No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Black a Moor Inn

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
The Black a Moor Inn, Boroughbridge Road , , Ripon, HG4 5AA
Andrew, Amanda & Jake would like to welcome you to our family run establishment. We pride ourselves on our traditional home cooked food, friendly service, and great selection of real ales from Yorkshire. All situated within calming décor, roaring log fires and comfy seating which provides a friendly and relaxing atmosphere. Our food menus change on a regular basis – reflecting our use of fresh seasonal British produce, skillfully prepared by our kitchen team. Please see our sample menus or feel free to contact us with any specific menu requests and for larger bookings – we will do our best to accommodate. From the bar we serve up a great range of drinks including a regularly changing selection of real ales (local ales from some of Yorkshire’s finest breweries often feature on our bar). We’re also very proud of our ever changing wine list & our small selection of Single Malts. Unless you are local or enjoying a walk or cycle in the area, (we are just off and about half way along the Morecambe to Bridlington Coast To Coast cycle ride) the best way to get here is by car (other cycle routes and footpaths run close to the pub). We have plenty of room in our private car park. Bookings: The Black a Moor Inn is very popular and bookings are strongly advised most days. For larger bookings, private hire, reserving an area, garden functions, BBQs, canapes & much more please speak to us to see how we can tailor-make an event to suit you. We always try to keep some tables in the bar free for ‘walk in’ trade, and we do not take reservations for tables outside.
Picture of The Black a Moor Inn, Ripon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 26 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My stay at The Lion Hotel
Very good, if a little expensive for a small hotel in Mid-Wales.
Food was very good and well served. I would have liked a little more choice e.g. better size steaks.

Reviewed by
B Irvine

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great service at a great price.
On our arrival we were made to feel very welcome. The room though not spacious was well appointed and had all the usual facilities.
Very reasonably priced too.

Reviewed by
S Fletcher

From Kidlington, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous hotel, would stay again
On our arrival, our host looked a little busy as they had wedding parties to deal with, BUT, as we walked through door, she greeted us with a smile and showed us directly to our room. Fantastic room at the back of the hotel (less noise from main road). Fantastic breakfast, it would have lasted us a couple of days, there was so much choice!!

Reviewed by
k roebuck

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcoming and friendly atmosphere, 'hands on' owners, spotlessly clean, a lovely place to stay.

Reviewed by
Alison Grant

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for 3 nights stay with varied and high quality menu for the price.
Service very friendly and helpful but became rather overwhelmed during a busy evening meal period. I would have no hesitation in going back for the overall value for money and easy access location.

Reviewed by
Barnard Toulson

From Stamford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best B&B we've stayed in.
We chose Black A Moor Inn based on previous reviews. We were not disappointed. The whole place was immaculate. Good quality bedding and furnishings in the rooms, our room was decorated lovely. The food was excellent we had an evening meal in the restaurant, lots of choice of delicious freshly cooked food. The breakfast was equally as good, with plenty of choice and good quality ingredients. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. We would not hesitate to recommend this place. We look forward to our next visit, thank you for such an enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
Denise D

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a real gem
Excellent place to both eat and stay we stayed 3 nights and had an excellent stay we were going to eat in different places in the evening but food was so good that we ate here every night. Amanda and Andrew are very good hosts and make an excellent team with their son Jake . Andrew does the cooking everything freshly made and piping hot. Rooms are very comfortable and clean . we had a great stay .

Reviewed by
paul simmons

From wallingford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quite simply superb!!
A beautiful clean inn with well presented rooms and attention to detail. Lovely fresh clean bedding and towels. Immaculately kept rooms & a high standard of care taken on every level. Hard working and family run inn that ensure a most pleasurable and enjoyable relaxing stay.Good value for money food with an early bird menu and a very pleasant atmosphere with delightful staff.would highly recommend. Excellent mid week break offer.

Reviewed by
L Gilbert

From South Shields, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay again
Friendly staff and a spotlessly clean room make it a place that you would want to stay in again if you required accommodation in or around this area...
Breakfast was excellent.
Evening drink at the bar again excellent..

Reviewed by
Roy Cooke

From Oldbury, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thoroughly Enjoyable Experience
My wife and I thoroughy enjoyed our stay at The Black A Moor Inn, Ripon.
Everything was just perfect.
We certainly intend to stay there again.

Reviewed by
I White

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next