No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The White Horse Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Pulverbatch, Shrewsbury, SY5 8DS
A 15th century, grade II listed country inn in the beautiful Shropshire countryside. Situated within the Shropshire Hills – Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, just south of Shrewsbury and near to the Long Mynd and The Stiperstones. All rooms have been recently refurbished with newly installed en-suites and this is an excellent base for walking and cycling, providing a welcome return at the end of a long day's excursions! Open for meals and drinks Tuesday-Sunday, lunch and evening. Dogs are welcomed for an £8 surcharge.
Picture of The White Horse Inn, Shrewsbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 36 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very warm welcome. The rooms were extremely comfortable. Had a delicious evening meal. Huge English breakfast the following morning which was very nice. Even our dogs had a good night's sleep!

Reviewed by
S Fisher

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Breakfast
Just about edible but very average scrambled eggs.
Check out James Martin for the best way to cook um.

Reviewed by
N Waring

From Ludlow, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm, cosy, comfy room. Friendly helpful service. Nothing too much trouble. A really enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
Beryl Hunter

From Wendover, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great atmosphere
Off the beaten track
Just as we wanted
Cosy and very friendly
Good meals
Small cosy rooms

Reviewed by
C Lester

From Craigieburn, Australia
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Peace and quiet...
The owners were very welcoming and the pub was quite delightful. The room was clean and had everything we needed, although vey cosy! We ate there in the evening and the choice was good and the food was excellent - as was the breakfast.

Reviewed by
Robert S

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Country Pub
This is a beautiful place to stay, in the heart of Shropshire, within easy reach of Shrewsbury. The room was cosy but comfortable and nicely furnished and decorated. The en-suite was innovative, and probably the only downside is the noisy waste/flush system. The breakfast was as good as it gets!

Reviewed by
Ruth T

From Thame, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly, comfy, good food
Friendly reception. Room comfortable - bathroom rather small. Proper shower. Excellent food - dinner and breakfast. Quite a way from centre of Shrewsbury though.

Reviewed by
David Stephens

From Marlow, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short stay B&B
We were given a warm welcome and all the staff were very helpful getting our room ready and allowing us to book in early . Whilst the room was small it was very clean and had all the facilities necessary to be comfortable . We dined as part of a group of 50 plus people and the food was excellent with the staff all working very hard to achieve the desired result .
The only let down was the cooked breakfast which was over cooked and not very hot . Overall we were very satisfied with our stay

Reviewed by
David J

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Charming 'Olde Worlde' Inn/B&B with the authentic warm welcome to guests
Such a great 'find' - a great place for a short stay in the picturesque countryside of Shropshire. The atmospheric old pub has been sympathetically brought up to date without losing any of it's historic charm. The double room was small, but nice and homely, and with en-suite bathroom. For us the main selling point, after the lovely setting, was the authentic warm welcome, from all the staff, and the great home cooked food.

Reviewed by
D McGuire

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great nephews christening weekend
The White horse has a huge car park at the rear, plenty of parking space.
The owners were very nice and welcoming. We were shown to our room which was very light and airy.
We had everything we needed in the room. A very smart ensuite bathroom with complimentary soap etc. We did not eat an evening meal at the pub as we were meeting relatives. After a good nights sleep in a very comfortable bed we had breakfast. Breakfast was very acceptable with plenty to eat and drink. All in all a lovely stay in a very quaint, old English Pub. Set in beautiful countyside with outdoor seating. I would recommend the White Horse pub to everyone.

Reviewed by
Sandra Nevison

From Houghton le Spring, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next