No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Black a Moor Inn

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
The Black a Moor Inn, Boroughbridge Road , , Ripon, HG4 5AA
Andrew, Amanda & Jake would like to welcome you to our family run establishment. We pride ourselves on our traditional home cooked food, friendly service, and great selection of real ales from Yorkshire. All situated within calming décor, roaring log fires and comfy seating which provides a friendly and relaxing atmosphere. Our food menus change on a regular basis – reflecting our use of fresh seasonal British produce, skillfully prepared by our kitchen team. Please see our sample menus or feel free to contact us with any specific menu requests and for larger bookings – we will do our best to accommodate. From the bar we serve up a great range of drinks including a regularly changing selection of real ales (local ales from some of Yorkshire’s finest breweries often feature on our bar). We’re also very proud of our ever changing wine list & our small selection of Single Malts. Unless you are local or enjoying a walk or cycle in the area, (we are just off and about half way along the Morecambe to Bridlington Coast To Coast cycle ride) the best way to get here is by car (other cycle routes and footpaths run close to the pub). We have plenty of room in our private car park. Bookings: The Black a Moor Inn is very popular and bookings are strongly advised most days. For larger bookings, private hire, reserving an area, garden functions, BBQs, canapes & much more please speak to us to see how we can tailor-make an event to suit you. We always try to keep some tables in the bar free for ‘walk in’ trade, and we do not take reservations for tables outside.
Picture of The Black a Moor Inn, Ripon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 38 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We would recommend to our friends.
We spent 1 night at the Black a Moor (a Monday), and it was even better than we expected. Lovely ground floor room decorated to a high standard, warm welcome when we arrived, very attentive service from the family and staff, and excellent food for dinner. Not only would we stay there again we would have every confidence in recommending it to our friends.

Reviewed by
David R

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We could fault the lovely room, quality of the food or the family who run the Inn.
When it is cold and damp outside a beautifull log fire, hot fresh food, i would suggest you book a table for your evening meal. You will not be disappointed freshly cooked to order, local sourced ingedients, so convenient for Skipton or Harrogate or the moors, what is not to like

Reviewed by
Barbara M

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice, lovely staff, friendly.

Reviewed by
Douglas Sutton

From Llangefni, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thoroughly recommended
Friendly unobtrusive service. Clean, comfortable and quiet

Reviewed by
Michael S

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A fantastic Hotel
A great hotel, with quality accommodation , plenty of parking and fantastic breakfast. All at a great price, highly recommended

Reviewed by
Jeremy S

From Trowbridge, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable, relaxing accomodation.
Just what we wanted, a good quality room with a welcoming bar and a menu mainly of pub favourites, very reasonably priced, with a few slightly more expensive specials. Log fires and comfortable seating, everybody's idea of a country inn. Would recommend to anyone. Only small criticism is the 9.00 a.m last orders for breakfast on a Sunday morning. Surely that could be extended to 9.30 or even 10.00 at weekends?

Reviewed by
Peter T

From Knaresborough, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good short break
Black a Moor Inn provided excellent accommodation, near to Ripon, Fountains Abbey and the Dales, very good indeed for a short break.

Reviewed by
N Broadbridge

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect weekend away for Harogate Flower Show.
Great host and very attentive during breakfast - rooms clean and tidy and beautifully decorated and well stocked for refreshments etc. Wishing we'd arrived a bit earlier so we could have had a few drinks in the bar. Highly recommended to everybody!

Reviewed by
Tom M

From Accrington, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely break
Enjoyed a lovely 2 night stay, room was great and the breakfast was fabulous. We couldn't have asked for more!

Reviewed by
Eleanor H

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

superb country hotel
A very enjoyable stay with friendly, helpful staff, a lovely clean room with all that you need, plenty of hot water, everything working. Superb dinner menu with lots of choice and wonderful breakfast too.
Excellent value - a cut above similarly priced hotels in Yorkshire, especially in the quality of the room.

Reviewed by
Paul Whittley

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next