No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Bell at Old Sodbury

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Badminton Road, Chipping Sodbury, BS37 6LL
The Bell at Old Sodbury is situated just east of the ancient market town of Chipping Sodbury, nestled at the foot of the Cotswolds and within striking distance of both Bath and Bristol, just north of the M4 and east of the M5.

Surrounded by stunning countryside, this late 18th Century British pub with rooms will delight those in search of good drink, good food and real comfort. Our four en suite letting rooms are decorated to the highest standard with large LCD TV's, Sky TV, Blu-Ray player, free WiFi and a large private car park. A family run Inn, The Bell offers a welcoming atmosphere as well as a restaurant and lounge bar, why not pay us a visit and see what other people are talking about?
Picture of The Bell at Old Sodbury, Chipping Sodbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 43 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely atmosphere
We stayed in the garden room and was small but comfy, no double glazing so could hear traffic and train but didn't take much notice..
Lee very helpful and breakfast excellent. Evening meals at the pub very good.
Lovely atmosphere, would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Shirley P

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent
excellent value for money

Reviewed by
Mark Dale

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great pub but way too much traffic noise
The accommodation here is really nice and well appointed. It represents good value for money and I had a 1st class meal during the evening with a lovely range of wines. However, the room itself was right on the main road which I didn't realise and as a light sleeper I found it very difficult to get a good night's rest. On that basis, I wouldn't stay there again unfortunately.

Reviewed by
Penny W

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room a tad small and fronted a main road which would bother some people, spotless clean (at last), staff very enthusiastic and friendly, food was very well cooked with portion size spot on for us, cannot comment on breakfast as it was served to early for us.

Reviewed by
Anthony Simms

From Haverfordwest, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the old bell
very friendly welcome and it is a lovely old pub with comfortable accommodation, the food was excellent and there was a nice atmosphere.

Reviewed by
philip h

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accommodation , food and hospitality.
Had two dogs with us , all were made very welcome.

Reviewed by
sheila jones

From Llanwrda, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Break!
Really good stay. Nice food including the evening meal and breakfast, regardless of which member of staff cooked it. Was particularly impressed by barman who told off some locals for using some colourful language. Staff were friendly and helpful. They appeared to be enjoying their jobs.

Reviewed by
Kevin W

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This accommodation rang all the Bells for me
Never stayed in a "pub"before, so I was a little apprehensive but my fears were soon put to rest. The staff were all so friendly and a credit to their employers. The room was amazing better than many hotels I have stayed in. The food was also excellent the only downside being, only full breakfast was served in the morning and as I am a fruit and yogurt person was a little disappointed, but the bacon and tomato also went down a treat!

Reviewed by
Y Earley

From Waterlooville, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very variable, depending on staff present. Room a bit grim. Place trying to make ends meet by catering to local oldies as gastropub. Not really. Some vestiges of service from management, but otherwise the worst of Wiltshire.

Reviewed by
M Riley

From Unterseen, Switzerland
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

n/a
All excellent but would recommend double glazing for front rooms as traffic noise could disturb light sleepers.

Reviewed by
Susan S

From England
Who stayed in March 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next