No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Ambrose hotel

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Duke Street, Barrow in Furness, LA141XT
We provide triple AA accommodation in the town centre of Barrow-in-Furness, just half an hour from the Lake District.

All of our 14 bedrooms are modern, warm and include breakfast and are at affordable rates.

The ground floor provides both a bar and restaurant in a relaxing environment for both residents and members of the public. Our kitchen serves pub food to residents that rival anywhere in the town.

We are so happy you found us. We provide a warm welcome, friends to many, but most of all we pride ourselves on an unforgettable service.
Picture of The Ambrose hotel, Barrow in Furness at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 13 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
76% recommended this accommodation to a friend 76% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place to stay
Nice functional place. Clean rooms, friendly staff. On street parking available. Hotel is a short walk from railway station and retail park and is situated in a quiet area.
I would stay there again.

Reviewed by
George Fordyce

From Tayport, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Room size..and food !
Staff were very friendly,
We been 3 persons we been four nights in a family room , we found 4 beds inside, room was very large and bathroom with a nice powerful shower very good after a long day.
Breakfast was testy and lovely.
Nothing to complain.

Reviewed by
florentin r

From New Malden, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

difficult to recommend
Booked 3 rooms - 2 of the TV's didn't work properly.
Rooms are tired and dated.
Evening meals were cheap but the quality was poor.
Parts of the breakfast were inedible.
On the plus side, staff were pleasant and helpful.
We won't be going back.

Reviewed by
S Brockwell

From Swanscombe, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for couple nights stay
Rooms clean, few areas need updating, stained carpets, but have to give 100% for for food, excellent value for money, lots of it, purely great. Love it

Reviewed by
M Marsh

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review
Good

Reviewed by
Adam Barnes

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ewen family from Dundee
Very friendly and a nice hotel

Reviewed by
g ewen

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little tired but very friendly
The room was clean and well presented. Above a pub but I was not disturbed by noise during my stay.
The room was a little tired and could do with some tlc but nothing major just details.
The staff are very friendly and food served was of good quality
As a budget hotel I would stay there again

Reviewed by
ian h

From Coalville, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Room was immaculate and comfortable. I would recommend the Ambrose to anyone. I would certainly visit again in the future.

Reviewed by
Thomas C

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay to visit South Lakes Animal Park. No complaints, family room looked recently refurbished & very clean. Staff were friendly & the breakfast was excellent. Bar was quiet in the evening, but it was midweek. 5 minute walk to cinema.

Reviewed by
I BONNELL

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Good Night Stop
We found the hotel easily and the room was ready and very clean, breakfast was cooked to order and was fantastic. Staff were freindly and helpful. A good night.

Reviewed by
Adrian s

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next