No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - 178 London Road Bed and Breakfast

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
178, London Road , St Albans, AL11PL
A Grade Two listed Georgian family home situated in the Conservation Area of historic St Albans City.

The comfortable bedrooms all have flat screen digital /dvd television. We also have free Wi-Fi, and secure internet connection.

The Bed and Breakfast is ideally situated for exploring the City of St Albans, with its Roman heritage, outstanding cathedral, busy street markets(Wed & Sat ) plus a wide variety of shops, restaurants and pubs. There is also a fast and frequent rail service into St Pancras, London which takes approximately 16 minutes on the fast train
Picture of 178 London Road Bed and Breakfast, St Albans at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 36 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Home-from-Home in St Albans
Friendly and welcoming reception on arrival. The accommodation was just like a home-from-home rather than commercial experience with an extremely comfortable and inviting atmosphere. The selection available for breakfast was extensive and of excellent quality. We would be delighted to stay there again on a future visit.

Reviewed by
Joseph Rochford

From Skerries, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room
Beautiful property, secure parking in convinient location. Hosts were attentive and the decor of house was charming. Breakfast was generous and I appreciated the papers to read.

Reviewed by
D Mcshane

From Cheadle, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

178 London Road Bed and Breakfast
Superb and convenient stay in St. Albans.

Reviewed by
melody engela

From King's Lynn, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best nights sleep
From the moment I arrived, to the moment I left, the owners couldn't have been any more friendly and welcoming, it was almost home from home.
The room was excellent and you wanted for nothing.
As for the bed, I think it was probably the best nights sleep I have ever had.
Would not hesitate to go back again

Reviewed by
gary c

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great b and b
This was a great bed and breakfast for us as we was working local. Surounded by pubs which all have a freindly atmosphere and good food we will definately stop here again when we are working near london

Reviewed by
Robert Hollingsworth

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worst B&B ever stayed!
Rude, ignorant woman greets you at the door.
You get driven a mile down the road by a grumpy man with an attitude to a small cottage shared with mentally handicapped people.
Breakfast is a help-your-self bowl of cereal and a banana.
shared bathroom - dirty!. room - dirty!. even bedsheets dirty!
My advice is don't stay here even if they pay you.

Reviewed by
N Jones

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This review applies to the Annex building not to 178 London Rd - poor fire safety. Room clean and comfortable with large shared bathroom directly opposite my room.
Kitchen with only cereals and white bread available.
No smoke alarm in either the room or the corridor from front door to bedrooms.
Surely for a few pounds these could be installed?
No emergency lights anywhere if power failed.

ManagementResponse

The above customer states there is no smoke / fire alarm on the premises.If he had look up to the ceiling. In the lobby outside his bedroom he would have seen the alarm attached to the ceiling. Also I would add that there is more than cereals/white bread available, we include fresh fruit,milk,tea,instant coffee, and Ground coffee,In the fridge are a selection of jams,and butter. All as stated on out details.

Reviewed by
michael f

From Burford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just what I needed
I stayed here for a night out in St. Albans it's located very close to the city. I was able to come and go as I needed to.

Reviewed by
A Dickinson

From Arlesey, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just what I needed
I stayed here for a night out in St. Albans it's located very close to the city. I was able to come and go as I needed to.

Reviewed by
A Dickinson

From Arlesey, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

St Albans
Room very well furnished and well heated. Excellent breakfast to start the day.

Reviewed by
GRAHAM N

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next