No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Commodore Inn

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
Main Street , Grange Over Sands, LA11 6DY
The Commodore is probably the oldest hostelry in Grange over Sands, having been built during the 1820’s. It has been frequented over the years by many a weary traveller seeking Rest, Good Food, a Tipple and Entertainment.... almost 200 years on and nothing has changed.

The "Comm" is a small, family run pub/hotel in the centre of Grange over Sands. We have 3 en suite double rooms, one of which has an adjoining twin bedded room and is ideally used as a family suite. All rooms have fantastic views of Morecambe Bay and the Kent Estuary.

Our bar offers a good range of Cask Ales and an excellent wine selection. Bar meals are available daily in our public bar; our restaurant is open Thursday to Sunday.

Other facilities include free Wi Fi throughout the building, SKY SPORTS on our two large screen TVs and regular live music.

We are happy to let well behaved dogs stay in our rooms with their owners. Dogs are also welcome in our public bar.
Picture of The Commodore Inn, Grange Over Sands at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 16 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Homely inn / Great location
Situated right in the heart of Grange over sands, location is superb. The room was clean and spacious, If a little basic.
The breakfast was very good and served in a room with very nice views of Morecambe Bay.
The hotel is situated alongside the railway so expect some noise from the trains that frequently pass.

Reviewed by
B Lancaster

From Salford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quiet area good service good sized room excellent views
Used as a stopover but extremely surprised at the service and quality of the commodore.

Reviewed by
Irene Smith

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Stay
The thing that sets the Commodore above some places we have stayed is the people that run it,From mine hosts Chris and Sue to there staff namely John and Martin,they really made you feel welcome and couldnt do enough for you,we will definetely be staying there again.Thanks again for a great stay.
Cheers Paul.Jules and of course Darcy

Reviewed by
Paul Armitage

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great views
Decided to go here due to the reviews, love it very friendly and good choice of drinks.
Some reviews have said it needs modernising, to be honest it probably could do with a lick of paint. Room was very comfortable with separate bathroom and shower, very clean and an amazing view of the coast?
Breakfast was wonderful also, really enjoyed our stay and I thought a good price

Reviewed by
Paul Wellman

From Southport, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one niught b&b
Basic room but clean and comfortable. Breakfast superb. Unfortunately no food served on Tuesday evenings.

Reviewed by
Derek F

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

suprisingly good
Do not be put off by the tired and in need of repair exterior. Once inside this place is great, 5 hand pulled beers for starters and a lively yet hospitable pub with separate areas for big screen sports so if you dont want to see,you don't have to. Our room was large with stunning views across the bay,and the crowning glory is the FULL English breakfast,it almost beat me,wonderful.

Reviewed by
ian c

From harrogate, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Walking Weekend
An excellent accommodation with a friendly staff, a proper pub with cask ales and good food. A perfect location with views of sea and the hills. A huge breakfast!!

Reviewed by
michael s

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Was very noisy,band was playing and noise from Customers carried on until 2am.
Had it been quieter would have enjoyed our stay a lot better, had to have breakfast with a Jacket on as there was no heating on.

Reviewed by
Ellen K

From Scotland
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location but disappointing
The Commodore Inn has a great location overlooking Morecambe bay. The Inn is looking a bit tired in places. We had a good size room but it wasn't the cleanest place we have stopped in. The first night we had no heating or hot water, but it was quickly rectified the following morning. Credit must go to all the staff who were very friendly. Also credit for the breakfasts which were first class.
If you don't mind stopping in not the most comfortable surroundings this is a good base to explore the lakes.

Reviewed by
Russell P

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Location for a great price
Booked this hotel as it was close to Cartmel Races and was a in a great location, right on the prom overlooking the sea, On arrival was met by a friendly chap behind the bar who showed us to the room and moved staff vehicles around so we could park for free as opposed to pay 24 hrs in the pay and display. Room was clean and tidy and good value for the price paid particularly over a bank holiday. The only down side was that no food is served in the evening as the food gets good ratings on trip advisor! There were local restaurants within a few minutes walk open on a Sunday evening but they were only available if you had booked which we hadn't. A five minute walk up the road though is a fantastic Chinese linked to a pub called the Keg and Kitchen. Great pub and good atmosphere. The kitchen had been open for only 2 days so they were doing a taster menu only but the food looked good. We would definitely book this again as only 4 miles from Cartmel and alot cheaper. Hotel is also a 5 minute walk from the train station if you aren't driving. Hotel only has 4 rooms at the moment but a further 2 are planned shortly. The breakfast is included - cooked by a very friendly lady. Breakfast is a large portion but they do other smaller options. All in all, highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Gillian Jeffery

From Wilmslow, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next