No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Waterford Arms

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Collywell Bay Road, , , Whitley Bay, NE26 4QZ
The Waterford Arms is situated in the sleepy village of Seaton Sluice, overlooking the picturesque Fishing Boat-filled estuary, and one of the famous Northumberland sandy white beaches. We offer you a warm, Northumbrian welcome & hospitality for a drink in the bar, beer garden overlooking the sea, a meal in our restaurant or an overnight stay in one of our en-suite guest rooms. Built in 1899, The Waterford Arms has been recently renovated to combine the charm of the late Victorian era with the comfort and relaxed style of today. Its beachfront location, quality food and friendly service all combine to make a visit to the Waterford Arms one to remember. Home of the famous 'Waterford Whale', we have been renowned for over 25 years for our quality local seafood. That, as well as our brand new a la carte menu and carvery mean you will be spoilt for choice if you choose to dine with us for a cosy evening meal or hearty lunch. Full English breakfast is included in all of our rooms to set you up perfectly for a day exploring the beautiful Northumbrian coastline. The northumberland coastal route makes The Waterford arms a perfect base for keen walkers and cyclists with lock-up facilities available for bicycles.
Picture of The Waterford Arms, Whitley Bay at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic getaway pub
Really can't understand the negative reviews about the Waterford. It was clean, comfortable and for the money was great value. The staff were friendly and helpful, the beer was good and the breakfast was nice, not too much. Best of all we had a sea view .The other pub across the green (the Kings Arms) was good too,

Reviewed by
Charles H

From Halifax, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic...
The staff couldn't do enough to make us welcome, nothing was too much trouble. The food was freshly cooked and tasted lovely. Will definitely stay there again

Reviewed by
carol ingamells

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location
Interesting place to stay. Great fish & chips. We had two rooms - the one at the front had a beautiful sea view.

Reviewed by
Stephanie L

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly place with very good breakfast
We stayed here to go to a family celebration. The location is excellent

Reviewed by
Karen C

From Wilmslow, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sticky Carpets!!
The hotel suffers from very dirty floors throughout the building as somewhere in the depths of the inner sanctum there must be a source of stickiness which has been trailed into the hallway towards the bar and restaurant area and, especially, up the stairs. The stair carpet is absolutely filthy.
This and the stickiness which was on every surface in the bar put us off eating here and we ate in the pub opposite, the Kings Arms which I can wholly recommend. To be fair breakfast was lovely, but the tables still had that tacky feel to them.
A THOROUGH DEEP CLEAN AND ELIMINATE THE STICKINESS AT SOURCE IS RECOMMENDED.

Reviewed by
Andrew G

From Stalybridge, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very poor accommodation
Room austere; inadequate warm bedding so slept in our clothes; very noisy as there was a party in the restaurant just below our room. Would not recommend & would not stay there again.

Reviewed by
Sandra d

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Made Welcome very accomadating
Comfort,good food clean valuegood service

Reviewed by
M Webb

From Boston, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good place to stay
Very comfey bed and nice room ( no5 ) fanfastic view of sea . Good tea making facilities with biscuits , clean and tidy with towelling robes and slippers . Shower was a little weak but nice toiletries provided . Breakfast was very good but no beans or black pudding and only a bit of toast , should be asked what we wanted for breakfast not just " do you want a cooked breakfast " and no choice of eggs . Overall pretty good .

Reviewed by
Gary P

From Lancaster, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

geordies on tour
The standard of decor in the rooms was better than we expected although we would have preferred a larger wall mounted television due to its location high on a wall above a cupboard. We stayed on a Saturday night which is probably not the best night to stay if you want an early night after a long drive. The music in the bar downstairs went on till well after 11.00 and the car park outside our bedroom window appeared to be an overspill from the bar area. With the window open, the voices could be clearly heard and also the language used. My main concern however was the presence of flies in the bar an dining room. They annoyed both of us and I observed them annoying other residents also.On leaving the premises I observed that the fly screen on the outside kitchen door was tied back with the door left open. To make this a more pleasant stay I would recommend that the hotel ensure that the locals stay out of the car park when there are residents on the premises, and pay more attention to food safety as far as regards preventing flies entering the premises.

Reviewed by
T Marshall

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Waterford Arms D Holdsworth
Very good value for money - despite that the room was very comfortable, with a lovely view across the bay from Seaton Sluice.
The staff couldn't have been more helpful.

Reviewed by
D Holdsworth

From Okehampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next