No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - 178 London Road Bed and Breakfast

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
178, London Road , St Albans, AL11PL
A Grade Two listed Georgian family home situated in the Conservation Area of historic St Albans City.

The comfortable bedrooms all have flat screen digital /dvd television. We also have free Wi-Fi, and secure internet connection.

The Bed and Breakfast is ideally situated for exploring the City of St Albans, with its Roman heritage, outstanding cathedral, busy street markets(Wed & Sat ) plus a wide variety of shops, restaurants and pubs. There is also a fast and frequent rail service into St Pancras, London which takes approximately 16 minutes on the fast train
Picture of 178 London Road Bed and Breakfast, St Albans at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 30 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This review applies to the Annex building not to 178 London Rd - poor fire safety. Room clean and comfortable with large shared bathroom directly opposite my room.
Kitchen with only cereals and white bread available.
No smoke alarm in either the room or the corridor from front door to bedrooms.
Surely for a few pounds these could be installed?
No emergency lights anywhere if power failed.

ManagementResponse

The above customer states there is no smoke / fire alarm on the premises.If he had look up to the ceiling. In the lobby outside his bedroom he would have seen the alarm attached to the ceiling. Also I would add that there is more than cereals/white bread available, we include fresh fruit,milk,tea,instant coffee, and Ground coffee,In the fridge are a selection of jams,and butter. All as stated on out details.

Reviewed by
michael f

From Burford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just what I needed
I stayed here for a night out in St. Albans it's located very close to the city. I was able to come and go as I needed to.

Reviewed by
A Dickinson

From Arlesey, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just what I needed
I stayed here for a night out in St. Albans it's located very close to the city. I was able to come and go as I needed to.

Reviewed by
A Dickinson

From Arlesey, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

St Albans
Room very well furnished and well heated. Excellent breakfast to start the day.

Reviewed by
GRAHAM N

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent value for money
we were greeted with a warm welcome and shown to a double bedroom with a tasteful interior. Everything was provided for a comfortable stay. Clean bathrobes, soft towels, coffe and tea facilities, television, dvds, books etc., lots of extras for a B & B. The shared bathroom created a slight problem in the morning, but we weren't in a rush. All the facilities are of a superior standard. The breakfast in the morning was delicious and ample. We would certainly stay here again.

Reviewed by
john lord

From Caterham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thank you for a lovely stay
Our first visit to St Albans and Carol and Barry made us very welcome. The rooms were lovely and the house itself is stunning with period features. I would have no hesitation in recommending this delightful B&B to anyone.
Thank you Carol and Barry for a lovely relaxing stay.
Rachael

Reviewed by
RACHAEL WALKER

From Belper, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short stay
I stayed here with my son for the Sonisphere Festival at Knebworth. I booked Bed & Breakfast. We needed flexibilty in terms of booking in so they accomodated us arriving early. We were directed to what they called an "Annexe". This in effect was a small two bedroom house nearby. We were met there by the owner, were able to dump our stuff and depart for the festival with keys and key codes in hand. We returned warly hourso fo teh morning and let ourselves in. In the morning, the Breakfast was self catering within the kitchen of the "annexe". Limited to cereal, bread etc. No bacon and eggs available. However, our flexibilty nbeeds were met, so it would be churlish to be over critical. BTW, the festival was awesome. Metallica outsanding!

Reviewed by
David C

From Sutton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent. The welcome was first class as was the whole of my stay. Thank you for making me feel so welcome.

Reviewed by
Helen S

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay at 178 London Rd
I felt comfortable and the owners were always happy to help. I think there should just a bit more on how to find it ie go down black cut rd off the London rd (it is one way so if you go past it you have to do a little circuit but no problem. Would just say that the bathroom is shared though when I stayed no-one else was booked in so it was easy for me to use the bathroom

Reviewed by
J Leney

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good stay
Excellent for a nice weekend and we will do it again!,
Any one thinking of going to St. Albans lovely place to stay,

Reviewed by
Ray S

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next