmesbury, Avebury, Cirencester etc. Overall was quite happy with our room but if it was updated and refurbished it would be excellent.

  • Alan H

  • February 2015

Lovely stay

Enjoyed my stay here, comfortable room, good food and the staff couldn't be more helpful, excellent customer service.

Would recommend The Red Lion to anyone looking to stay in the area.

  • William M

  • January 2015

Short Break

Good friendly hotel with new owners having recently taken over.

Plans for redecoration / improvement are in place but in the meantime it is clean, comfortable with good food on offer. An ideal location to visit bath and the pre historic sites at Stonehenge and Avebury.

  • Gareth M

  • January 2015

tranquil

Lovely quiet place.

Spacious room. Very friendly staff. Low mileage to nearest shops/pub/restaurants in Chippenham. Wifi access good. Only drawback was tv is very small for room size. Large selection of tea/coffee.

  • Yvonne Mills

  • January 2015

Great Value for Money

We recently stayed here and the rooms were clean, comfortable and very well priced.

The pub has been refurbished to a high standard giving it a gastro feel and the food was excellent. The best meal I have had in a pub for some time.

  • H Davies

  • October 2014

Excellent Breakfast Staff

The breakfast staff were lovely - couldn't be more accommodating and welcoming

  • Jacqueline O

  • September 2014

OK

The staff were welcoming and the bar food (fish and chips) was good.

The beds were comfortable but the room was tatty and musty-smelling and there was no bin or proper towel rail in the bathroom. There was no lock on the window so I felt I couldn't leave it open at night as it opened on to a communal area. I would eat here again but would only stay again if the room was refurbished and at a time of year when the courtyard wouldn't be used by pub customers.

  • c m

  • September 2014

Not bad, but could be better

Nice pub, on the main road.

Room in separate building on ground floor. Bedroom was fine, good size, two beds and desk, though it had a tiny TV. Unfortunately the bathroom let it down. It was a bit old and in need of an update, or at the very least a lick of paint. This I can accept, but what is unacceptable is lack of cleanliness ie cobwebs and spiders. Shame as the pub is nice, staff pleasant and food and service good.

  • barry m

  • September 2014

Comfortable stay

After booking online not knowing where it was I arrived at Chippenham station, jumped in a taxi right outside reaching the hotel in about 10 minutes.

An additional £15 because Chippenham taxis traveling into Corsham. Once I arrived and shown to my room, very surprised how big and clean my room was compared to some hotels I've stayed in, my own front door key, was like my own little cottage. Flat screen TV, double bed and desk with a fairly good sized bathroom with walk-in shower. A little dated though kind of gave it that unique country feel. Stayed here for a total of 5 nights, can't really complain for the price though we did have a small issue with the hot water this was quickly sorted and in return, all guests where bought a Chinese takeaway for free. Comfortable and friendly environment big outdoor seating areas and big screen TV in the pub. Ordered food from the bar most nights with good portions and fresh salads with breakfast and coffee in the morning. Just beware, like me with no car and travelling to work every morning you'll need to ring a taxi to visit Corsham or Chippenham centre, lots of country roads and no shops are reachable on foot. Overall, happy with my stay and I would stay here again, maybe a more welcoming smile in the morning would of been nice.

  • Michelle A

  • August 2014

Nothing too much trouble

I can't rate the Crown Inn higher.

Rea, the boss, was so accommodating right from the start, nothing seemed too much trouble for her and her staff. Room was lovely as was breakfast and even sampled dinner here one evening. Will definitely book again if passing by.