No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Commodore Inn

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
Main Street , Grange Over Sands, LA11 6DY
The Commodore is probably the oldest hostelry in Grange over Sands, having been built during the 1820’s. It has been frequented over the years by many a weary traveller seeking Rest, Good Food, a Tipple and Entertainment.... almost 200 years on and nothing has changed.

The "Comm" is a small, family run pub/hotel in the centre of Grange over Sands. We have 3 en suite double rooms, one of which has an adjoining twin bedded room and is ideally used as a family suite. All rooms have fantastic views of Morecambe Bay and the Kent Estuary.

Our bar offers a good range of Cask Ales and an excellent wine selection. Bar meals are available daily in our public bar; our restaurant is open Thursday to Sunday.

Other facilities include free Wi Fi throughout the building, SKY SPORTS on our two large screen TVs and regular live music.

We are happy to let well behaved dogs stay in our rooms with their owners. Dogs are also welcome in our public bar.
Picture of The Commodore Inn, Grange Over Sands at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 21 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
76% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

had a vert pleasant stay staff were very helpful

Reviewed by
carol b

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Visit to Grange for grandson's wedding
For the short time we were there the accommodation was more than adequate and our room had a great view over Morecambe Bay.Our breakfast on the morning of our departure was excellent.

Reviewed by
Frank Brindle

From Hindley,Wigan, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very hospitable owners, very obliging they are up grading the accommodation. Our overnight stay was comfortable . Breakfast was excellent.

Reviewed by
OM M

From Kilmacolm, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent - friendly and homely - kids love it
friendly hosts, fantastic food. outstanding customer care. 6 year old loved it as he was allowed in the games room so we could have family fun. lovely locals - amazing view from all rooms. home made food TOP. will absolutely be visiting and staying here again.

Reviewed by
diane e

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stayed for 4 nights - bed was really comfortable, breakfast was lovely and plenty of it. Staff were really accommodating and very friendly.

Reviewed by
E Gardiner

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Homely inn / Great location
Situated right in the heart of Grange over sands, location is superb. The room was clean and spacious, If a little basic.
The breakfast was very good and served in a room with very nice views of Morecambe Bay.
The hotel is situated alongside the railway so expect some noise from the trains that frequently pass.

Reviewed by
B Lancaster

From Salford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quiet area good service good sized room excellent views
Used as a stopover but extremely surprised at the service and quality of the commodore.

Reviewed by
Irene Smith

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Stay
The thing that sets the Commodore above some places we have stayed is the people that run it,From mine hosts Chris and Sue to there staff namely John and Martin,they really made you feel welcome and couldnt do enough for you,we will definetely be staying there again.Thanks again for a great stay.
Cheers Paul.Jules and of course Darcy

Reviewed by
Paul Armitage

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great views
Decided to go here due to the reviews, love it very friendly and good choice of drinks.
Some reviews have said it needs modernising, to be honest it probably could do with a lick of paint. Room was very comfortable with separate bathroom and shower, very clean and an amazing view of the coast?
Breakfast was wonderful also, really enjoyed our stay and I thought a good price

Reviewed by
Paul Wellman

From Southport, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one niught b&b
Basic room but clean and comfortable. Breakfast superb. Unfortunately no food served on Tuesday evenings.

Reviewed by
Derek F

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next