No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Crown Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
The Crown Inn, Yatton Keynell, Giddeahall, Chippenham, SN14 7ER
Set in the picturesque hamlet of Giddeahall, near Chippenham in Wiltshire. The Crown Inn is a traditional country pub with rooms dedicated to serving fresh wholesome food to its customers at an affordable price. Located in beautiful countryside. Very close to Bath, Bristol and Castle Coombe. Enjoy our Sunday lunch offer, where you can enjoy a wide range of our delicious food, varying from Roast Beef with Yorkshire Puddings, to Roast Leg of Lamb with Fresh Seasonal Vegetables, all at an affordable rate. What better way to dine than at The Crown we offer home-cooked food. With its open fires and cosy warm atmosphere, you can try our range of fine wines and real ales. Why not make your visit an overnight stay? The Crown has recently refurbished a number of rooms. The Crown has officially opened up its rooms in the inn following a major refurbishment. Having undergone an £115,000 renovation the traditional Country Inn now has five double en-suite rooms available, one of which has a twin room adjoining making a family suite room. Each of the en suite rooms comes with a flat screen television, free WiFi, tea and coffee making facilities. The ceiling beams and courtyard setting give it an authentic “country” feel. Situated in Chippenham one of Wiltshire's most dynamic market towns. The combination of the old and the new, the historic architectural gems, modern shopping centres, and nearness to some of the country’s greatest houses and historic villages, makes this town midway between Bath and Swindon an ideal location for touring and access to the southern Cotswolds.
Picture of The Crown Inn, Chippenham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 19 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 68% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Breakfast Staff
The breakfast staff were lovely - couldn't be more accommodating and welcoming

Reviewed by
H Davies

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OK
The staff were welcoming and the bar food (fish and chips) was good. The beds were comfortable but the room was tatty and musty-smelling and there was no bin or proper towel rail in the bathroom. There was no lock on the window so I felt I couldn't leave it open at night as it opened on to a communal area. I would eat here again but would only stay again if the room was refurbished and at a time of year when the courtyard wouldn't be used by pub customers.

Reviewed by
Jacqueline O

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not bad, but could be better
Nice pub, on the main road. Room in separate building on ground floor. Bedroom was fine, good size, two beds and desk, though it had a tiny TV. Unfortunately the bathroom let it down. It was a bit old and in need of an update, or at the very least a lick of paint. This I can accept, but what is unacceptable is lack of cleanliness ie cobwebs and spiders.
Shame as the pub is nice, staff pleasant and food and service good.

Reviewed by
c m

From Malvern, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable stay
After booking online not knowing where it was I arrived at Chippenham station, jumped in a taxi right outside reaching the hotel in about 10 minutes. An additional £15 because Chippenham taxis traveling into Corsham.
Once I arrived and shown to my room, very surprised how big and clean my room was compared to some hotels I've stayed in, my own front door key, was like my own little cottage. Flat screen TV, double bed and desk with a fairly good sized bathroom with walk-in shower. A little dated though kind of gave it that unique country feel.
Stayed here for a total of 5 nights, can't really complain for the price though we did have a small issue with the hot water this was quickly sorted and in return, all guests where bought a Chinese takeaway for free. Comfortable and friendly environment big outdoor seating areas and big screen TV in the pub.
Ordered food from the bar most nights with good portions and fresh salads with breakfast and coffee in the morning.
Just beware, like me with no car and travelling to work every morning you'll need to ring a taxi to visit Corsham or Chippenham centre, lots of country roads and no shops are reachable on foot.
Overall, happy with my stay and I would stay here again, maybe a more welcoming smile in the morning would of been nice.

Reviewed by
barry m

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nothing too much trouble
I can't rate the Crown Inn higher. Rea, the boss, was so accommodating right from the start, nothing seemed too much trouble for her and her staff. Room was lovely as was breakfast and even sampled dinner here one evening. Will definitely book again if passing by.

Reviewed by
Michelle A

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Moldy Kettle
The staff was very friendly and kind, I found the room in very good conditions, the area was quiet and nice, but I am so sorry in spite of all that when I woke up I could not have a breakfast properly, because the provided kettle was dirty inside and plenty of mold, I woke up early in the morning to continue to travel for work reasons (6.00am) and at this time had no staff available to provide a new kettle.
Everything was OK, except this issue, but I paid 85£ for stay just one night and finally I couldn't have breakfast in, I had to do it in another one with new expenses.

Reviewed by
R Hernandez

From , UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for visiting bath would stay again

Reviewed by
Sarah B

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely night away!
The Crown Inn accomodation was clean and the room was comfortable. We were a couple staying, but just one bath towel was supplied and no bath mat for shower so had to use one of the hand towels. There were no soaps or shampoos, which was a shame, but not missed as we had brought our own. The TV was tiny, but as the pub/restaurant was very friendly we didn't spend too much time watching tv. The food was ok. The menu was not extensive. A good ambience and a very pleasant and sociable staff.

Reviewed by
Judith Waring

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely little inn!
We just stayed one night and really liked The Crown. The owner was always friendly and couldn't do enough for us. They adapted their menu to my dietary needs and the food was great. It was a bit further from Chippenham than I expected but was worth going the extra distance for.

Reviewed by
Abi M

From Bridgend, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

well
out of the city and rush. spend a night in comfortable bed. staff is helpfull. bar and breakfast are good and fresh.

Reviewed by
arye s

From tel aviv, Israel
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next