No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Three Horseshoes Hotel

4AA ประเมิน โรงแรม Ratings explained
Three Horseshoes, 5-7 Galgate, , Barnard Castle, DL12 8EQ
In the centre of the historic market town of Barnard Castle, set in the heart of beautiful Teesdale, the Three Horseshoes Hotel originally built in the 17th century is a perfect base for visiting this stunning area steeped in history and natural beauty. The hotel is also a stone's throw away from the majestic River Tees, the Historic Castle and a ten-minute walk from the Bowes Museum. We have excellent facilities for walkers and cyclists who will be delighted with the choice of paths and routes immediately accessible in this picturesque area. There is free car parking in our own car park. Barnard Castle is the gateway to the magnificent Teesdale valley and the North Pennines Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, offering some of the most beautiful and rugged scenery. We are only a short drive away from: Raby Castle, High Force England’s largest waterfall and also Low Force. The hotel has had £750,000 spent on a total refurbishment over a 2 year period completing April 2013. All rooms have the necessary modern comforts and the highest level of luxury. Our en-suites have top of the range fixtures and fittings. Standard features in your room include large comfortable beds, TV, free fiber-optic high speed wi-fi, hairdryers. Breakfast is served in a newly refurbished restaurant where you can also enjoy good quality food made from fresh ingredients. Our bar will always offer a warm welcome, good food and a friendly atmosphere.
Picture of The Three Horseshoes Hotel, Barnard Castle at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 21 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant
Lovely time here, really clean and very comfortable, excellent staff and great food.

Reviewed by
Kate B

From York, England
Who stayed in December 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Central to town, everything within walking distance
Very pleasant stay in recently refurbished hotel. Room comfortable with usual resources, and pleasant decoration. Breakfast very good in lovely conservatory / restaurant. Already in the centre of town it was easy to walk to Bowes museum and to explore the area on foot. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

Reviewed by
veronica i

From North Shields, England
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a great find
Stayed here for one night. We received a warm welcome. Had a lovely meal then slept really well in a very comfy king sized bed. Breakfast tasty with quality ingredients. Only downside for us was that room was fairly small although ok for one night. Would definitely recommend it to anyone and wouldn't hesitate to return.

Reviewed by
Sarah H

From Chester le Street, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good alround
grt little hotel. good ;ocation. clean rooms, lovely staff and my husband said good breakfat. we did not eat in hotel but had heard grt reveiws. would recommend

Reviewed by
amie o

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Management, staff and accommodation all top class, hotel very tastefully refurbished, excellent location for local sites of interest.

Reviewed by
David F

From Largs, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel, will recommend to family & friends

Reviewed by
Stephen Daubney

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel bedrooms have been very well refurbished. Excellent modern bathroom (shower) - but no hairdryer, tissues, or bathcap? Also, in the current heatwave, a heavy duvet was too much, and the window only opened 4 inches. The hotel says it has parking for guests, but when I arrived at 4pm the car park (which only holds about 8 cars) was full. DVD s to borrow from Reception is a nice touch, but there was no written information provided in the room as to the operation of the TV/DVD.

Reviewed by
D Floy

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent central location, newly refurbished friendly and helpful staff and good food

Reviewed by
i banton

From Matlock, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

brilliant stay
very modern,everything new,just opened june 2013.

Reviewed by
Geoffrey S

From York, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gallop on down to the Three Horse Shoes Barnard Castle
Excellent welcome, unfortunately no meals available after 5pm on Sunday nights which was the night that we arrived. Room fantastic, we had booked super king size room with two bay windows overlooking the main street. Good selection of drinks. Breakfast was very good. No complaints at all about this hotel. First rate.

Reviewed by
D Gregory

From Blyth, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 Next