You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Bull Hotel


Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (12)

75% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Paul L

  • October 2016

The only problem with Stony Stratford is the church clocks ringing all night

  • David L

  • September 2016

Lovely inn in a beautiful market town

Really nice hotel in the centre of beautiful Stony Stratford and only 10 mins from the M1.

Friendly staff particularly Paul the manager who was very helpful.

Nicely decorated room (The Hayloft). It was a warm night and although I couldn't manage to open a window, a large fan had been provided and this did a decent job of keeping the room a bit cooler. Water pressure was up and down a bit but The Hayloft room is the furthest room out so put it down to that. It was a nuisance but didn't spoil our stay. A few real ales to choose from in the hotel bar and the adjacent vaults bar along with lagers and ciders. We didn't eat there at night as the restaurant closed and 6 on Sunday's and we wanted to eat later, although the menu looked good. The breakfast was superb and cooked fresh to order. All in all a very enjoyable overnight stay and excellent value for money.

  • Simon Black

  • August 2016

Way too noisey

Great place, great staff but was kept awake until after 1am by the noise coming from a function downstairs.

There were ear plugs in the bedside cabinet so this was clearly not a rare occurrence.

  • Julie Birkett

  • July 2016

The Bull Hotel

Room was very small but clean.

Staff were friendly and helpful food was excellent.

  • Nicholas Meredith

  • June 2016

Pleasant pub in country town

Although Stony Stratford has a Miltin Keynes address it is as different from Milton Keynes as you could imagine, Plenty of pubs and local restaurants stretch along a rural-feeling high street, quieter than usual at the moment due to a road closure half way along.

A few yards apart are the Cock and the Bull - and it was the Bull I stayed at. It's an old coaching inn, with one bar - the real ale 'Vaults bar on one side of the arched entranceway, and the rest of the hotel on the other. I was in the 'Hayloft' room - formerly room seven, on the first floor, above what was originally the stables. It was a slightly oddly laid out room, but well decorated and comfortable, with an excellent shower. Not the room though for anyone who has problems with stairs. Overall the room was clean - the marking down for Cleanliness was only because evidence of the previous occupant had been left in the bedside drawer. There was no dinner available on the Bank Holiday Monday evening when I arrived - food was unsurprisingly served to Sunday hours finishing at pm, but breakfast the following morning was good. As stated there were plenty of alternative places to eat dinner, and the beer in The Vaults was interesting and good. Overall, a pleasnt pub, and excellent value.

  • A Close

  • December 2015

Nice decor, no food

Bank holiday value but should have been informed in advance of no evening meals available, and no cooked breakfast.

  • Vivienne W

  • November 2015

Full of character

What a beautiful old hotel.

Lovely features, beautifully updated. Very conveniently located in the centre of town, but with onsite parking. Everything was perfect. We have a wonderful stay.

  • s ford

  • August 2015

could be amazing

our room could have been amazing if there had been more attention to detail.The small sitting room within our bedroom was so crammed with furniture it was a waste of space, removal of the two chairs would be perfect, after all we didnt need seating for 4 people in a double room.The place was quaint and quirky but could do with a good clean.

The only pub i have ever stayed in where we were asked to drink up before 10pm. The breakfast was however superb, as were all the staff we met.

  • david f

  • May 2015

The Bull Hotel

Very clean friendly hotel.

Staff are very helpful. Close to many local attractions.

  • Richard B

  • May 2015

Quality hotel at a great price!

My only constructive criticism would be that (having asked for a quiet room) I was given 'Church View' which, as the name suggests, is directly across the road from the church.

With bells that strike every quarter and on the hour, which wouldn't have been so bad if the windows were double or even triple glazed. But other than that, this a great hotel that we will definitely use again!